• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Beginner PC builder needing advice on motherboard

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IceKnight366

Registered
It finally happened, my GTX 580 MSI crapped out on me after 5 years. Bought a new GTX 970 EVGA SSC and installed it only to find out that it's incompatible with my crappy HP motherboard! Therefore, EVGA tells me if I want to run a GPU of anything greater than the 700 series I'm going to need a new motherboard. But if I'm getting a new motherboard I feel I mine as well just build the whole thing (already got the GPU and a new 2T HD because my HD crapped out recently too).

The question is, what motherboard do I get?! I've never built a custom PC before and so far all I've done is change memory, GPU's, PSU's and a new fan. So it's a little daunting getting into the whole custom world, but it's about time. I'm pretty sure I've decided on the i7 6700K so I know I'll need a motherboard that's compatible with that CPU (although I don't know much about other incompatibilities of other things...). But I'm looking for a few other things.

-Versatility: something which can run multiple types of GPU's, CPU's and anything else that's dependent on specific motherboards just in case I need to swap things out in the future.
-Future use: something which isn't going to be totally useless in 3-5 years like my motherboard ended up being. For example, it seems like the technology is heading towards DDR4 memory, so DDR3 motherboards don't have much future use it would appear.