• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG "On the wall but it ain't no flower" -- First time attempt at custom case design

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

magpol

"On the wall but it ain't no flower" -- First time attempt at custom case design

Hey guys, I'm new to the forums as well as modding in general but I'm hoping to get some input regarding a custom case that I am looking to build (a big jump considering I have little experience but i figured I'd take the leap and go for the deep end, though I am thoroughly thinking it through)... Anyway, I have access to various resources that I will be using in building the case (tools, CNC, etc.) and parts such as the SSD/HDD tray, Motherboard tray, PCi mounting grill thing, and front I/O will be bought pre-made to ensure that it is mountable, but I want to iron out the component layout first before I go into material purchasing and all that stuff. Hence, I'd appreciate any advice or recommendations on the designs (layouts) I will be posting below regarding the air flow, component arrangement, or just about anything else really.

Designed to fit at least the following components:
- Intel core i5-6500 3.2GHz
- Noctua NH-L9i CPU cooler
- MSI Z170 Krait Gaming ATX
- Kingston Savage (2x8GB) DDR4-2400
- A-Data Premier Pro SP600 256GB 2.5" SSD
- WD Black 500GB 2.5" HDD x2
- Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP! Edition
- Thermaltake 750W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX
- Noctua NF-S12A PWM 120mm x4

Note:
- PSU is pink/purple
- Motherboard is green
- Video card is purple
- 2.5" SSD/HDD x4 + 3.5" HDD x2 cage is yellow
- Fans:
- 80x80, 120x120, 200x200
- Intake is blue
- Exhaust is red

Common to all layout designs:
- Video card will be parallel to motherboard (connected using riser cable) fan facing front