• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fan Controller - worth it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Instinct1

Registered
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to this so would appreciate your thoughts -

Working out the components for my first build and want to know whether an external fan controller is worth looking at. Something like this:

http://www.scorptec.com.au/product/...-z_MQuWio1CHq-eIDCJ3PEduRLFsNqLqrIhoChvrw_wcB

Computer will be used for gaming and music production and thought it would be useful to able to control fan speed (especially during recording),

Question is - do they work well, and is there any real point to putting one in?

Cheers guys

Welcome to OCF Instinct1! :welcome:

Simply put, depends on what you get, if you decide that it will solve some air flow/heat exhaust issues. I've had a couple and learned the hard way to make sure you get one that will efficiently support the wattage of the fans you intend to control. Also, no need to get one with temp probes; that info is available to you freely. But all that said, they will allow you to exhaust heat better with additional fans, if you need them or your MB won't support enough.

Fill out a sig listing your components so that we can all better understand what advice to give. Enjoy OCF!

Modern motherboards have that functionality built in. What you may need is a wiring harness or splitter board to connect all the fans to the PSU while controlling them from the motherboard.