• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I5 3570k overclock question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zero83

Registered
Hi, I'm new to overclocking and tried my first oc. My specs

Intel I5 3570k 3.4ghz
Msi z77a gd65 gaming mono
12 gig corsair vengeance 1600 ram
Corsair H80i all in one water cooling
Corsair 850watt psu

So In Bios I upped the processor to 4.2.
I left every other option in bios alone except for the cpu voltage which I manually set to 1.0 (from what I read this is acceptable but I'm nervous)

So now I'm in windows. I have Prime95 running at priority 10 blend test. We are now on hour 11. RealtempGT say over these 11 hours my my max temps are 64 degrees on a given core and 58/59 on others.
I'm going to continue to let p95 run today.

My questions are this.

1. So far is thus a stable oc since 11 hours in I have no errors?

2. I've read that even if I pass p95 for 24 hours I can still crash in games? Is this true?

3. I'm worried my voltage is to high regardless if I'm stable? With these settings can I burn out my cpu?

Thanks for all the help.

Everything seems fine to me. You're no where near the limits of the chip . I'm surprised at the 1.0 voltage setting which makes me think it's going higher in OS under stress test. If you could HWMonitor(free) is a handy monitoring tool which will give voltages and temps. If you could post a screen shot with HWMonitor open while running P95 that will go a long ways. You may as well post shots of CPUz main, memory and SPD tabs as well.

1. Likely. Most use small fft to test cpu, then blend last for everything as it tests memory as well (but not as hard on cpu).
2. Maybe, but doubtful.
3. 1.0V is likely BELOW or at most 3570k's stock voltage.. you will be fine.

Great thanks for the replies. Am I correct 8n this assumption