Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    57

    What a god aweful thing to happen

    Well, I just got my new motherboard yesterday, ECS K7S5A, and i was toying around with it. I lowered the mult. to 9 and cranked the fsb to 133, and restarted and voila!! 1.2ghz from my morgan 1ghz, this morning i wake up and had an idea, "I'll lower the multiplier to 8 and see if i can hit 8*166 just for fun even though i knew i had no chance with my pc133 sdram, so i lowered the mult to 8 rebooted and set the fsb to 138 and i got 1104mhz with decent temps, then tried 150, and booted with decent temps though a bit unstable, so i upped the vcore to 1.85, and when i powered up i went into the bios and looked at the hardware monitor and the temp said 44 and it was only at 800mhz, after this i powered down and set my mult back to 9, and wanted to go back to my original oc from last night, i cleaned off the hsf and cpu and reapplied ASII and powered up and i went into hardware monitor and my temp was 47 so i started to get upset so i removed the side of my case, removed the heatsink only to realize i cracked the core!!!!!!!!!!!! this sux

  2. #2
    Member Lt. Max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle, but im Estonian
    Posts
    2,294
    hah a 1.6A Wouldnt have done that... sometimes spenidng more money is smarter...


    but on the other hand. durons are dirt cheap. so go get a new one
    <- pic of my college parking spot
    P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
    9600pro - 400@500/300@310
    Cascade watercooled

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,753
    AARRGH! Bummer my friend! As a CPU serial killer, I know how you feel. At least it still works, so youll have a backup when you replace it. It is allways good to have a backup! Just trying to look on the bright side! I hope you get a good deal on whatever you replace it with.
    Not really a repo man.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    57
    Hey Lt. Max, if you dont mind me asking, why was your avatar removed?

  5. #5
    Member Stoanhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    VIctoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    859
    Been there. First time I ever built my own comp, I dropped a pair of pliars on the core of the CPU. Nice little dent on the corner (was an 1800+). It would start, and sometimes manage to put about half of my vid boot screen up before it stopped. I bout OEM grey market (the price was the x1000 unit price direct from AMD), so I had no warrant. Called AMD and they said they'd send me a one time customer satisfaction 1600+. I took it. Bless AMD

  6. #6
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    Posts
    6,064
    Originally posted by Lt. Max
    hah a 1.6A Wouldnt have done that... sometimes spenidng more money is smarter...
    No way. Anybody who does that will be kicking themselves in the butt when they realize what a slow crapper they have.
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    261

    Re: What a god aweful thing to happen

    Originally posted by TripleH
    i cleaned off the hsf and cpu and reapplied ASII and powered up and i went into hardware monitor and my temp was 47 so i started to get upset so i removed the side of my case, removed the heatsink only to realize i cracked the core!!!!!!!!!!!! this sux
    awe that sux

    So when did you noticed you cracked it, before you took off the heatsink the first time or the second time?

    Which heatsink were you using?

  8. #8
    Member Fiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    C:\%systemroot%\minidump
    Posts
    742
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by Lt. Max
    [B]hah a 1.6A Wouldnt have done that... sometimes spenidng more money is smarter...


    There is no need for that kind of stuff, if you want to start a debate, put it in the right place.

    Fiz

  9. #9
    Member Lt. Max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle, but im Estonian
    Posts
    2,294
    oh , i didnt mean to start no debate, if u read the second line of my thread i meant that to even out the first line...

    and my avatar was removed because it was a dancing girl showing her butt.. too sexy for most ppl here. but i like my current one btw!! makes me look like a bad kid
    <- pic of my college parking spot
    P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
    9600pro - 400@500/300@310
    Cascade watercooled

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    261
    haha I remember your avatar

  11. #11
    Senior Shaman Maximus Nickus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Milton Keynes, U.K.
    Posts
    2,674
    Who wouldn't?
    ARGHHHHHHHHHH

    *Runs off screaming*
    Lead Senior - Cooling
    Abit AT7 Max2 | 2100+ @ 3200+
    Dual Loop WaterCooling | 0.1 C/W CPU Block
    In order to succeed, you must try. | Avatar by Plague.

    Be calm, relax and the answer will come to you

    Folding at Home
    My Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •