• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

6700k overclocking, how did I do?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Arthur_Dayne

Hey,

(2133MHz RAM) 4.5GHz - stable @ 1.260VCore
Cinebench avg - 980
Avg temp - 47C, max 50C

(2133MHz RAM) 4.6GHz - stable @ 1.300VCore
Cinebench avg - 1002
Avg temp - 57C, max 63C

(2133MHz RAM) 4.7GHz - stable @ 1.300VCore
Cinebench avg - 1015
Avg temp - 57C, max 64C

(2133MHz RAM) 4.8GHz - stable @ 1.380VCore
Cinebench avg - 1036
Avg temp - 61C, max 65C

4.9GHz isn't stable no matter the voltage. I tried asking for help on the overclocking subreddit but didn't get any useful feedback. I was hoping you guys could help me out a bit - I'm still new to this.

Cooler - Thermalright Macho Rev.B + Arctic MX4 (got a bad application, I'll be re-doing it sometime)
Motherboard - Gigabyte Z170X UD3

The voltages look in line with where you are sitting with your overclock. I am assuming you are trying to find a 24/7 stable overclock. If this is the case cinebench is not the best application to test with.

I personally like to use Intel Burn Test to do my initial testing and then when I am happy with my results I do a final test on Prime95 to verify the results.

As I said earlier your voltage and temperatures look ok though. I would run Prime 95 blend at your 48x multiplier and stated voltage to see what you get. If that passes I would look at trying to up your ram speed a little as well.

I would not push your voltage past 1.4v trying to stabalize the cpu for daily usage so if you cannot get 48x stabalize you may have to back down to 47x for daily usage. You will honestly not really see a difference in a day to day usage unless you are running a heavy cpu like constantly encoding videos.