• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows 8.1 or 10

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rainwater

Hey there, I have been using Windows 10 for a solid 6-8 months now. To be honest I'm not really a fan and prefer 8.1 with a 3rd party start menu. I have a huge folder of entire themes from my skin packs and theme packs dot com that are absolutely awesome. They change everything, the start menu the theme bar the cursor everything. And I always enjoyed using those on my gaming rig. The only thing I really like about windows 10 is you can pretty much run it out of the box, you don't have to install driver after driver after driver but I have a gtx 1080 and I've gotten a lot of the new games that have come out lately and I want to be able to take advantage of DX12 but I'm really not seeing anything really changing yet, I don't see any difference when gaming and I have enough horsepower that I don't really know if it's a big deal at the moment. I guess my question is are there any people out there who may be able to give me a good reason to stick with windows 10 or at the moment is there just really not a reason to stick with 10 if I like 8.1 better? I can do anything when it comes to hardware, I am very knowledgeable, but when it comes to software I am not nearly as knowledgeable. So I'm kinda asking for some direction on this. Thank you for your time.

Going forward is my motto, that is why I upgraded plus it was free for me. I wish we could of just stayed with windows 7 and a upgrade to DX12.