• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Time to replace my AIO liquid cooler?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tech Tweaker

So, I have a Corsair H100i that I've been using for almost four years now (come April IIRC).

Have a Core i7 4790K being cooled by it. At stock settings I was hitting 80-82°C (and maybe up to 85°C once or twice) with CPU voltage on auto hitting 1.22-1.24v under load and randomly hitting 1.28v (which seemed a little high to me).

Previous owner was cooling same CPU with an air cooler around 74-77°C with the CPU overclocked to 4.7GHz with 1.35v, and frankly I have no reason not to believe their reported temps and voltage.

After dropping the vCore down to 1.12v with stock settings I was around 64-66°C max. Then increased vCore to 1.15v (still below stock) and increased speeds to 4.4GHz for 4-cores (stock is 4.3GHz) and 4.5GHz for single/dual core operation (stock is 4.4GHz). In this configuration I maxed out at 71°C (while playing a game, running a virus scan, listening to music, and having an internet browser open in the background).

Thought I was limited by my cooler, so swapped it out for my Nepton 280L (an abomination of a cooler, I must say, really difficult to mount for multiple reasons). Results were... uninspiring to say the least. After the swap with the mild overclock and 1.15v I was hitting 85-86°C easily while gaming and using two Noctua NF-P14 fans in pull (which did better than the Corsair AF140's I tried initially, don't recommend them on a radiator (90°C easily)). The bearings in one of the stock Cooler Master fans is eating itself and unreasonably loud (and the fan seems to be out of balance), so that's why I didn't use them.