Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017

    Ga-x99 boot loop.

    Hey guys I hope you can help. My new system boots for 1 sec then restarts repeatedly. I have went through all the forum posts I can find and have tried everything. Right now it's sitting on a wood table with nothing plugged in except the cpu and same deal continuous reboots every second. I have checked pins on mobo they look good, I have updated bios to newest or tried it's hard to say since it's only on 1 second.
    System specs:
    Ga-x99 ultimate gaming
    Intel i7 5820k
    32g g.skill trident ddr4 3200
    Gigabyte Nvidia 1070
    Samsung pro 850 500g ssd
    Corsair rm1000x psu
    Corsair h100 v2 cpu cooler

  2. #2
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Bellows Falls, Vermont)
    Sounds like it's not even getting to any kind of boot at all and just power cycles... I would reseat the RAM and all cards...

    Sounds a lot like a bad VRM, a bad solder joint, a bad MOSFET or a bad cap.

    The wooden place is a real good idea...
    Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-D3HP-Athlon X4 Kaveri 860K-Corsair CX 550M-eVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SC 3 GB
    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    "I DON'T LOSE AT FOOSBALL. LOL" -Blaylock
    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  3. #3
    Member Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Portland
    Ya man try with one stick maybe but ya it sounds like an Rma shot. That sucks hopefully you got it locally. Take her back man Ram it and when you get your new board build it outside the case first on the motherboard box actually before you end up actually taking it back do that build it out side o fthe case to make sure there isn't a short anywhere and if you get the same result Rma
    | i7-6700k 4.6Ghz 1.35v | h100i v2 | Asus z170 Deluxe |
    | 32 gb 3200mhz Dominator Platinum | 256gb 950 pro m.2 |
    | EVGA gtx 1080 FTW Hybrid 2139Mhz |
    | 4tb hdd | rm850i | Carbide 400c | Asus mg279q |
    | BlackWidow Chroma Kb | Naga Chroma mouse |
    || Late 13 Retina-i7-16gb-500ssd | 64gb iPhone 6s ||
    |||We are merely separated by the depth of our fears |||

  4. #4
    I would check to make sure the ram is in the slots correctly.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Yeah there is no ram in the board only cpu and cooler plugged up.

  6. #6
    Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cbus Ohio
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Does that board have a post code on it? What is it? You tried one stick in the proper slot? All four single sticks in that slot?

    I'd think it's either board or cpu. The only way to test that is to have another board around.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Sometimes I can hear 1 post beep but it's restarting as soon as I hear ithe. I have not tried 1 ram slot but ithe is doing the same thing with 0 as it did with 4.

  8. #8
    Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cbus Ohio
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    So, your board doesn't have a post code LED on it with numbers?

    Anyway, I'd rma the board.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Don't think so it's a gigabyte ga-x99 and even if it did I don't think there is time before it resets.

  10. #10
    Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cbus Ohio
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I looked for you.. it doesnt.

    I'd rma the board.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    That's where I was leaning. Thanks for the info sir you are a scholar and a gentleman.

  12. #12
    My Gigabyte motherboard reboots with no RAM.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •