Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 75
  1. #41
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    What clock are you trying? if it is 4.5GHz you could just give 0.100 a try, it would not cause any harm.

    What version of prime95 are you using?
    Yes, 4.5, and will do. I think I answered my own question regarding the base voltage on yours being lower. You have the 6600k (which I now regret not getting instead of my 6700k), and it probably runs on lower voltages.

  2. #42
    Every Intel CPU has a different stock voltage called VID. You just have a unlucky High VID compared to mine.

    What version of prime95 are you using?
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  3. #43
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Every Intel CPU has a different stock voltage called VID. You just have a unlucky High VID compared to mine.

    What version of prime95 are you using?
    Not even sure, is "the latest" an appropriate answer? I downloaded it about a week ago. I'll check once I get home.

  4. #44
    If it is the latest there should be no problem with Prime95.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  5. #45
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    If it is the latest there should be no problem with Prime95.
    Well, went ahead and switched DVID to 0.100V. I also set LLC to Standard vs Auto. Prime95 ran for much longer this time, 20 seconds to be precise, and then crashed. OCCT is up next. Here are some numbers I managed to screen from prime95 testing.



    Edit 1: OCCT testing is complete. Surprisingly enough it lasted for at least a minute, so I might just do a linpack test as well.








    Last edited by surensm; 02-15-17 at 08:07 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  6. #46
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Note that the CPU is only requesting 1.36V, but for some reason, the motherboard is feeding it 1.45V. This is starting to look more and more like a motherboard issue to me...

    Edit 1:

    Here are some results after 30 minutes of stress testing with linpack. No errors, far more stable than it has ever been before.










    Note that the temps are not exactly horrible, and occasionally spike to high 80s but otherwise cruise in the mid-high 70s and low-mid 80s.
    Last edited by surensm; 02-15-17 at 08:45 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  7. #47
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Ooo! That max vcore is pretty high at 1.464. Your temps are good though.

    Linpack is not the greatest stress test. OCCT large data set is what the author recommends. He recommends running that for three hours to be confident of stability.

    I'm thinking your sweet spot is going to be 4.4 ghz. You did not win the silicon lottery.

    Try Realbench CPU stress test.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  8. #48
    The VID is 1.36V then you set DVID +0.100 offset = 1.45V, the board is just doing what you feed in for settings. After looking at all what you have done the CPU is a flop, I would sell the CPU and try another one like i7 7700k.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  9. #49
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    The VID is 1.36V then you set DVID +0.100 offset = 1.45V, the board is just doing what you feed in for settings. After looking at all what you have done the CPU is a flop, I would sell the CPU and try another one.
    This^
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  10. #50
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by trents View Post
    Ooo! That max vcore is pretty high at 1.464. Your temps are good though.

    Linpack is not the greatest stress test. OCCT large data set is what the author recommends. He recommends running that for three hours to be confident of stability.

    I'm thinking your sweet spot is going to be 4.4 ghz. You did not win the silicon lottery.

    Try Realbench CPU stress test.
    I'll try the Realbench test. What are the chances that both 6700ks are junk, though?

    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    The VID is 1.36V then you set DVID +0.100 offset = 1.45V, the board is just doing what you feed in for settings. After looking at all what you have done the CPU is a flop, I would sell the CPU and try another one like i7 7700k.
    Damn it. Oh well, it is what it is. Even the temps look ok, too, which is the most frustrating part.

  11. #51
    Quote Originally Posted by surensm View Post
    I'll try the Realbench test. What are the chances that both 6700ks are junk, though?



    Damn it. Oh well, it is what it is. Even the temps look ok, too, which is the most frustrating part.
    Go for a i7 7700k they start at 4.5GHz turbo and clock to 4.8 to 5.0GHz.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  12. #52
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Go for a i7 7700k they start at 4.5GHz turbo and clock to 4.8 to 5.0GHz.
    I don't think I have a choice, this is driving me nuts at this point. What a bad joke, I can't even keep prime95 running at 1.45V at 4.4Ghz.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  13. #53
    Is the CPU stable running Prime95 stock? What Bios version are you running?
    Last edited by wingman99; 02-15-17 at 10:54 PM.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  14. #54
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Is the CPU stable running Prime95 stock? What Bios version are you running?
    Yes, runs fine stock. F3 is the version I have.

  15. #55
    Quote Originally Posted by surensm View Post
    Yes, runs fine stock. F3 is the version I have.
    If you go with i7 7700k you will need to upgrade to F21 BIOS.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  16. #56
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    If you go with i7 7700k you will need to upgrade to F21 BIOS.
    Well, I think I'll come to a conclusion as to which way to go before this Sunday, we'll see.

  17. #57
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    If you decide to go with the 7700k make sure you upgrade the bios before you remove the old CPU.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Even though you may have entered 1.36 in bios as your vcore, the bios will supplement that with offsets and LLC stuff, especially under load. Do you have the vcore mode set to manual, offset, adaptive or Auto? What about your LLC? Is it on Auto or manually set to a certain level?
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  18. #58
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Would it harm anything to update the BIOS to F21 as I keep using the 6700k?

    And LLC is set to standard, VCORE is set to Normal to adjust DVID.

  19. #59
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    It should be fine, although I have heard that the Skylake CPUs don't always like the Kabylake BIOS but it will work and you should do it BEFORE you get the new CPU installed

  20. #60
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post
    It should be fine, although I have heard that the Skylake CPUs don't always like the Kabylake BIOS but it will work and you should do it BEFORE you get the new CPU installed
    Got it. Well, I got an RMA request approved for my motherboard, and I might just RMA the CPU while I'm at it. Then I can confidently either sell both as BNIB knowing that I'm not pawning what could possibly be a faulty item onto someone else, or just install them in another rig down the road.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •