Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 4
Results 61 to 75 of 75
  1. #61
    Quote Originally Posted by surensm View Post
    Got it. Well, I got an RMA request approved for my motherboard, and I might just RMA the CPU while I'm at it. Then I can confidently either sell both as BNIB knowing that I'm not pawning what could possibly be a faulty item onto someone else, or just install them in another rig down the road.
    The RMA's is dishonest since everything works well at default.

    The motherboard manufactures only test the motherboard at default settings then send it back to you.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  2. #62
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    I agree with Wingman. They both work, just not as well for overclocking as you would like. So RMA is not the way to go. Just sell them on ebay as they are. Invalid RMAs just drive up companies expenses and prices for all of us. And you will also avoid a lot of hassle and waiting for the company's judgment and return. Sell them and move on.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  3. Thanks!

    wingman99 (02-16-17)

  4. #63
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    The RMA's is dishonest since everything works well at default.

    The motherboard manufactures only test the motherboard at default settings then send it back to you.
    Quote Originally Posted by trents View Post
    I agree with Wingman. They both work, just not as well for overclocking as you would like. So RMA is not the way to go. Just sell them on ebay as they are. Invalid RMAs just drive up companies expenses and prices for all of us. And you will also avoid a lot of hassle and waiting for the company's judgment and return. Sell them and move on.
    Got it. Might as well just keep them both, then, as this isn't something I NEED, per se. It works fine, just not the way I'd like. If I'm gonna upgrade, might as well wait for the next big thing. Thanks for all the help, gents.

  5. Thanks!

    wingman99 (02-16-17)

  6. #64
    Good move. We call it overclocking because it is not meant to do it from the intel factory, they just allow overclocking on the k CPUs. I had bad luck on my last CPU I could not achieve stability at 4.5GHz, I sold it.

    This is interesting from intel. http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/faq

    Does this mean that Intel is supporting or encouraging overclocking?
    No. While we will, under the Plan, replace an eligible processor that fails while running outside of Intelís specifications, we will not provide any assistance with configuration, data recovery, failure of associated parts, or any other activities or issues associated with the processor or system resulting from overclocking or otherwise running outside of Intelís published specifications.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  7. #65
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Good move. We call it overclocking because it is not meant to do it from the intel factory, they just allow overclocking on the k CPUs. I had bad luck on my last CPU I could not achieve stability at 4.5GHz, I sold it.

    This is interesting from intel. http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/faq

    Does this mean that Intel is supporting or encouraging overclocking?
    No. While we will, under the Plan, replace an eligible processor that fails while running outside of Intel’s specifications, we will not provide any assistance with configuration, data recovery, failure of associated parts, or any other activities or issues associated with the processor or system resulting from overclocking or otherwise running outside of Intel’s published specifications.
    My last 6700k had the plan, not sure if it carries over. Either way, both Intel and Gigabyte were informed of the true causes behind the RMA, so it's not like I tried to fool them. Gigabyte's approval was a bit surprising, as I thought they wouldn't bother RMAing any overclocking scenarios. I'll be extra surprised if I get an RMA approval from intel, as the request clearly stated overvoltages I was putting the CPU through. That being said, I decided it's just not worth my time to go and pull the parts out of the computer.
    A) Everything technically works as it was designed to, and theoretically there is no valid reason to bother warrantying the products, as they do work to their advertised capacity.
    B) I seriously don't want to have to pull the computer apart again, I'm dealing with too many projects as it is.
    C) More importantly, grass is always greener on the other side. Just because I swap the parts, doesn't mean the new ones will work as I expect them to.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  8. #66
    Did you actually tell them that you are having a problem with overclocking?
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  9. #67
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Did you actually tell them that you are having a problem with overclocking?
    Yeah, believe it or not, the companies will come through if you're honest. It's easier for them when you tell them that your issue exactly is. I've never been denied warranty, down to some of the cars I've owned that I used to take to the dealership with no interiors from road racing them for warranty service (keep in mind that these cars were meant to be driven hard, much like the boards were designed for overclocking). I don't get this whole stigma that you have to lie to the manufacturer to get warranty, as they are legally not allowed to deny warranty if the fault is indeed theirs. If I wanted to RMA the two components, I would do it without hesitation as I didn't lie on any of the forms. Of course, I didn't send them any graphs like you see in the thread, but I did tell them that the issue is related to/directly caused by overclocking.

    Then again, as stated earlier, there is no real reason for me to RMA it. I have the approval and 30 days to sit on it, but in those 30 days, I can get a lot more done with the computer running, rather than disabling it yet again for another 1-2 weeks.
    Last edited by surensm; 02-16-17 at 07:31 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  10. #68
    I'v been in this for 22 years and if you call intel they say running the Processor out of listed specification voids the standard warranty. intel Phone Number: 1-916-377-7000

    The motherboard manufactures don't care if you overclock the only thing you can damage is the intel CPU or BIOS and the board has to be sent in.

    A long time ago we use to get new motherboards when we would RMA for the first year, that was great. There were so many RMAs that board manufactures made a RMA departments. Most boards go in with no problems and are sent back to the customer in the same condition. From what I see over the years if you have a real problem that will show up in default settings they will fix or replace and not tell what they have done, even if they did not fix the problem they say it is fixed, I see that all the time.

    In the RMA department they don't test overclocking of any kind even memory, they just look for default settings problems. Gigabyte Phone 1-626-854-9338
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  11. #69
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    I'v been in this for 22 years and if you call intel they say running the Processor out of listed specification voids the standard warranty. intel Phone Number: 1-916-377-7000

    The motherboard manufactures don't care if you overclock the only thing you can damage is the intel CPU or BIOS and the board has to be sent in.

    A long time ago we use to get new motherboards when we would RMA for the first year, that was great. There were so many RMAs that board manufactures made a RMA departments. Most boards go in with no problems and are sent back to the customer in the same condition. From what I see over the years if you have a real problem that will show up in default settings they will fix or replace and not tell what they have done, even if they did not fix the problem they say it is fixed, I see that all the time.

    In the RMA department they don't test overclocking of any kind even memory, they just look for default settings problems. Gigabyte Phone 1-626-854-9338
    Yeah, again, not worth the trouble for me to make the call and wait on confirming a DMC over hardware that I don't plan to mess with.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  12. #70
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Went ahead and updated the bios to the F21 version, and still nothing. Decided to at least SWR the CPU, so went ahead and mailed that out. Turns out the CPU was actually faulty, and Intel replaced it for me. I am now more than an hour into prime95 testing at 4.5 GHz with pretty liberal voltage settings, so I'm just going to keep raising the clock speeds as long as it's nice and stable. Here's a screenshot of the HWMonitor window I'm running alongside the prime95 st. Temps hover in the high 60s, low 70s. Voltage is a little high, but the cooler can handle it fine as seen in the screen shot.

    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  13. #71
    What was faulty with the other CPU?
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  14. #72
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    What was faulty with the other CPU?
    They never specified, just that it had to be replaced. I had issues with it from the getgo, I should have known from the baseline cinnebench scores being 30pts lower than my original 6700k that something wasn't right.
    CPU: i7-6700k
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 6
    Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX
    RAM: 1x16 gb G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 DDR4
    GPU: Nvidia GEForce GTX1080
    Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
    PSU: Corsair RM850x
    Storage: Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300
    Seagate 3TB BarraCuda
    OS: Windows 10

  15. #73
    Quote Originally Posted by surensm View Post
    They never specified, just that it had to be replaced. I had issues with it from the getgo, I should have known from the baseline cinnebench scores being 30pts lower than my original 6700k that something wasn't right.
    Where did you send the CPU to be tested? Intel does not test the CPU.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  16. #74
    Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Benching Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by surensm View Post
    Went ahead and updated the bios to the F21 version, and still nothing. Decided to at least SWR the CPU, so went ahead and mailed that out. Turns out the CPU was actually faulty, and Intel replaced it for me. I am now more than an hour into prime95 testing at 4.5 GHz with pretty liberal voltage settings, so I'm just going to keep raising the clock speeds as long as it's nice and stable. Here's a screenshot of the HWMonitor window I'm running alongside the prime95 st. Temps hover in the high 60s, low 70s. Voltage is a little high, but the cooler can handle it fine as seen in the screen shot.

    Those max temps are still getting up there. Was that before the cooler ramped up or?
    MoBo: Asus Maximus IX Formula
    CPU: i7-7700k - 5.0 @ 1.385
    Ram: 16gb GSkill - 4000 19-19-19-39-2T
    GC: EVGA 1080 ti - +210 core / +450 memory / shunt mod
    PSU: EVGA 850 Gold
    Cooling: Custom Loop Water EK CPU/GPU (1 - 360 rad & 1 - 240 rad)

  17. #75
    Registered surensm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Where did you send the CPU to be tested? Intel does not test the CPU.
    Oh, wouldn't know that. And whatever address they usually provide for SWR cases.

    Edit: 2200 Outer Loop, Louisville KY address.

    Quote Originally Posted by R_Pierce View Post
    Those max temps are still getting up there. Was that before the cooler ramped up or?
    After. I dropped voltages since and they're down into the 80s now.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •