• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Safe OC on GTX 1070 Gigabyte Gaming G1?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

downshift

Hello,

I am new to overclocking and i have tried to learn as much as possible before i started with my 1070. So i used EVGA Precision X software to overclock.
After much back and forth i have found that my card can do +100 / +300 stable. That puts me at 2025-2034mhz and 4303mhz on the memory.

To make sure it is stable I ran heaven and valley for hours and got the following results:

I played Witcher 3 for about 1 hour and everything seems stable. No crashes.

So is this a good overclock? I know its not the most, but it is stable to run this? Temp is ending up at around 65c after a few hours of testing / gaming.

The other thing i find disconcerting, is that when i boot up my PC, and i have EVGA Precision X to run when windows starts, excatly when it loads up i get a screen full of squares and some wierd colors. After 2-5 seconds they go away and i see that the EVGA softaware has put my card to default clocks. But if i go in and apply my OC again everything is okey? Games run great and the OC is working well. What is this all about?

Thanks!

- - - Updated - - -

I forgot to post my full setup:

Intel i7 2700k @ 4,4
Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
16gb DDR3 1333
Corsair TX650
Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler.
500gb Samsung Evo SSD
MSI P67AGD65

- - - Updated - - -

16jlgt3.jpg

2dw9rew.jpg

Thanks for your reply Earthdog, do you have any thoughts on the "glitch" in the EVGA software? Why does it makes squares and ditch my OC in the program? Happens right after startup.

I uninstalled the EVGA software and installed MSI Afterburner. But this did not fix the problem, it only made it worse.