Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member rcillig's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nebraska USA

    HD Blunder need help.

    Ok, So I got 2 external hard drive the same, 3 gig Hatachi's. One on my main, one on my torrent pc.. I wanted to move some music from pc 1 to pc2 so put it on the hd and dis connected from pc 1 and plugged other in pc 2. It wasn't loading kept giving info for disconnect hd so I changed drive letter thinking that might work and when it didn't I rebooted. PC hung on boot and I held in power button to stop boot after like 5 min. Disconnected the hd rebooted with out it hooked up and she booted right up. Now the HD is fudged.... so mad at me self.

    When I try and open it I get this error "G not accessible. The Parameter is incorrect."

    tried the cdm, chkdks /f :g but wont go get this error "The drive, the path, or the filename is not valid."

    I see the drive as healthy in Disk Management .

    I run recuva and get nothing on first scan but on deep scan I find my files. It gives me over a day to recover them though & im not sure if its free or not.



    This drive is important, I had all my picture backups for my family on it. like 20 years worth. I really need to salvage them. Suggestions?
    Windows 10 X64 Pro, HAF 932
    Intel i7-2700k
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 16GB Mushkin PC3 1700 (4x4)
    Corsair HX850
    PCI'E Sapphire HD 6990, Asus Xonar DX2
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gig SSD(OS Installed) - 1TB Seagate(storage) - 250gig WD (Storage) - 3TB Hitachi(Storage External)



    Heatware ID
    HAF 932 Build 2010

  2. #2
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Your post is very confusing. Could you slow down and explain in more detail what you did and what happened? Which drive did you change the letter on? Don't see how you could change the drive letter on a drive that isn't loading. Could you see it in Disk Management? Who or what was giving you info for disconnecting hard drive, bios or Windows? Sounds like your PC was trying to boot off the external drive at one point so when you removed it it found the system drive. Which one wasn't loading, the one you plugged into PC1 or PC2?

    Could you communicate in outline form (numbered or bulleted list) with more detail please about who, what and where?

    And when you moved the music from pc1 to the external hard drive, did you do a copy and paste or did you do a cut and paste. If you just copied the music, should it still be on pc1? You indicated pc1 booted fine after you disconnected the external hard drive.
    Last edited by trents; 02-14-17 at 11:12 PM.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  3. #3
    Member rcillig's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nebraska USA
    Ok first off I'm very sry... I got adhd and sometimes I leave out details as I see them as obvious but from another point of view its very confusing. I confuse people all the time and it try not to do it but I'm having one of them days.

    I got 2 pc's both with an external hd's I wanted to move music from pc1 too pc2 so I put it on the external of that pc when I moved and hooked up the hd from pc1 on pc2 it listed as the hd from pc

    PC1 - HD1(music)
    PC2 - HD2

    Moving time PC2 - HD1(music) PC2 listed HD1 as HD2 even though HD2 Wasn't hooked up, they are the same model drives so I thought maybe I needed to change drive letters as the pc gave it the same drive letter. Changed from G to N. PC said needed to reboot, rebooted hung for like 5 mins. Forces Power off then rebooted with out the HD1 connected.

    Now I get the errors when I try and hook it up or access it. The drive loads in windows but I cant access it. The recovery program recuva says there is data still there and I can get it... one file at a time, there is like 143404 files on the drive... one file at a time would be terrible!
    Windows 10 X64 Pro, HAF 932
    Intel i7-2700k
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 16GB Mushkin PC3 1700 (4x4)
    Corsair HX850
    PCI'E Sapphire HD 6990, Asus Xonar DX2
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gig SSD(OS Installed) - 1TB Seagate(storage) - 250gig WD (Storage) - 3TB Hitachi(Storage External)



    Heatware ID
    HAF 932 Build 2010

  4. #4
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Still confusing.

    Are the music files still on PC1? I mean you just copied them, right? You didn't delete them from PC1, right?

    Also, Windows will assign the same letter to any removable storage device plugged into a computer, regardless of whether it is an external hard drive or a USB flash drive. If you plug in an external HD it will assign it the next unused letter in the alphabet. If you remove that drive and plug in another external hard drive it will get the same letter as the first one. Or if you remove the first one and plug in a USB flash drive it will still get that same drive letter. The letter isn't remembered by Windows as belonging to a particular removable storage device. On the other hand, if you plug in an external hard drive and Windows gives it a letter, then plug in a second one with the first one still plugged in, Windows will give the second one a different letter because the letter assigned to the first drive is already in use.
    Last edited by trents; 02-15-17 at 09:35 AM.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  5. #5
    Member rcillig's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nebraska USA
    Ok I'm back had to work long hrs the last few days but got today off to solve this. Here is the dead regardless of how it happened, yes It was prolly my fault.

    I got a drive that when plugged in windows 10 pc, registers when I open my computer as (G drive but doesn't load like it used to and say Hitachi (G Drive. When I click on drive and try and open it I get this error "drive not accessible parameter incorrect"

    When I run data recovery software by info is still there but id have to purchase the software to go that route. currently I don't have the extra funds to go this route or id do it.

    - - - Updated - - -

    mins after this post i tried chkdsk again, was getting a mounted error but after rebooting and trying it again chkdsk /f g: fixed what ever read error was there and its now access able. Thanks You and Sry for the confusion of my posts the other day!
    Windows 10 X64 Pro, HAF 932
    Intel i7-2700k
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 16GB Mushkin PC3 1700 (4x4)
    Corsair HX850
    PCI'E Sapphire HD 6990, Asus Xonar DX2
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gig SSD(OS Installed) - 1TB Seagate(storage) - 250gig WD (Storage) - 3TB Hitachi(Storage External)



    Heatware ID
    HAF 932 Build 2010

  6. #6
    Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cbus Ohio
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #7
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    I just could not understand why you didn't take the other external drive (you said you had two of them) and copy the music files all over again from PC1 to it. You never did answer that question. But glad you got the misbehaving drive running again.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •