Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1

    Why should I buy SSD

    I heard sooooo many stupid reasons why to buy SSD half of them are clearly trolling or just being stupid, from "oh your game will run faster", "oh your regular HDD is botleneck" so on and so forth. I know that SSD-s are in fact better but they are also much more expensive and for example 250gb isnt enough for all software and games most of the people use, so buying only SSD makes no sense to me, especially when I am on the budget. If I was some sort of content creator or dev I would buy it without thinking but simply for regular use I see no point in buying one.
    Do you think price justify performance? What do you think about regular pc users do they need one?
    CPU: AMD FX-6300 6-core 4.30 GHz OC
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990X-Gaming SLI
    Cooler: CoolerMaster 212x Hyper
    Additional Cooling: Thermal Take Luna 120mm 1300 rpm 2x Blue and Red Outtake, 120 mm Unknown Intake
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Kingston
    GPU: GTX960 2GB DDR5 WF2
    Case: MS Monster
    PSU: Fortron HEXA 400W+80
    Storage: Toshiba 1TB 7200 rpm/min P300 High Performance, Samsung HD502HJ 500 gb
    OS: Windows 10

  2. #2
    Member Tír na nÓg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Dublin/Ireland - Libreville/Gabon - Venice/Italy ...
    Benching Profile
    Much faster boot time
    Instant access time to applications
    Faster loading time
    "Snappiness" of the whole system
    ...

    You can't understand untill you get one...

    BTW, being the slowest part in a system, for some apps, the HDD is the bottleneck.

    Yes, price justifies performance by far (edit: IMO).

    Edit: I bought my first one in 2010, a Corsair F90 Sata II (was something like $250 at the time...). I felt like a pr1ck when I pressed the "pay now" button, but all regrets vanished at first boot! I newer went back to HDD since.

    "PC users" is quite a generic term, hard to answer. Does a PC user need a 4/6/8/10 cores CPU? Does a PC user need a $200+ GPU? Does a PC user need an aftermarket HSF? And so on...
    Last edited by Tír na nÓg; 03-01-17 at 05:10 AM.
    Main:
    5820k@4.8GHz/1.32v - Cache 4.3GHz/1.25v - Asrock X99 Extreme6 3.1 - 4x4GB Trident Z 3333/Cl14
    Dual-X 7970@1200/1650
    Swiftech H240X + 280mm + 140mm Rads - Raijintek Universal GPU Block
    Crucial BX100 250GB / Sandisk 250GB
    Be Quiet Power Zone 750W
    Phantek Enthoo Luxe

    Laptop:
    Asus (Minging!) R500DV 3630QM/8GB/250GB SSD

  3. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17)

  4. #3
    Member mackerel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    I'd rate it as essential on any frequently used system. The responsiveness is helped massively on all but the lowest of low spec systems where the bottleneck may remain elsewhere. It is true the cost per capacity works out much higher than for a traditional hard disk. A common strategy on a budget is to run a smaller SSD to install the operating system, and maybe any high importance software. Lower importance software and bulk storage can still go on a much bigger hard disk.
    Main box: i7-6700k, Asus VIII Hero, Noctua NH-D14, Ripjaws V 3200C16 2x8GB, GTX 980 Ti, In Win 303, Samsung SM951 512GB, LG 34UC87
    VR box: i7-6700k, Asus Z170I Pro Gaming, Noctua NH-D9L, Kingston Hyper-X 2x8GB 2666, GTX 1070 FE, NZXT Manta, Samsung PM951 256GB, HTC Vive
    Test box: i5-6600k, MSI Z170A Gaming Pro, EK stuff, Ripjaws 4 3333C16 4x4GB, GTX 980 Ti, Corsair Air 540, Toshiba 128GB SSD, BenQ XL2411
    Ryzen box: R7 1700, Asus Prime X370-Pro, Noctua NH-U14S, Corsair Vengeance 3000 2x4GB, R9 280X, TBD, Kingston SSDNow 240GB, TBD
    Other heating: i7-6700HQ, i5-5675C, E5-2683v3, 2x E5-2650, i5-4570S, i3-6100, i3-4360, 2x i3-4150T.

  5. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17)

  6. #4
    All those things I noticed on friends PC UE4 loads so fast. The main problem is that I would have to squeze out 100 euros for 250gb ssd for which I can get 2tb regular HDD.
    Whats lowest size of SSD you would buy when on the budget? I don't see point of those 120gb its just enough for OS and some software

    EDIT: I ment for people that are regular users that just browse internet and similar
    CPU: AMD FX-6300 6-core 4.30 GHz OC
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990X-Gaming SLI
    Cooler: CoolerMaster 212x Hyper
    Additional Cooling: Thermal Take Luna 120mm 1300 rpm 2x Blue and Red Outtake, 120 mm Unknown Intake
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Kingston
    GPU: GTX960 2GB DDR5 WF2
    Case: MS Monster
    PSU: Fortron HEXA 400W+80
    Storage: Toshiba 1TB 7200 rpm/min P300 High Performance, Samsung HD502HJ 500 gb
    OS: Windows 10

  7. #5
    Member Tír na nÓg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Dublin/Ireland - Libreville/Gabon - Venice/Italy ...
    Benching Profile
    AGreed on the 120GB being too small. A 250GB will be enough for the systems, a couple of AAA games and leaves some room for Adobe CS/MS Office.
    Main:
    5820k@4.8GHz/1.32v - Cache 4.3GHz/1.25v - Asrock X99 Extreme6 3.1 - 4x4GB Trident Z 3333/Cl14
    Dual-X 7970@1200/1650
    Swiftech H240X + 280mm + 140mm Rads - Raijintek Universal GPU Block
    Crucial BX100 250GB / Sandisk 250GB
    Be Quiet Power Zone 750W
    Phantek Enthoo Luxe

    Laptop:
    Asus (Minging!) R500DV 3630QM/8GB/250GB SSD

  8. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17), Janus67 (03-01-17)

  9. #6
    Godzilla to ant hills caddi daddi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    all the things he ^^^^^^^^ said, everything is just snappier.
    on this forum we are not going to arm twist you about it, here we think that you being happy and with a rig you can afford is the best way to have it.
    you are right, with the size of games and some software 250 gigs is the smallest you should get but, if you might go into debt for it, please don't bother.
    Folding User Stats

  10. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17), Tír na nÓg (03-01-17)

  11. #7
    Eventually I will get is sooner or later. Going into debt for anything is just being stupid only if its essential for your life. This Toshiba HDD will be storage when I get it thats the luck. Just one more question, dose it meter where I plug it into motherboard I noticed some ports are "slower" some are "faster" or there is no difference.
    CPU: AMD FX-6300 6-core 4.30 GHz OC
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990X-Gaming SLI
    Cooler: CoolerMaster 212x Hyper
    Additional Cooling: Thermal Take Luna 120mm 1300 rpm 2x Blue and Red Outtake, 120 mm Unknown Intake
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Kingston
    GPU: GTX960 2GB DDR5 WF2
    Case: MS Monster
    PSU: Fortron HEXA 400W+80
    Storage: Toshiba 1TB 7200 rpm/min P300 High Performance, Samsung HD502HJ 500 gb
    OS: Windows 10

  12. #8
    Member mackerel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    I think a 120/128GB size class SSD is plenty for OS, if you can put everything else on a 2nd drive. The problem is the price per capacity at that point isn't great, and the price difference to 240/256GB class makes it much better value.

    Also note, even a low end SSD is often much faster than a high spec HD, so don't worry about paying more for a high performance SSD over a better capacity value one.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by demien88 View Post
    Eventually I will get is sooner or later. Going into debt for anything is just being stupid only if its essential for your life. This Toshiba HDD will be storage when I get it thats the luck. Just one more question, dose it meter where I plug it into motherboard I noticed some ports are "slower" some are "faster" or there is no difference.
    Use a SATA 3 port to get better transfer rates than SATA 2, otherwise there isn't much difference.
    Main box: i7-6700k, Asus VIII Hero, Noctua NH-D14, Ripjaws V 3200C16 2x8GB, GTX 980 Ti, In Win 303, Samsung SM951 512GB, LG 34UC87
    VR box: i7-6700k, Asus Z170I Pro Gaming, Noctua NH-D9L, Kingston Hyper-X 2x8GB 2666, GTX 1070 FE, NZXT Manta, Samsung PM951 256GB, HTC Vive
    Test box: i5-6600k, MSI Z170A Gaming Pro, EK stuff, Ripjaws 4 3333C16 4x4GB, GTX 980 Ti, Corsair Air 540, Toshiba 128GB SSD, BenQ XL2411
    Ryzen box: R7 1700, Asus Prime X370-Pro, Noctua NH-U14S, Corsair Vengeance 3000 2x4GB, R9 280X, TBD, Kingston SSDNow 240GB, TBD
    Other heating: i7-6700HQ, i5-5675C, E5-2683v3, 2x E5-2650, i5-4570S, i3-6100, i3-4360, 2x i3-4150T.

  13. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17)

  14. #9
    Tnx on effort guys. I will probably get one in near future
    CPU: AMD FX-6300 6-core 4.30 GHz OC
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990X-Gaming SLI
    Cooler: CoolerMaster 212x Hyper
    Additional Cooling: Thermal Take Luna 120mm 1300 rpm 2x Blue and Red Outtake, 120 mm Unknown Intake
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Kingston
    GPU: GTX960 2GB DDR5 WF2
    Case: MS Monster
    PSU: Fortron HEXA 400W+80
    Storage: Toshiba 1TB 7200 rpm/min P300 High Performance, Samsung HD502HJ 500 gb
    OS: Windows 10

  15. #10
    Godzilla to ant hills caddi daddi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    many times we have 2 sata controllers.
    always plug your boot drive into sata port 1 and you will be alright.
    Folding User Stats

  16. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17)

  17. #11
    Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cbus Ohio
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by demien88 View Post
    I heard sooooo many stupid reasons why to buy SSD half of them are clearly trolling or just being stupid, from "oh your game will run faster", "oh your regular HDD is botleneck" so on and so forth. I know that SSD-s are in fact better but they are also much more expensive and for example 250gb isnt enough for all software and games most of the people use, so buying only SSD makes no sense to me, especially when I am on the budget. If I was some sort of content creator or dev I would buy it without thinking but simply for regular use I see no point in buying one.
    Do you think price justify performance? What do you think about regular pc users do they need one?
    It's 2017... You should absolutely have one if it fits the budget. No, you won't get faster fps...but your hdd is the slowest thing on the pc.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  18. Thanks!

    Tír na nÓg (03-01-17)

  19. #12
    Chapstick Eating Premium Member #13

    wagex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    newkirk, oklahoma
    Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    i asked this one time. i was sitting there like ok so what if i boot faster whoopty doo im not paying $150 for 256gb of storage il take the extra 10 seconds boot time. then... i got a free SSD and oh my god. they aren't technology buddy. that is right. they are straight up freaking voodoo, oh look before i even finished my double click that entire program is ready to go! next thing i know its opening stuff before i even think about clicking on it im like what in the mess? how did you... then that's when it hit me.. magic.

    within the next year my server, gaming rig, router all got ssd's.

    tl;dr: buy one. its the best thing to happen to your pc since l3 cache.

    disclaimer: not held accountable if op is killed by the voodoo magic contained in the SSD.
    rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- generic mid atx-----router-old apex htpc case----lan rig lian-li pc-q07
    2500k 4.8ghz 1.35v----------------- i3-2120-------------------------amd c-70-------------------i5-2400
    p8z77 ------------------------------ ga-p67-ud4 ------------------ ASRock C70M1-------------foxconn h61
    8gb gskill ripjaws 1600 ------1x4gb 1600 ripjaws -------------1x1gb ddr3 1600------------2x4gb ddr3 1600
    1060 extreme gaming 6g--------- onboard --------------------------onboard-----------------GTX 750TI SC
    corsair hx850---------------------450w antec------------------300w seasonic gold----------- corsair 430M
    custom loop ---------------xigmatek durin 92mm -------stock cooler cameo n board-----lenovo 1155 hs w 4500rpm pwm delta
    win 10 x64-----------------server 2012 r2 datacenter---------------pfsense---------------win 7 x64
    steam user name : Wagex (-urdead) HEAT
    "You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum

  20. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-01-17)

  21. #13
    Senior Alien Cat Hunter
    Blaylock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Detroit Area
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    ^ Dat 8s boot time too. Magic
    The Rodeo Clown Oath: I Blaylock, do solemnly swear, to not let my Rig die of old age. I will burn it, fry it, freeze it, smash it and crash it til there is only ash and smoke. This I swear on this day 08/05/2014.


    Project Freezer Burn | Project Man Cave! | Looking for the perfect case? | Bored of Gaming? Join the Benching Team!

  22. #14
    I know that even some games benefit from it due fast read write ability and those same game struggle and stutter like hell on regular HDD-s. But those are few one of them is Space Engineers. I just hope to get one just for OS and few programs since I already have enough storage on another HDD. Last thing that was like voodoo magic was this PC in comparison to old one, that faced unfortunate "blender fan death" cpu got destroyed.
    CPU: AMD FX-6300 6-core 4.30 GHz OC
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990X-Gaming SLI
    Cooler: CoolerMaster 212x Hyper
    Additional Cooling: Thermal Take Luna 120mm 1300 rpm 2x Blue and Red Outtake, 120 mm Unknown Intake
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Kingston
    GPU: GTX960 2GB DDR5 WF2
    Case: MS Monster
    PSU: Fortron HEXA 400W+80
    Storage: Toshiba 1TB 7200 rpm/min P300 High Performance, Samsung HD502HJ 500 gb
    OS: Windows 10

  23. #15
    Member Jeff G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    WI/IL border
    My 120gb SSD is plenty for W10 and all my programs. You can get a SanDisk on Amazon for less than 50euros. Just get a nice spinner drive for storage then.
    Of the 110gb available, I have about 60gb left after a full W10 install and updates. My programs used less than 20gb so I still have over 1/3 of the storage space left.
    Just install anything like games on the hdd then.
    Builds:Gaming Rig || HTPC
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7 || ASRock H110 mItx
    CPU: i7-6700k @ 4.7GHz || Intel G4500
    GPU: GTX 1070 @ 2100/4500 || HD530
    Ram: 2x8gb Team Dark DDR4 @ 3000MHz || 2x4gb G.Skill DDR4 2133
    PSU: Corsair 750w || Corsair 430w
    SSD: OS - Kingston 120gb / Storage - Crucial 512gb || ADATA Priemer 120gb
    Cooling: Single loop with XSPC CPU block and Arctic MX-4 tim, 3x120mm Radiator with 6 SP120 fans in push/pull || Stock
    Case: Rosewill Rise with AF140 fans || Zalman T2 with Rosewill Fans
    OS: Windows 10 Pro || Windows 10 Pro
    Monitor: Catleap 2b Extreme 27" 1440p @ 120hz || 70" LED 1080p TV
    Audio: Sennheiser HD558 headphones || Atmos 5.1.4

  24. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-02-17)

  25. #16
    Member

    Tech Tweaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    There is really an astonishing difference the first time you boot up with an SSD when you're used to a hard drive.

    I upgraded my father's desktop PC to an SSD with an additional storage drive a while back. With the old single 7200RPM WD Blue it was booting up to the desktop in about 4 minutes, and even after I gave it a full cleaning (temp files, registry, antivirus scans and so forth) that number didn't improve much. After cloning the OS to an 840 Evo SSD that boot time went down to about 45 seconds to 1 minute. That system has an AMD Phenom II x4 965 at the stock 3.4GHz if that tells you anything of the age (built in 2010).

    After using the system with an SSD for a few days he went back to using the HDD, and was amazed because he never realized just how long programs took to load. I believe it was some financial or tax program that took 2-3 minutes to load on the HDD, but was up and running in 10-15 seconds on the SSD with the same OS load.

    A laptop I refurbished a while back booted up in about 3 minutes with a 5400RPM hard drive, when I cloned the OS over to an SSD that dropped to ~30 seconds.

    The difference in gaming on my desktop is pretty astonishing. Playing the game from an HDD the other day I loaded into a match in BF4 after my team had taken the first two objectives in Rush and was working on the third (this takes a while usually), whereas with the game on an SSD I'm one of the first into the match. I should probably transfer my BF4 game files back to my SSD since I'm playing that more lately than the newer BF1.

    I didn't get my first SSD until late 2015 if I remember correctly. It just was never affordable to me before that, and since I needed something to put my OS on I went with hard drives as you could get much more storage for the money.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    Main Rig: Case: Corsair 750D|Power Supply: Corsair RM650i|Cooling: Corsair H100i|Motherboard: ASRock Z97 Extreme6|CPU: Intel Core i7 4790K|RAM: 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1866|Video: Evga GTX 780 Ti|SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS)+1TB Western Digital Caviar Black (Storage)|OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    Backup Rig: Case: Cooler Master 690 II Advanced|Power Supply: Corsair HX750W|Cooling: Corsair H80|Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R|CPU: Intel Q8400 @3.6GHz @1.25v|RAM: 8GB G.Skill DDR2-1066@756MHz|Video: Evga GTX 660Ti|HDD: Western Digital 320GB Caviar Blue (OS)+500GB Caviar Black (Storage)|ODD: Lite-on DVDRW LH-20A1S|OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    My Heat

  26. #17
    Senior Forum Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    all my pc's have had SSD's since i started using the OCZ Agility's back in the day. still got a OCZ vertex-EX 120gb showing 99% life left and its been threw 4-6 os installs plus a few apps, mostly just read from but its in my HTPC.

    4790K | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | MSI GTX960 2GB | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  27. #18
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Also, they are more expensive it stimulates the economy more.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  28. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Blaylock View Post
    ^ Dat 8s boot time too. Magic
    Share your secret? Ive got 35 seconds on the 850 Evo and 37 on the laptop 7200 rpm spinner. The OS is fresh on the SSD (I haven't gutted the services yet or anything) but I dont think Ill get anywhere near 8s

    @OP As I stated above Ive got similar boot on an SSD and HDD, but programs boot noticeably faster.
    ..... Daily Driver . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . NAS/Etc......
    PSU: Supernova G2 750w. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 350W Seasonic (SS-350ET)
    GPU: HD 7850. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Radeon 5450
    Mobo: GigaByte 990fxa-UD3. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Gigabyte 970a-d3p
    CPU:Phenom II 955BE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Athlon II x2 270
    RAM: 4 x 8gb PNY XLR8. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 x 2gb 1333
    Cooling: MegaHalems! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Arctic Alpine 64 Plus CPU Cooler
    HDD : Western Digital Caviar Black 1T . . . . . . . . . . Enough For Now!
    OS DRIVE: 120GB Kingston SSDNow
    Smileys are too Punctuation! :)

  29. #20
    Senior Forum Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    boot time can be measured differently, some call boot time from the power button to full desktop. others call boot time, the time it takes when the os starts to load to a fully usable desktop. also some motherboards or all now, have options to allow for faster bootup by bypassing some detection of devices after being found the first time by the bios/UEFI.

    4790K | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | MSI GTX960 2GB | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  30. Thanks!

    demien88 (03-02-17), knoober (03-01-17)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •