Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017

    Computer Keeps shutting off

    I have a my gaming rig that is under a year old. Motherboard is the sabertooth 990fx. I have a AMD 9590 with a self contained water cooler. When i start up my pc it'll be fine for the first 20-30 minutes. then it'll lock up and i have to restart it. when i go to restart it'll start the Post test but will turn off again. when i initally looked this up i was told it was the power supply which i swapped out. Still having the wrong problem. wondering if its the processor or the motherboard. any help would be appreciated bang head

  2. #2
    Sim Racing Aficionado Moderator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    Premium Member #NaN
    First Responders

    ATMINSIDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Underclock the CPU.

    Full system specs will help us help you.
    Processor-----Little Power-6700K-----------Server-E3-1246 v3---------Bench-6700K
    Motherboard----------------Z170 Stinger------------C226 WS-------------------Z170 Extreme7+
    CPU Cooling----------------Noctua NH-U9S---------NH-U12S-------------------Glacer 240L
    Video------------------------980Ti 6GB ACX 2.0-----HD P4600------------------750Ti FTW
    OS Drive--------------------500GB 850 EVO---------256GB Samsung 830------256GB 850 PRO
    Storage Drive---------------Look Right ->-----------4x2TB WD Red RAID5----<- Look Left
    Power-----------------------EVGA 500W-------------Seasonic G-450------------EVGA 850W G2
    Memory---------------------2x16GB 2800 CL14-----4X4GB 1333 CL9 ECC-----2x4GB 3000 CL15
    Case-------------------------EVGA Hadron Air-------Corsair 330R---------------Spotswood Compact

    Build Logs: (H2O)3 - The Water Cube | Little Power | Upgrade That Server!
    Interested in Sim Racing? Click here! | Interested in writing for our front page? PM me!

  3. #3
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    It sounds like it's overheating. Have you done any temp monitoring?
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    I can't get it to stay on long enough to do a temp test, it'll be on for 5 minutes, then crash. When i go to restart it it'll shut back down during the post. like flipping off the power. i've already replaced the PS.. I turned off the turbo in the bios and had it underclocked. I feel the two cables on the cooler, and one is hot one is cold but i can feel the pumping...
    My latest RIG specs:
    CPU: AMD FX-9590 Vishera 8-Core 4.7 GHz Socket AM3+ 220W
    Motherboard : Sabertooth 990fx r2.0
    CPU COOLER : Hydro Series™ H100i Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
    Power Supply : CORSAIR RMx Series RM1000X 1000W 80 PLUS GOLD
    OS: Windows 7

  5. #5
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Do you have air lock in your water system? If ii is working properly you can feel little or no difference in temp between the inlet and the outlet hoses. It is a closed system and it reaches and equilibrium pretty quickly where the whole system pretty much is the same temp. Tip the computer case side to side and front to back to try to dislodge the bubbles in the radiator.

    Also, check your water block mount and TIM spread. Maybe the water block is not making good contact with the CPU top.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  6. #6
    Was it overclocked?
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  7. #7
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    You should be able to get some temp readings in 5 minutes of uptime. Just immediately load HWMonitor (non pro version) as soon as the Windows desktop loads and look at the package temp line.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  8. #8
    Member BuRgLaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Mobile,Alabama
    Am I mistaking but I thought the Sabertooth wasn't 220w rated

    I thought the only boards offically supported for 220 were the Extreme7,Crosshair and ....... damn I forgot the other one
    ASUS M5A99X Evo r2.0 AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4 G.Skill RipjawsX 2133mhz 32GB Corsair H110
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970 x2 EVGA G2 1000
    WD Black 3TB SATA - Storage WD Green 2TB SATAPNY XLR8 240GB SSD - Storage Cooler Master HAF-X 942 Blue Edition Windows 8.1 64-Bit

  9. #9
    Sim Racing Aficionado Moderator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    Premium Member #NaN
    First Responders

    ATMINSIDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by BuRgLaR View Post
    Am I mistaking but I thought the Sabertooth wasn't 220w rated

    I thought the only boards offically supported for 220 were the Extreme7,Crosshair and ....... damn I forgot the other one
    And the Sabertooth.
    Processor-----Little Power-6700K-----------Server-E3-1246 v3---------Bench-6700K
    Motherboard----------------Z170 Stinger------------C226 WS-------------------Z170 Extreme7+
    CPU Cooling----------------Noctua NH-U9S---------NH-U12S-------------------Glacer 240L
    Video------------------------980Ti 6GB ACX 2.0-----HD P4600------------------750Ti FTW
    OS Drive--------------------500GB 850 EVO---------256GB Samsung 830------256GB 850 PRO
    Storage Drive---------------Look Right ->-----------4x2TB WD Red RAID5----<- Look Left
    Power-----------------------EVGA 500W-------------Seasonic G-450------------EVGA 850W G2
    Memory---------------------2x16GB 2800 CL14-----4X4GB 1333 CL9 ECC-----2x4GB 3000 CL15
    Case-------------------------EVGA Hadron Air-------Corsair 330R---------------Spotswood Compact

    Build Logs: (H2O)3 - The Water Cube | Little Power | Upgrade That Server!
    Interested in Sim Racing? Click here! | Interested in writing for our front page? PM me!

  10. #10
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by ATMINSIDE View Post
    And the Sabertooth.
    Quote Originally Posted by BuRgLaR View Post
    Am I mistaking but I thought the Sabertooth wasn't 220w rated

    I thought the only boards offically supported for 220 were the Extreme7,Crosshair and ....... damn I forgot the other one
    And the Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 R5 lists it as officially supported too

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  11. #11
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    It must be sabertooth R2 or greater. Original Sabertooth does not work and sometimes will POST or go into Windows. But any major load will flip the OCP on the VRMs.
    (╯°v°)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    ok guys sorry for the long delay been working hard in my IT job. Well no compacitors are swollen so lucky there.

    Was it overclocked?
    NOPE!!!

    You should be able to get some temp readings in 5 minutes of uptime. Just immediately load HWMonitor (non pro version) as soon as the Windows desktop loads and look at the package temp line.

    I can't get into it fast enough to turn anything on
    My latest RIG specs:
    CPU: AMD FX-9590 Vishera 8-Core 4.7 GHz Socket AM3+ 220W
    Motherboard : Sabertooth 990fx r2.0
    CPU COOLER : Hydro Series™ H100i Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
    Power Supply : CORSAIR RMx Series RM1000X 1000W 80 PLUS GOLD
    OS: Windows 7

  13. #13
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    What are the CPU temps in bios reporting?
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: 2xMSI Armor Rx 480 4 gb in Crossfire X/ 1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  14. #14
    Godzilla to ant hills caddi daddi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    how about pulling the clock back to 4.0 @1.35 vcore and seeing if it will boot please.
    Folding User Stats

  15. #15

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Check ram
    4670k @ 4.8ghz 1.45v
    Asus 950gtx 2gig + 225 GPU + 400 Mem
    Gigabyte z97x-ud3h-bk
    Hyper X 16gig 1600mhz
    Samsung 850 evo 500 gig
    Corsair TX750
    Define S
    Cooling = Heatkiller copper (CPU block) / 3x120 / 2x120 / DD TDX (on my gfx card) / D5 Pump / Bits power water tank-z

    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •