Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 109
  1. #1
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile

    ASUS Crosshair VI Hero BIOS Brick

    All, a bit of a PSA. I talked with Elmor over at OCN, and it looks like ASUS is having BIOS issues with their Crosshair VI Hero REV: 1.03.

    Reddit Ref thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...o_got_bricked/

    Possible Fix:



    My board has experienced this, and I will attempt the USB BIOS fix posted above. I'll let others know if it was successful or not.
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  2. Thanks!

    Kenrou (03-06-17), Mandrake4565 (03-06-17)

  3. #2
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    It's pretty much standard recovery procedure for all ROG boards for couple of years now but it just proves that something isn't right as nearly all users of CHVI that I know had issue with BIOS ( and it was also mentioned in some reviews after pushing memory above 3200 ). I have no idea if other ASUS boards also have these issues. After seeing all that and price difference I just got ASUS Prime X370 today and I just hope I won't kill it too fast

  4. Thanks!

    EarthDog (03-07-17)

  5. #3
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    Te only reason I want this is to test out the CPU with no issues with power. ASUS typically does very well with their power design and their BIOS options are many. Now, all these pretty lights and features are just "tax" now. Hopefully they come out with a only LN2 board.
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  6. #4
    ~MadHatDeLidder~ ShrimpBrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Live near Chicago Illinois
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    FTW. The original bios file for that board that it was purchased and ran with the first time, is on the Motherboard disk that came in the box.

    You should be able to post from disk if you can post from USB. Bios recovery will boot/post first.
    RyZen Build ~

    RyZen 7 1700
    AsRock Fatal1ty X370

  7. #5
    Member
    cdawall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    cypress, tx
    Benching Profile
    Just a heads up that did not work for mine. That was the first thing I tried and I tried 3 different bios's
    Project Heat: Dual AMD Opty ES 12 cores@4.6ghz, Supermicro H8DGi-F, 64GB DDR3 ECC, 2xSapphire 7950's, 2x120GB SSD raid 0, LianLi rocketfish, Antec TPQ-1200, 7P
    Gamer: i7 6850K@4.54, Asus X99-M WS, 32GB DDR4@3200CL16, (2) Sapphire RX480 8GB@1480/2250, SM951 512GB NVMe, Air240, Seasonic Snow Silent 750w, 10P
    Server: Xeon 2683v4 ES, Asrock EPC612D4l, 32gb DDR4, 256GB M550 SSD, 10x2TB Seagate Constellation ES@Raid50, Lianli PC-Q26, Antec TPQ-850, 2012R2STD
    HTPC: i7 6700T, MSI H170l, 16GB DDR4, SM951 128GB NVMe, Intel 7260AC, Antec isk 110 VESA, Antec (FSP) 90w brick, 10P

  8. Thanks!

    EarthDog (03-07-17)

  9. #6
    ~MadHatDeLidder~ ShrimpBrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Live near Chicago Illinois
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Yea, been reading problems here and there with the Crosshair. But we all knew that first release is buggy. XD
    RyZen Build ~

    RyZen 7 1700
    AsRock Fatal1ty X370

  10. #7
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
    All, a bit of a PSA. I talked with Elmor over at OCN, and it looks like ASUS is having BIOS issues with their Crosshair VI Hero REV: 1.03.

    Reddit Ref thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...o_got_bricked/

    Possible Fix:



    My board has experienced this, and I will attempt the USB BIOS fix posted above. I'll let others know if it was successful or not.
    I posted that for you in the discussion thread yesterday Dolk, that's how I recovered my board 3 times.

    Quote Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime View Post
    FTW. The original bios file for that board that it was purchased and ran with the first time, is on the Motherboard disk that came in the box.

    You should be able to post from disk if you can post from USB. Bios recovery will boot/post first.
    The flashback doesn't post the system. It bypasses even the CPU and deals directly with the BIOS chip. If you can get power then you can get the flashback feature to function.... well most of the time. as I said to cdawall yesterday I have had BN ASUS boards where this option never functioned right out of the box. But I check it on every board since it has saved me numerous times

  11. Thanks!

    EarthDog (03-07-17)

  12. #8
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    Thank Johan!

    I saw that comment after I posted this. I've been pretty busy so I haven't been able to keep up with the RyZen threads as much. Figured this could use its own thread as I bet there will be more issues soon.
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  13. #9
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    On the previous boards I had that only when I was pushing memory or bclk too hard but I saw some single comments it happened on CHVI even on stock memory settings so something is clearly wrong. I had no issues like that for like 2 intel chipset generations. That BIOS Flashback is a great thing and is much better than any dual bios option.
    I got ASUS Prime just because it was cheaper and will be easier to sell later while many options and features are the same as on Hero. There are single things which I may miss like this bios recovery, maybe additional bios versions and diagnostic LEDs. I just hope it won't be much worse than Hero but I'm counting there will be something better designed for overclockers in some time. I just doubt we will see something like APEX anytime soon considering that ASUS has released "all" 4 boards so far.

    So have you checked that recovery option ?

  14. #10
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    Can't, at big boy job. Have to have my blue hat on even though I work with Altera parts
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  15. #11
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    Several attempts later... no luck
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  16. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    So... the day i got the board, it refused to post until i updated to 702. It worked fine for a few days. I got home from work today and it wouldnt resume from sleep. Tried a few reboots, but couldnt get it to post and started getting the 90 Qcode. Flashed 803, still stuck with the 90 qcode. Flashed back to 702 to try and fix it... still stuck.

    I've tried CMOS resets, removing and reseating all the ram in all sorts of configs, but it just refuses to post and get past the 90 code.


    It's fair to say, I'm regretting this board. That's further exacerbated by the fact that i can't find any Aorus boards in stock anywhere...

  17. #13
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Well, time to add me to the list Dolk. Last night went down for the last time. Now it's all lit up but no life when I hit the power button. Not even a flicker. I let it sit overnight no power connected to the board and battery pulled and still nothing when I tried this morning.

  18. #14
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Semi-off topic: anyone know if this issue is effecting other Asus boards, or merely the CHVI?

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  19. #15
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    Semi-off topic: anyone know if this issue is effecting other Asus boards, or merely the CHVI?

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    Couldn't tell ya, I think the CHVI was the more popular choice and distributed for reviews so there's a much larger sample out in the wild.

  20. #16
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post
    Couldn't tell ya, I think the CHVI was the more popular choice and distributed for reviews so there's a much larger sample out in the wild.
    Yeah, I was gathering that as well. The x370 prime should start appearing, looks like microcenter (Denver) is finally stocking em, as well as Newegg. Hopefully there will be enough out there before the weekend after next so I can make a buying decision. Got a bunch of midterms this week and next, but then I want to be building my system

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  21. #17
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    Elmor has no idea what is going on with the boards. Clearly something went belly up at the factory. What may be worse is that they do a total recall or something of that nature. The OCN thread is popping up with people left and right with the same issue. No one seems to be safe.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/r...#post_25900505
    Last edited by Dolk; 03-07-17 at 08:21 AM.
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    be proud of the pink stars
    Last AMD Fanboy for Life
    ky = vaseline


  22. #18
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    I was just saying to E_D after mine took a nose dive, there has to be something up when looking just at OCF. Such a small sample size of AMD adopters in the first place and 3 of us have had the same problem. Not a coincidence

  23. #19
    I had the "brick" problem (RGB LEDs and CPU LED green but no other activity) right from the start. Turns out it was a cooler mount problem. The instructions from EK regarding AMD installs say to keep the center section of the rubber gasket intact, but for some users that causes boot problems (yes I was using the new AM4 kit from them). I removed that center section and got my board to boot. I had a bad CPU too ("8" code) but when I replaced that yesterday it booted fine.
    inFEKshun // Thermaltake Core P5 Green Edition ATX Case // Seasonic Platinum SS-660XP2 660W PSU // AMD Ryzen R7 1700 AM4 CPU // ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370 ATX MB // G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR 2x8GB DDR4 RAM // EVGA GTX 1080 FTW Hydro Copper 8GB PCIe GPU // Samsung 960 Pro 2TB M.2 NVMe SSD // Toshiba X300 4TB 7,200 RPM SATA HDD // Thermaltake Pacific RL480 Radiator // Eight Thermaltake Riing 12 LED Fans // Thermaltake Pacific PR22-D5 Silent Reservoir/Pump Combo // EK-Supremacy EVO Copper+Acetal CPU Block // Eight EK-ACF 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Black Compression Fittings // PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Crystal Clear Tubing // Thermaltake 1000 UV Green Coolant // Acer XB270HU bprz 27" 2560x1440 144 Hz IPS G-Sync Gaming Monitor // Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB USB Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown Switches) // Corsair Gaming SABRE RGB Optical USB Mouse // Corsair Gaming VOID RGB 7.1 HD USB Headset // Corsair Gaming MM400 Compact High Speed Mouse Mat // Build Log
    Current Speeds using 1002 BIOS -- CPU: 3800MHz (38.00 x 100MHz) at 1.351v, RAM: 3200 (DDR4-3200 setting x 100MHz) 14-14-14-14-34-1T at 1.351v, GPU: 1721/1860/2113 Core 5300 Memory
    Former Project: RED Glare Build Log

  24. #20
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Pretty sure this isn't related to cooler issues, My Noctua uses the AMD backplate and I was running. It just decided it didn't want to any longer.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •