• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Are my temps in the safe zone?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Projekt Azure

Registered
Fx 6300 running at 4.3 GHz ia sitting at 57c (package) and 77-78c TMPIN1 which I'm pretty sure is socket temp. Using CPUID HWMonitor for temps. Am I in a safe zone? I'm new to overclocking so I'm trying to learn as I go.

I would say you're slightly over. General rule of thumb that I use is 63c Core temp and 75c package temp. Something you should be able to to is put some spt fans directly on your VRM heatsink (assuming you have one) like this.

20130623_133904.jpg

Here I used a pair of 80mm fans and just attached them with non-steel core bread ties. I've seen people use 2 sided tape also. Works great and should get you to a better temp.

Edit: They might even be 60mm fans. It's been awhile.

If those are Idle thats not good sign. What kind of cooling you have any fans?

Then those are not bad but still some VRM cooling wont hurt. I would do as Blaylock said or upgrade case cooling if you don't have any or both

Honestly part of the problem you're having is the fact that you paired an MSI 970 up with an AMD FX6xxx. The FX 6 & 8's are notoriously thirsty and the MSI 970 is a known under performer as far as power delivery goes. In fact if you look at the image closely you'll notice it's the exact same thing I did. :shrug:

Thanks for the info guys. I'll look into some more fans or possibly a different motherboard all together. I'd rather buy a new one than cause serious heat damage