Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA

    Win 10 updates messing with mouse wheel scrolling?

    I bought an Amazon wireless mouse a week or so ago and soon after that I would lose scroll wheel function at times in my browsing. So I switched to another brand of wireless mouse I had laying around but still having the problem. I will lose scroll wheel function in the current tab but if I switch to another open tab it works fine. If I close the tab I'm having a problem with and reopen that same web page in a new tab it works again for awhile. This happens on two different computers and it happens both in Chrome and Opera. It happens mostly when I'm browsing in OC Forums but I can't say it hasn't happened with other web sites but I'm not sure it has either. Both computers I've experienced this problem with have Windows 10 installed.

    Has anyone else experienced this on this forum of late? Can't decide if it's a driver problem or an OS problem. Any ideas?
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  2. #2
    Member Alaric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    US
    My first thought would be the USB port and mouse Properties dialog windows to uncheck "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power". Just in case. I'm amazed by how many things Windows wants to turn off to save power.
    Intel i7-6700K@ 4600 MHz @1.380v
    Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7
    GSkill TridentZ 16 GB DDR4@ 3000MHz 14-14-14-34
    Galax GTX 1070 HOF w/Limited Edition BIOS
    Deepcool Captain 360 AIO
    Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500 GB Win 7 Pro x64
    Adata SP550 SSD Win 10 Pro x64 (it's a commie plot)
    WD Blue HDD 4 TB. Really. It works. :)
    Phanteks Enthoo Luxe (white)
    EVGA Supernova 550 G2
    Hauppauge Quad TV tuner with Media Center!

  3. #3
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    But I don't lose mouse function altogether, just the scroll wheel function. I can still move the cursor, click the buttons and everything else.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Mine does the same thing. I'll be on twitter looking at a picture that i opened and then suddenly my scroll wont work. I have to close out the tab and reopen it for it to work again. My mouse isn't wireless.

  5. #5
    Member
    Robert17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Same here, only it only occurs while at OCF. Been wondering if there's a site bug. Couldn't get OCF to open in Google or Edge at all one day last week. ??????
    Main rig: MSI Z97 Krait||Intel i7-4770K @4.3Ghz ||Corsair H100i
    EVGA SuperNova 750W G3||G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400) x16GB||Toshiba RD400 256GB
    Seagate 1Tb F1 7200 32Mb||MSI GTX1070 Seahawk
    NZXT Phantom Black||fans 7x120,||Asus VN247H-P||WinTen Pro 64-bit
    Folding User Stats
    Installing an AIO to R9 290x via Kraken mount Here
    Annular cutting of sheet metal here
    Lubricating a keyboard here

  6. #6
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    It just happened to me while browsing NewEgg so it's not an OC Forums site bug. I think I need to try a Microsoft mouse to make sure it's not a driver issue with Logitech brand mice. The Amazon basic mouse might be made by Logitech according my research and the only other mouse I have tried is a Logitech brand.
    Last edited by trents; 04-17-17 at 02:18 PM.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  7. #7
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    If you update to the latest Windows 10 driver by going to your mouse's official Logitech web page, does the problem persist?
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  8. #8
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    If you update to the latest Windows 10 driver by going to your mouse's official Logitech web page, does the problem persist?
    I already checked that out. There are no logitech mouse drivers per se. Just software that allows you to customize button functions, etc. which seem to cause there own issues according to my research. Even if there were, Windows 10 would kick them out and replace them with the next round of Microsoft updates.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  9. #9
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    You must install Logitech Gaming Software.
    Yes it (also) allows for customization of the mouse, but the drivers it contains will resolve your problem with 99% certainty.
    Download them from the official Logitech page only, not from anywhere else.

    Allow it to insert itself to start at every Windows 10 boot.

    Logitech Gaming Software controls customization of every button, even the scroll.
    I custom set scroll *click* to the keyboard [Enter] function for faster paste/enter operations. But that's my individual choice, you can leave everything at defaults, but Logitech Gaming Software must run so you can avoid these problems.

    By naming it Logitech "Gaming Software" - they directly implied this software to be unnecessary for Office use, but all kinds of problems persist until it is installed.
    Last edited by c627627; 04-17-17 at 01:56 PM.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  10. #10
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    You must install Logitech Gaming Software.
    Yes it (also) allows for customization of the mouse, but the drivers it contains will resolve your problem with 99% certainty.
    Download them from the official Logitech page only, not from anywhere else.

    Allow it to insert itself to start at every Windows 10 boot.

    Logitech Gaming Software controls customization of every button, even the scroll.
    I custom set scroll *click* to the keyboard [Enter] function for faster paste/enter operations. But that's my individual choice, you can leave everything at defaults, but Logitech Gaming Software must run so you can avoid these problems.

    By naming it Logitech "Gaming Software" - they directly implied this software to be unnecessary for Office use, but all kinds of problems persist until it is installed.
    Okay, I installed the Gaming Software. It loads on Windows startup. We'll see if it helps. Thanks for the tip.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  11. #11
    Member Alaric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    US
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    You must install Logitech Gaming Software.
    Yes it (also) allows for customization of the mouse, but the drivers it contains will resolve your problem with 99% certainty.
    Download them from the official Logitech page only, not from anywhere else.

    Allow it to insert itself to start at every Windows 10 boot.

    Logitech Gaming Software controls customization of every button, even the scroll.
    I custom set scroll *click* to the keyboard [Enter] function for faster paste/enter operations. But that's my individual choice, you can leave everything at defaults, but Logitech Gaming Software must run so you can avoid these problems.

    By naming it Logitech "Gaming Software" - they directly implied this software to be unnecessary for Office use, but all kinds of problems persist until it is installed.
    I hadn't remembered that. I've had it installed since I got my joystick and it did solve a multitude of problems with my mouse and keyboard. Good call!
    Intel i7-6700K@ 4600 MHz @1.380v
    Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7
    GSkill TridentZ 16 GB DDR4@ 3000MHz 14-14-14-34
    Galax GTX 1070 HOF w/Limited Edition BIOS
    Deepcool Captain 360 AIO
    Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500 GB Win 7 Pro x64
    Adata SP550 SSD Win 10 Pro x64 (it's a commie plot)
    WD Blue HDD 4 TB. Really. It works. :)
    Phanteks Enthoo Luxe (white)
    EVGA Supernova 550 G2
    Hauppauge Quad TV tuner with Media Center!

  12. #12
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Didn't work, C6. Problem cropped up again after installing the gaming utility. I'm going with a Microsoft mouse right now and we'll see what happens.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  13. #13
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Having the latest Logitech drivers installed and an updated Windows 10 allows you to either call or open a case with Logitech about this, which I urge you to do.
    Last edited by c627627; 04-18-17 at 08:32 AM.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  14. #14
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    Having the latest Logitech drivers installed and an updated Windows 10 allows you to either call or open a case with Logitech about this, which I urge you to do.
    It's already done. Emailed logitech yesterday about this issue.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  15. #15
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    I have been corresponding with a Logitech support person via email for the last couple of days. No solutions yet. He asked me to disable Logitech Intellipoint but I don't even have that installed.

    So far I have been able to determine that the scroll wheel issue does not happen with Logitech mice in Linux and it does not happen in Windows when using a Microsoft mouse.

    And it does not happen with non browser apps.

    It does happen only with Logitech mice in Windows and is not limited to a specific browser or a specific web site.

    Neither is this problem limited to a particular Logitech mouse model as the same problem surfaces with both my Logitech M185 and my M315 . . . and with my new Amazon basic mouse which I'm guessing is made by Logitech.

    Since it happens in both Opera and Chrome I doubt it it's related to a plugin.
    Last edited by trents; 04-19-17 at 01:22 PM.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  16. #16
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Another tip: make sure no other/previous mouseware software is installed on the system at all.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  17. #17
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    I have never installed any mouse software on my system until the other day when you suggested installing the Logitech Gaming software. I have always just relied on the built-in Windows drivers and never had a problem until a few days ago.
    CPU: i5-7600k@4.8ghz
    Motherboard: ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
    Cooler: Custom loop with Swiftech MCP50X pump, EK-Spremacy Evo block, Koolance 360x29mm 30 fins per in. radiator, 38x120mm 4000rpm Delta fans on Sunbeam Rheobus Extreme fan speed controller
    RAM: 2x8 gb Crucial 2400 Ballistic DDR4
    GPU: XFX Rx480 8gb/1080p Asus monitor
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1tb spinner
    OS: Windows 10

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me." John 14:6

  18. #18
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Friendly suggestion: edit post#1 content/title to include Logitech mouse model.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Just gonna throw it out there that i am also using a Logitech mouse. I also have the software running all the time and the problem persists. I'm thinking it must be the last batch of Windows updates that fubar'd everything because it just started happening recently.

  20. #20
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Oh yes that certainly would be a likely culprit.

    It happened before:

    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    There is certainly plenty to say about the new version.
    It's difficult to avoid it since Windows 10 updates cannot be applied selectively, easily.

    The Anniversary Update immediately hosed my expensive HD web cam, and I immediately found out that the Anniversary Update broke millions of cameras out there too.
    Logitech says
    Thank you for your inquiry. We are sorry that you're experiencing an issue with your Logitech webcam.
    We have discovered that this is linked to a change Microsoft made in the Windows 10 Anniversary Edition where support of compressed MJPG and H.264 streams for webcams was dropped.
    Microsoft is working on an update to address the issue, but at this time we do not have an estimate for when it will be available.



    It's pretty incredible that since Windows 10 Anniversary Update was released to the public on August 2, 2016, this major bug has not been fixed, and here we are in mid October 2016. Windows 10 still doesn't have an official fix for the web cams it hosed, millions and millions of them...

    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •