Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 39
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017

    Which RAM to use with Ryzen?

    So, as title says, I am interested in purchasing an Ryzen R5 1600 from either computeruniverse.de or alzashop.com as they come out cheaper than purchasing in my country. I am trying to pair up an 2x8GB ram of some sort not over 150€. Problem is, I cannot find any darn QVL RAM of 3000MHz speeds for either Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 or MSI B350 Tomahawk which are both on discount at local shop! Could anyone please advise me what should I do? Last thing which I want is to purchase a non-compatible RAM that would slack and only cause problems.

    I got my eyes on https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...-kit-2x8gb.asp...
    And this kit https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...gb-ddr4-k2.asp...
    But as I am unable to find them on QVL, nor I can find any single-sided RAM for similar price I am getting headache from this.
    Last edited by Thronius; 04-18-17 at 07:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Haven't looked at the link, but for now, I recommend against gskill aegis kits. Mine is not happy over 2133 at the moment... The last few bios updates made the kit very unstable @ 2933 on my board. Then again you milage may vary.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    Haven't looked at the link, but for now, I recommend against gskill aegis kits. Mine is not happy over 2133 at the moment... The last few bios updates made the kit very unstable @ 2933 on my board. Then again you milage may vary.
    What do you think about G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB DDR4 K2 3000 CL15? I am really interested into purchasing that kit however concerned about problems like you have.

  4. #4
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    Everything up to 2666 should work.
    At 3000+ will work single rank memory kits so generally all at 3000 cl14 or 3200 cl14/15 but these kits are expensive. I mean something like G.Skill Trident Z or Ripjaws V.
    Memory kits which are designed for Ryzen will work too but from these series are only G.Skill Flare X and Fortis.

    From other series no one will guarantee that memory will work. Corsair has mixed kits, various IC and single or dual rank modules. The same Team Group, Kingston, ADATA, Avexir etc. Crucial 3200+ kits are single rank. 3000 are single or dual rank.
    New G.Skill Ripjaws V and Trident Z batches can be on Hynix IC. New Hynix 8GB modules should be single rank but hard to say.
    Corsair Vengeance can be on anything.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Woomack View Post
    your links are not working ...
    Everything up to 2666 should work.
    At 3000+ will work single rank memory kits so generally all at 3000 cl14 or 3200 cl14/15 but these kits are expensive. I mean something like G.Skill Trident Z or Ripjaws V.
    Memory kits which are designed for Ryzen will work too but from these series are only G.Skill Flare X and Fortis.
    I've fixed the links. The one from the bottom link, G.Skill I guess is not single sided.
    If I still go for it, would there be any chance to get it running up to its full speed of 3000 with BIOS updates?
    I am unable to find any single rank memory thats over 2666 for my price range, should I maybe go for that rather?
    (The single rank memory I've found https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...b-ddr4-kit.asp)

  6. #6
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    So far all my memory kits were working up to 2666. However only 2x single rank were working at 3200.
    Ballistix Sport LT are based on new Micron IC. There is high chance that 2x8GB kit will be on single rank modules but this memory can have problems to run at 3000+ because of Micron IC.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Woomack View Post
    So far all my memory kits were working up to 2666. However only 2x single rank were working at 3200.
    Ballistix Sport LT are based on new Micron IC. There is high chance that 2x8GB kit will be on single rank modules but this memory can have problems to run at 3000+ because of Micron IC.
    Is there a chance this Trident Z is using Samsung die?
    https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...16gtzb-kit.asp
    Also I've found https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...16gtzb-kit.asp
    But if I am about to gamble, I think the top one would be worth taking a shot over Ripjaws, correct? I'd just love to reach 3000.

  8. #8
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Judging by the price and comparing to what I know are Samsung it looks unlikely. Any samsung kits I found on that site were +€200

  9. #9
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    something like 3000-3466 15-16-16, 16-16-16 and 16-18-18 can be everything
    something like 3000-3200 14-14-14 and 15-15-15 is probably Samsung single rank
    everything 3600+ will be single rank Samsung as no other 8GB modules are in mass sales at this frequency

    above fits for 2x8GB or 4x8GB kits, at least in most cases

    3000 15-16-16 or 3200 16-18-18 can be Samsung but it can be dual rank too. New Trident Z/RGB at these timings can be also Hynix.

  10. #10
    Member ITAngel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Casper WY
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I have been using Dominator® Platinum Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 Memory Kit (CMD16GX4M2B3200C16). I can get upto 2667Mhz. I am planning on getting a second set of this ram to run them at 2400Mhz on all sticks. I am running this on a Ryzen 1700 with a ASUS CROSSHAIR VI HERO AM4 motherboard. I run at stock 2133Mhz by default at the moment so no issues here yet that I have notice.
    Studio PC - Cubase 8 Machine
    CPU: AMD Ryzen R7 1700 |RAM: Corsair Dominator platinum DDR4 3200Mhz 16GB |MOBO: ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero |FANS: 6x Nidec Servo GentleTyphoon 120mm 2150 RPM PWM VIDEO: GALAX GTX 1070 HOF 8GB |CASE: Phanteks Enthoo Pro Full Tower |HDD: 3TB Seagate |SSD: PNY XLR8 480GB CS2111 |PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 B1 |COOLER: Noctual NH-D15 |KEYBOARD & MOUSE: Logitech G710 & Logitech G9/G600 |AUDIO: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 |MONITOR: Dell UltraSharp U3011 30" IPS LCD FullHD

    My YouTube channels; BonkersIT, DJAngelicon, Chicomalo| Interested in Rocksmith?

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Woomack View Post
    something like 3000-3466 15-16-16, 16-16-16 and 16-18-18 can be everything
    something like 3000-3200 14-14-14 and 15-15-15 is probably Samsung single rank
    everything 3600+ will be single rank Samsung as no other 8GB modules are in mass sales at this frequency

    above fits for 2x8GB or 4x8GB kits, at least in most cases

    3000 15-16-16 or 3200 16-18-18 can be Samsung but it can be dual rank too. New Trident Z/RGB at these timings can be also Hynix.
    Is there any chance this RAM is Samsung single rank? https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...-16gvr-kit.asp
    It is 3000, 15-15-15-35-2N
    Even tho, it is not listen in any Ryzen Mobo QVL

  12. #12

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    I think I'll gamble with it, it has nice timings, I hope its single sided. I'll report back once it gets delivered with results

    I am planning on taking Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 rather than MSI at it seems everyone reports with Gigabyte they achieve better RAM speeds. Who knows, maybe I even manage to overclock a bit.

  14. #14
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    Edited my last post.
    I would get something X370. Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 is just right but there can be some problems. I had weirdly high vrm temps under load even though all was fully stable. I'm not sure what to think about it. Friend who got the same board had problems with Windows installation. Finally installed OS but let's say he wasn't happy about losing weekend on PC installation. I just don't think it's worth saving and better is to get lower X370 board from ASUS or ASRock.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Thank you for listing few, but yeah, they are highly expensive as of now, way out of my budget I have set for this upgrade.

    Yeah its fairly common with Gigabyte to have high VRM temps, its identical with my current Gigabyte-990XA-UD3, however, I do have a whole "setup" of small fans ready to cooldown VRMs if needed
    As I will do mostly gaming, I doubt I will need VRM cooling. And I have to say, RAM for Ryzen is really giving me headache.

  16. #16
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    My AB350 Gaming 3 was passing 100°C on vrm. I'm not sure if it's true reading as software is not always reading sensors right. However additional fans were not helping at all. At 1.43V temps were above 100°C and all was losing stability even though CPU temp was quite low. 1.43V was required to stabilize my 1700X at 4GHz. On ASUS X370 Prime there are no issues to pass 4GHz. Except that Gigabyte was working fine and I could set 2 memory kits at 3200 14-14-14 without issues.
    Just saying that so you won't say later that you could pick something else.

  17. #17
    G.Skill has a QVL list that you can look at for Flare X 3200 speed. LINK: https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14d-16gfx
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  18. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Hi there.
    I have a taichi with 1700. Havent found any samsung b-die single rank RAM on sale so just bough cheapest one. It happens to be samsung C-die (1GBx8).
    Just set timings to CL22 and choose 3200 - starting windows etc, but BSOD at any stress test. When increased DRAM voltage to 1.3V got it stable in tests on CL16.
    Got my CPU working at 3.9@1.35 vcore (all other voltage default, soc 0.9V), 4.0@1.375, 4.1@1.47.

    Now the problem: when im trying to get it work together... both CPU and RAM OCed - i have BSOD in any stress test. Even 3900 CPU + 3200RAM.
    Have tried Vcore up to 1.45 for 4.0 + SOC up to 1.1 + DRAM up to 1.39 + VTTDDR up to 0.7 + RAM timings up to CL24 with active time up to 56 clocks and still no any stability in stress tests.
    Is that coz of C-die RAM? Or what should i look for? How to make them works OCed together.

    And another question what max temps and voltages i need to look for 24@7 usage?

    PS where can i find full list of compatible memory which will work fine on my mobo? I have a friend with same mobo, he bough corsair RAM from mobo QVL list and it isnt going above 2400...

  19. #19
    Benching Team Leader
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    If you check most QVL lists then most memory kits which are there are not working at their rated speed.
    What matters is if memory is single rank or dual rank ( single or dual sided modules ). It doesn't matter on what IC is memory kit. There are IC which won't make 3200 regardless of module design but that's other thing. Most Samsung and Hynix single rank modules will work at 3200 ( matter of timings and voltage ).

    Samsung B is overclocking the best so all are talking about this IC but if you have Hynix AFR/MFR then in most cases will run at 3200 too.
    The only problem is that Ryzen has 5 timings in BIOS and no matter what you do, if memory has wrong sub timings for this platform then simply won't work as you wish.

    Other thing is that many new IC don't like CL above 21 and simply won't boot at higher CL. If memory won't run at anything like 17-20-20 at 3200 then it won't run at 3200 at all.
    To set 3200 all you need is correct VTT and VDIMM. Other voltages are barely affecting memory OC ( at least till 3200 ).

  20. #20
    Senior Member DaveB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Quote Originally Posted by Woomack View Post
    If you check most QVL lists then most memory kits which are there are not working at their rated speed.
    +1 on this. All that most of these QVLs do is ensure the memory will run at 2133. Even more annoying is that with a new BIOS, your specific RAM could run slower than it did previously. Having dealt with 4 different B350 and X370 motherboards and their BIOS updates, nothing is for guaranteed or permanent in the Ryzen ecosystem. I had motherboards in which the RAM was initially capped at 2400, then a BIOS updated got it to 2933, followed by a subsequent update that dropped it back to 2666. I really don't think any of the motherboard manufacturers have any clue how to configure their Ryzen BIOSes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Woomack View Post
    The only problem is that Ryzen has 5 timings in BIOS and no matter what you do, if memory has wrong sub timings for this platform then simply won't work as you wish.
    +1 on this also. This makes it impossible to enter timings manually, since you can't adjust most of them. I really would not recommend spending a lot of money on high-end RAM for a Ryzen rig at this point. I'm guessing that we'll have to wait for Ryzen specific memory modules, specifically programmed to work with the Ryzen internal timings and then most likely have to pay a premium for it.
    1. Xigmatek GIGAS mATX Case, HP IPIWB-PB X79 mATX, Corsair 750W Modular PSU, Xeon E5-1620 @ 4.4 GHz (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600 @ 1866, Sapphire HD 7950
    2. Corsair Carbide Clear 400C Case, Supermicro 665W PSU, ASRock AB350M Pro4, Ryzen 7 1600 @ 3.9 GHz (8C/16T), 16GB DDR4-3000 @ 2666, Asus GTX 1060 6GB
    3. Acer AS5750-9422 Laptop, 15.6", Core i7-2670QM (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, HD 3000 Graphics

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •