Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2002

    fbs overclocking

    first off, this is my first post to the boards so...hello!

    ive been reading about Athlon overclocking, and i notice that mostly everyone is intent on unlocking the chip to o/c it. i was just wondering if this is necessary. couldnt i just inrcrease my FSB to get a higher speed?

    thanks for all your help guys!

    :note, i meant to title this post FSB, not FBS

  2. #2
    Member Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Sedro Woolley, WA.
    Welcome to the forums! No it is not a requirement to unlock the chip to overclock it by raising the FSB speed. On AMD chips lots of people unlock and lower the multiplier so they can run much higher FSB speeds. Bear in mind that by raising the FSB it also raises the PCI and AGP speeds as well. Good luck and read up on all the great info oc.com has to offer and you'll be doing some serious overclocking in no time Warning overclocking is addictive!
    Randy

  3. #3
    Senior Member AKDUDE's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Yup what he said. I used my FSB to get my overclock, I am currently at 168 or something, but I could go much higher if my processor was not locked, as its hit the limit at 1.75 ghz.
    AKDUDE
    MSI Neo2 Opteron 165 280x9
    2x 1 gig DDR500 Gskill sticks
    BFG 6800 GT@ 415/1150 ddr
    2x250gig raid

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2002
    so if my cpu is unlocked, i can get higherspeed with a lower multiplier, which is better? cool!

    i've spent most of today looking at HSFs and the like. thanks!

  5. #5
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    Welcome To The Forums!!!!!

    .....and to the addiction


    Click on the links above to give you a good idea about the basics. Enjoy
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  6. #6
    Senior Member AKDUDE's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Basically, to sum it up, you want to get the highest overclock of the processor and the highest FSB you can get thats stable by juggling around with the multiplier and FSB speeds.

    Thats the whole goal
    Some applications love memory bandwidth, others like a high speed processor, or both.
    AKDUDE

    Originally posted by DrXsmurF
    so if my cpu is unlocked, i can get higherspeed with a lower multiplier, which is better? cool!

    i've spent most of today looking at HSFs and the like. thanks!
    MSI Neo2 Opteron 165 280x9
    2x 1 gig DDR500 Gskill sticks
    BFG 6800 GT@ 415/1150 ddr
    2x250gig raid

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2002
    thanks for the warm welcome and the advice. i'm on my way to being addicted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •