Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002

    k7t266 pro2 and pc2700

    I want to make sure some samsung pc2700 ram will be supported by the msi k7t266 pro2 (based on the 266a chip).

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    perth, Australia
    it will run fine
    it will run at pc2100 speeds unless you overclock it however

  3. #3
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001

    Re: k7t266 pro2 and pc2700

    Originally posted by kimfong
    I want to make sure some samsung pc2700 ram will be supported by the msi k7t266 pro2 (based on the 266a chip).
    Techncially speaking the Via 266a chipset does not support PC2700 DDR Memory however some motherboards featuring this chipset can reach the speeds that require this type of memory. The question therefore should be can your components, mobo and system obtain the 166 mhz FSB that requires PC2700 memory.
    Its also worth remembering that some people including myself have obtained these kinds of FSB speeds using PC2100 on 266a chipset mobos
    Last edited by UnseenMenace; 05-18-02 at 03:19 AM.
    one M15x is never enough

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    I'm getting only 138fsb @ cas2, about 141fsb@cas 2.5 on my amd 1700+, unlocked and multiplier at 12. (some hyundau pc2100)
    I'm getting pc2700 because I do not want to gamble and its difficult to find crucial ram here in Australia. also its gonna be samsung, so leaves me a lil' room if i upgrade in the next few months.

  5. #5
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Have you tried dropping the multiplier a little more? if so then I would consider that it could be some other item of hardware that is possibly holding you back or poor voltages, have you tried removing all the cards other than those required to run the system.. IE remove the soundcard, modem, network card etc and see if you can get any higher then.
    My 266a mobo system for example would not be stable above 160 mhz FSB untill I removed the Sound card
    one M15x is never enough

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    perth, Australia
    im in Oz too
    crucial isnt easy to find but its here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •