Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: video bios????

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Joplin Mo, Usa
    Posts
    773

    video bios????

    is it possible to enter the bios on a vid card

    i have a geforce2 mx400
    -GigaByte-Z68X-UD4-B3
    -I5 2500K
    -EVGA GTX 570
    -Raptors 4GbX2

    My Heatware

  2. #2
    Member o770's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3,000
    yes, it is possible but you need to save it as a file first, then to open the file using some bios editor. anything you change you will need to reflash the video card with the newer modified file so the change can take effect.

  3. #3
    Member ninthebin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    2,818
    if that doesnt sound like the dodgiest thing ever...

    if theres one more thing for me to do and brake in my pc, that would be it...

  4. #4
    Member o770's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3,000
    unlike the mainboard bios, i think the video bios should only be modified and flashed in the case there is a problem you cant fix by another way.

  5. #5
    Disabled Pinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Narf City, USA
    Posts
    6,032
    Originally posted by oTTO
    unlike the mainboard bios, i think the video bios should only be modified and flashed in the case there is a problem you cant fix by another way.
    But, unlike most motherboard bios, if you slap a PCI vid card for booting up, you can always reflash the backup/unaltered version you made and be right back up and running (assuming your mistake didn't damage a component ).

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Joplin Mo, Usa
    Posts
    773
    do i get the bios as an image file
    -GigaByte-Z68X-UD4-B3
    -I5 2500K
    -EVGA GTX 570
    -Raptors 4GbX2

    My Heatware

  7. #7
    Disabled Pinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Narf City, USA
    Posts
    6,032
    Originally posted by Mhypertext
    do i get the bios as an image file
    Something like that, I personally have never done it, only read about it... ask silversinksam, a moderator here, he has some experience with video card bios files

  8. #8
    Member takiwa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,892
    Mhypertext, here's what you do.

    Download the nVidia BIOS Editor.

    Go here for a list of several different BIOS's, or load your own from memory (the editor does this for you)

    Change what you want changed (signon, font, clk/mem timings, etc.), and save the file as a .ROM

    Download the nVFlash Utility.

    Move the nVFlash utility and the .rom file to your root drive (C:/)

    Reboot to DOS mode, and type c:/nvflash ***.rom (where *** is the name of your .rom file)

    Simple, huh?

  9. #9
    Member o770's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3,000
    id recommend you to save your original bios first, you can do that using the program SAVEBIOS ("make dump" in the ray adams download section).
    also you should get the program VGABIOS, this will load the newer bios first so you can check for any compatibility issue. id say this one is a must.

    if youre interested on reading some information about editing the video bios, there is an article here.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Harford, WI.
    Posts
    1,807
    I have never edited a video card bios. But I have flashed it numerous time's. I have also flashed with a wrong bios as well. But was able to recover from it. It's really not much different then flashing the bios on a motherboard.

  11. #11
    Mysteriously Changing Senior Bender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    In Thelemac's Basement Eating the Chickens
    Posts
    2,808
    By the way if your looking for video bioses and flash programs check out www.aoafiles.com. They have an Nvidia and ATI video bios editor as well as a few roms.
    Abit IP35-E
    Q6600 @ 4GHz or bust
    Phase Change Cooling by me
    2GB Crucial Ballistix
    ATI X1650
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB
    SilverStone Zeus ST56ZF 560w
    Soyo 24" LCD

  12. #12
    Member Kakao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    371
    I had good results just flashing my card's bios with the newest version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •