Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member CalsonicGTR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Illinois

    flashing bios of kt7a

    i just downloaded the latest bios for the KT7-A. how do i flash the bios?
    If you want to build something thatís never been built before, you may have to knock down a wall or two.

    Main System:
    ---------------------
    Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz - AsRock Z68 Pro3-M - 8GB Corsair XMS3 - Procolor 6950 2GB - Corsair HX520 PSU - Crucial M4 128GB/WD Black 750GB

    HTPC:
    ---------------------
    Core i3 2100 - Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 - 8GB Corsair XMS3 - Corsair CX430 PSU - Crucial M4 64GB/Seagate Green 2TB - Ceton Quad Cablecard Tuner

    My Heatware

  2. #2
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    Have you tried reading the manual?
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  3. #3
    Senior Member shadowdr's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    nashville, tennesse U.S.A.
    go here .it tells you all you need to know,and is much easier than the way the manual says to do it.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
    I5 4690K
    2x2 gig Patriot 2x4 gig Ripjaws@ 8-8-8-24
    2x 128 Crucial M4 SSD for OS and one for Programs
    2x 640 WD Blacks for storage
    Rosewill Blackhawk case and Antec 750 New PS
    Corsair H100I cooling
    XFX 290
    JVC 32 inch LCD TV
    Windows 7 Pro X64

    Heat

  4. #4
    Member thefly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    here is what I do.

    step 1. Reconfigure all overclocks back to default settings.
    step 2. hardboot system so it's clean.
    step 3. sys a diskette
    step 4. boot machine with the boot disk you just created. (no tsr programs or another things being loaded. 100% clean boot disk.
    step 5. run the flash from the harddrive or floppy doesn't matter.
    step 6. power down machine. Unplug machine and reset cmos jumper on motherboard. wait 1 min.

    step 7. set cmos jumper to correct setting, replug machine. fire up machine.


    in between step 4 and 5, offer prayer to the motherboard gods. Peak out window for possible thunderstorms or other electrical interuptions. Cross figures.
    I5 W7 8 Gigs ram.
    Msi Cyclone 460 1024.
    Intel SSd 80g
    2405 fpw

  5. #5
    Registered gotey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    State of Confusion

    here is how I flash my bios

    follow this...should work no problems. I tried to put it in understandable order and words

    Steps for flashing Bios

    1- download the Bios from Abit website to a new folder on your hard drive ( it will be in .exe format)
    2-double click the file you just downloaded. A dos box will open saying inflating files.
    3-look to the folder that you downloaded the bios to. Now there will be 5 more files
    4- move those files to a formatted floppy disk
    5-Restart the computer
    6-Get your computer to show the command promp screen (safe mode screen)with the DOS diskette in the floppy drive
    7-At the A: prompt, type DIR to check the files on the floppy disk. Assuming all the files in Item 1 of this list are present, go to the next step
    8-At the A: prompt type runme.bat
    9-The utility will ask you to confirm a number of things, and will then automatically flash the BIOS with the correct parameters. Once it has finished go to the next step.
    10-Press F1 to reset, then immediately press DEL to go into BIOS, then please:
    11-Go into CPU SoftMenuIII to adjust your CPU speed and voltage (please make sure the CPU voltage matches your CPU specs)
    12-The Bios will be in a defualt setting mode.go to "load optimized defualts" and load them. Then,go thru each menu and change the desired settings.
    13-Save and Exit
    You're done.

  6. #6
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    Great guides by everyone here So did you get to FLASH your BIOS or is it dead right now?

    If your still a little unsure then here is what I do after downloading the BIOS rev. from ABIT & opening it in a folder;
    • Make a bootable floppy by c:\ format a: /s(that's in DOS)
    • Copy the AwdFlash, the .bin file(BIOS), Abitfae & the Runme(you don't need all that but just to be sure)
    • Shut Down & then clear your CMOS
    • Enter the BIOS & make sure everything is set to default & set your floppy as 1st boot device
    • A:\AWDFLASH
    • KT7_7N.BIN(in the awdflash screen)
    • Hope you don't get a power failure while your waiting for it to finnish
    • Reboot & enter the BIOS, set everything to default then save & exit. All done.
    NEVER SWITCH YOUR SYSTEM OFF AFTER YOU FLASH. Just so that if you need to do a recovery you can
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •