Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Uhh, guys, is this normal?

    I've had my K6-2+ 600 folding protein AG29A for 24 hours, and I'm 25 percent done. Four days? I know it isn't a speed demon, but they said 24 hours a work unit for a 400 MHz P-3. I only have 64 megs of memory, and it's running Win2K pro. Would more memory help? Could the 1 meg PCI video card be slowing it down?
    Not really a repo man.

  2. #2
    Member KFB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    CA
    that sounds about right for the behemoth ag29a work unit. but, if you are running the graphical client then i would think the 1MB vidcard is not helping things. try the text-only console client version. it should help at least a little bit.
    "It's amazing what can be done with telephones and faxes..."
    George W. Bush

  3. #3
    Ok, that sounds good. I assume I need to wait until this one is done to go to the other software?
    Not really a repo man.

  4. #4
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Originally posted by repo man11
    Ok, that sounds good. I assume I need to wait until this one is done to go to the other software?
    Thats probably safer.

    As long as you keep the window minimised it shouldn't affect folding.
    K6-2s are very poor folders. My Dads K6-2-250 took 2 days to do a NativeBBA5.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Repo man, do you have fold monitor?

  6. #6
    Member JetMech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Folding 24/7 in Newport News, Va. Since Sept. 2001
    There are so many things holding that comp back. Off chip L2 cache at whatever speed, poor fpu, low memory with hungry OS. I believe you have nine days to finish that WU. Also if you are using cycles the client has to wait. There is really not enough information to give you an accurate answer. Fold Monitor or EMIII will give you a pretty good picture of what's happening as long as the slowdown is not coming from the client waiting for cycles, in which case the monitors will not be accurate either. Just do what you can until you can upgrade. I thought Stanford had stopped assigning monster work units to challengable CPUs.
    Fold Smart
    E6600@2.4x2
    Proud member of Folding@Home Team #32--Folding 24/7
    Avatar by : IMOG
    "Greater love hath no man than to give up his puter(s) for science."

  7. #7
    No, Matthew, I don't have fold monitor, I'lll get that when I go to the text only version.
    Actually JetMech, it is a plus series, so it has 128k on die L-2 cache. But it takes a hit because it is on a board with a mismatched BIOS (long story) so I did have to disable the onboard memcache to get it to work. Though it would actually be level 3 cache, it still helps.
    If I have 9 days, that will be plenty of time, it looks like it will take 4 to complete it. It is now 36/100.
    Anyone have some spare PC-100 for cheap? A 64 meg stick would double my folders memory.
    Not really a repo man.

  8. #8
    Member KFB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    CA
    Originally posted by repo man11
    Anyone have some spare PC-100 for cheap? A 64 meg stick would double my folders memory.
    the folding client speed doesn't improve with additional RAM. you might want the memory for another reason, but if you were hoping to improve F@H performance then don't worry about it.
    "It's amazing what can be done with telephones and faxes..."
    George W. Bush

  9. #9
    No, I was just hoping that it might make this thing fold faster. That is all this computer is for at this point.
    I'm going to be taking off for a couple of days. This program can dial up and transmit data on its own right? I have my dial up set to auto connect.
    Not really a repo man.

  10. #10
    Member KFB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    CA
    Originally posted by repo man11
    I'm going to be taking off for a couple of days. This program can dial up and transmit data on its own right? I have my dial up set to auto connect.
    it sure will, so long as your settings are set to 'no' for "Ask before connecting?"
    i am unfamiliar with the graphical client,but i think you can check it by looking at the client.cfg (use Notepad) file located in the F@H directory.
    "It's amazing what can be done with telephones and faxes..."
    George W. Bush

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •