Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84

    I just got my Thermaltake CRYSTAL ORB

    Im going to put in on my VIA333 Chipset (Epox 8k3a) and see if it helps out my FSB (right now 145 is bootable, but once in windows the computer doens't want to do any actual work).

    Has anyone else tried cooling the chipset, has it helped?


    if it doesn't do anything i just throw it on my GF4 and see if i can get a couple more frames on Soldier of fortune 2

  2. #2
    Member eXtraktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Gatineau, Quebec
    Posts
    786
    It cant do any harm thats for sure. I myself am looking in replacing that passive heatsink. Post some results when you install it.
    -AMD AthlonXP 2.1Ghz
    -Abit AT7 MAX2
    -512Mb OCZ PC3500
    -Western Digital 40gb 7200rpm
    -Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm (x2)
    -ATi Radeon 9700 Pro
    -Lite-On 16x DVD
    -Lite-On CD-RW 48/24/48
    -SB Live! Platinum
    -NEC MultiSync FE700+
    -WinXPpro

  3. #3
    Member Cown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    919
    I've been trying to oc my CPU but the max FSB i can get is 141 (This being 100% stable) Perhaps is i add a bigger cooler on the chipset i can oc more
    Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
    2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
    Lian-Li PC-A10B
    Corsair TX750W PSU
    Windows 8.1 64-bit


    Project: ROG meets Lian Li

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Wega!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denmark!
    Posts
    2,591

    Re: I just got my Thermaltake CRYSTAL ORB

    Originally posted by dizzy0113
    Im going to put in on my VIA333 Chipset (Epox 8k3a) and see if it helps out my FSB (right now 145 is bootable, but once in windows the computer doens't want to do any actual work).

    Has anyone else tried cooling the chipset, has it helped?


    if it doesn't do anything i just throw it on my GF4 and see if i can get a couple more frames on Soldier of fortune 2
    I don't think the Orb will help you much. The 8K3A is able to run at 200+MHz FSB with stock cooling. I really don't think it's your motherboard that's holding you back. What kind of RAM's do you have?
    You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
    You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
    You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
    You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
    You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

    In Trance we trust!

    Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
    Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.

  5. #5
    Member JokerHCG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    TN, USA
    Posts
    146
    You could make a heat spreader and attach it to the RAM but in regards to the chipset. You could just lap down the current heatsink and then add a small fan(attach it with silicone). You could also remove the fan from the Heatsink and use it to cool your hard drives or the back of your video card.

  6. #6
    Member The Spyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,319
    FYI the glue they use on the heatync now DOESNOT transfer HEAT- i pulled mine off cause it was always cold- then touched the chip *OUCH* HOT! Definatly put somethin else on there!
    SPyder

  7. #7
    Member masitti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,304
    Originally posted by The Spyder
    FYI the glue they use on the heatync now DOESNOT transfer HEAT- i pulled mine off cause it was always cold- then touched the chip *OUCH* HOT! Definatly put somethin else on there!
    SPyder
    Well, aparently GB did something correct. My Northbridge heatsink is nice and hot. Now that I think about it, lemme pop a fan on it. brb.

  8. #8
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84

    Re: Re: I just got my Thermaltake CRYSTAL ORB

    Originally posted by Walter:-)


    I don't think the Orb will help you much. The 8K3A is able to run at 200+MHz FSB with stock cooling. I really don't think it's your motherboard that's holding you back. What kind of RAM's do you have?
    My System:

    EPOX 8K3A
    2000XP (I will unlock it this weekend) w/Alpha 8045 with that loud 68.5 CFM Delta Fan
    2x256MB Crucial PC2100 w/ Thermaltake Heatsink on one side and Spreader on the other side
    VistionTek 4600
    Creative Soundblaster 5.1
    Case: 2 x 120MM Side fans blowing on CPU/AGP/PCIs + 80MM Exhust and 2 in PS

  9. #9
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84
    Originally posted by JokerHCG
    You could make a heat spreader and attach it to the RAM but in regards to the chipset. You could just lap down the current heatsink and then add a small fan(attach it with silicone). You could also remove the fan from the Heatsink and use it to cool your hard drives or the back of your video card.
    I just looked and my Epox board doesn't have pins to hold the heat sink on the VIA333, itís just stuck on there, so now I have to place another order at newegg and wait another week to get some Arctic Epoxy for the CORB. Oh well, Iím still unlocking it this weekend though!!!

  10. #10
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84
    Last message was supposed to correspond to:

    FYI the glue they use on the heatync now DOESNOT transfer HEAT- i pulled mine off cause it was always cold- then touched the chip *OUCH* HOT! Definatly put somethin else on there!
    SPyder

    oooops

  11. #11
    Member Cown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    919
    Ive just moded my chipset heatsink with the fan from my ram cooler. It runs at 6000 RPM... ive tryed oc but dosent do squat so i dont think the chipset has got much to do with oc
    Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
    2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
    Lian-Li PC-A10B
    Corsair TX750W PSU
    Windows 8.1 64-bit


    Project: ROG meets Lian Li

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    314
    lap the bottom of your orb, get all that chrome stuff off, since the things all copper you might as well have the chipset touch the copper itself

  13. #13
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84

    Arctic Silver Adhesive

    Has anyone used Arctic Silver Adhesive?

    What do you guys think about the double sided tape that came with the Corb, is it worth it to use the Arctic Silver Adhesive over the tape?

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    314
    i wouldn't use that stuff, they gave me the same stuff to use with my hardcanoe II to like stick the sensors under my CPU, and whaterver i wanna put the other one on..

  15. #15
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84
    Originally posted by Voodoo_fx
    i wouldn't use that stuff, they gave me the same stuff to use with my hardcanoe II to like stick the sensors under my CPU, and whaterver i wanna put the other one on..

    Wouldn't use the stuff that came with the corb or the Artic Silver Glue?

  16. #16
    Member masitti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,304
    Originally posted by dizzy0113



    Wouldn't use the stuff that came with the corb or the Artic Silver Glue?
    He probably means the stuff comes with the corb. I've never heard of Arctic Silver Glue either.

  17. #17
    Member RnPgrosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,134
    With the 8k3a+ and 8k3a you really need an unlocked cpu to get higher fsbs, more so than with other boards. Also if you are still using the old bios there is a bug, the fsb from somwhere in the 140s-160s will not boot or will cause problems. This could be holding you back.

  18. #18
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    WHAT!??!?!?! no holes on the epox 8k3a for mounting a chipset heatsink or waterblock?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  19. #19
    Registered dizzy0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    84
    http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...l_adhesive.htm


    I have the last BIOS from the epox website [March 28]


    I think I'm going to try the Arctic Silver epoxy $11.00 plus shipping from newegg. Maybe ill wait to hear from someone that has tried it already before I order it.

  20. #20
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    if you get that stuff on the traces your screwed, get artic alumina

    the epox board has the holes? i just looked at the pic at newegg, and it has holes for mounting heatsinks on it...
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •