Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered kevern1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    baltimore md

    adustment to PELTIER output?

    Correct me if I am wrong!
    but can you use a adjusable dc voltage supply
    say on a 226 w peltier and lower the voltage???
    Also does the amp draw of 26 amps stay constant
    no matter what the voltage? I am trying to shop around
    on ebay and electronic sites to find a inexpensive
    power supply for a 226W 12v 26amp peltier
    to experiment with on a old board & processor.
    Any suggestions?
    I have a good 300W sparkle supply out of old system
    but it is only rated @ 12 amps on the 12volt rail
    15a on 3.3rail 29a on 5v1.

    could this be used all by itself ????????????????

    Thanks
    Kevin

  2. #2
    Underwater Senior Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Amps drawn will drop along with the voltage, and it will work to adjust the temp of your TEC and cpu. I don't think the drop would be enough to allow you to use the Sparkle, though....sorry dude.
    I'm not versed enough to quote what the draw vs. voltage would be.

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    i made a post about peltiers on another fourm and someone hooked me up with a link to this power supply.

    http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...355&type=store

    only 15 bux and looks like it will power one of thoese 226w pelts pretty good.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    omg I want one

    it looks like that psu would work perfect. Let us no how it works out if you buy one.

  5. #5
    Arctic Silver Senior
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Kalifornia
    That's a screaming deal on a pelt PSU!
    Knowledge is useless, itís what you do with it that counts.

  6. #6
    Registered kevern1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    baltimore md
    I just orderd one will let you know how it works out.
    I am going to use some of my model train transformers
    to experiment in the meantime!
    I have one that puts out 20amps @ 16v so I guess
    that will take temps down a bit.
    The TEC I have is Rated Qmax 226watts
    so I figure 226/12 = aprox 19amps if I still
    have my formulas correct

    Power(watts) = Volts * I ( amps )???????????????????

  7. #7
    Underwater Senior Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Yes, kevern1..that's the correct formula, but it's based on the wrong number. A 226 watt pelt will move 226 watts of heat from one side to the other at the specified delta temp. But that does NOT tell you what it requires to run it at. It may draw more than 300+ watts to run it.
    Most vendors ignorrantly post an incomplete set of numbers on them. Apparently, they don't care if your power supply fries...the've made their sale;the've got your money;they don't care. Don't buy from people who don't know what their selling.

    And WELCOME to the Forums!

  8. #8
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    that looks like a great PS for the price

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    man I hope it works out, I would like ot be able to run a 266watt pelt on this Tbird. I have a psu for a 172 watt pelt but I believe you need more thin 172watts for a Tbird.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •