Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

A7V266-E Troubleshooting

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-04, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
t_biggs
Member

 
t_biggs's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin

 
A7V266-E Troubleshooting


I'm currently in posession of my uncle's old A7V266-E Rev 1.06 motherboard. He just upgraded to a Athlon 64 system because this one was causing problems.

I think I have it solved, though. But I want a second (or third or fourth or etc...) opinion. I found that a stick of RAM was bad when I put it in my computer. It kept corrupting Windows. Needless to say, that stick is garbage and no longer used. I had it in my NF7-S, and I would get errors about ntfs.sys being corrupt, and all that good stuff.

However, my uncle said when he would have the computer go into an endless reboot cycle, no errors or anything. Before he upgraded, we decided it was probably a bad IDE controller. I don't think thats right, though.

Right now, I have it set up in my basement with a good stick of RAM, and XP Pro running just fine. I have Prime95 running a tourcher test on it. Nothing bad has come up yet.

Do you think it was just the RAM that screwed it up? Also, are there any other programs like Prime95 that will push the board to its limits? I use 3DMark01, and SANDRA burn-in wizard. Is there anything else I could use? I mainly want to make sure the IDE controller is good. If it is, then the problem was the RAM.
t_biggs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 06-07-04, 04:46 PM   #2
Robolf
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Isle of Man UK

 
My A7V266-E used to reboot cycle constantly when i fried the ram, the ambient temp was like 80 C

That was in Win2K so its probably fine, i know my board is, new ram, new cooling and new hard drive, the other one was knackered anyway i just ran it to its death, althow its still not dead and works fine but a little slow, with big clunky noises after spinning up fast hehe its hilarious reallly.

So to conclude, i think your fine.

Rob
Robolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-04, 11:46 PM   #3
TUK101
Member

 
TUK101's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wash. State

10 Year Badge
 
I have had that same problem before. It was the ram. You switched it out and problem was solved. IDE problems wont usually be fixed that easily, they usually just get worse and worse till the channel wont work anymore.

__________________
My Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=8937
TUK101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?