Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding > Project Logs
Project Logs
Forum Jump

Project: Rackmount Overkill

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-09, 08:40 AM   #161
Cookieman00x
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2009

 
Overkill is an understatement... holy crap...
Cookieman00x is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 08:40 AM Thread Starter   #162
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Hehe, thank you

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 08:51 AM   #163
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
If you dont want to leave that Optie HS on, you might want to look at the AC freezer LP.

IT NEEDS LAPPING FIRST! but it is a 2u HS that doesnt do too bad on the Phenom X3 I have it on (NON OCed though).

If you end up deciding on a second Perc5i, drop me a PM I can forward you the link to the Ebay seller I just bought my Perc5i, with cables and 512 of memory from for 150 shipped.

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 09:01 AM Thread Starter   #164
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I will need a second Perc 5/i, but I do not need cables, I actually have 2 extra ones.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 11:05 AM   #165
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I will need a second Perc 5/i, but I do not need cables, I actually have 2 extra ones.
There is a guy on Ebay that every few months puts up like 100 Perc5i's for 75 with free shipping

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #166
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Sure, send me the link, I'll need it eventually. That is pretty cheap.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 02:25 PM Thread Starter   #167
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Oh yeah, forgot to mention that I got everything back up online. I ended up figuring out that once a disk goes "foreign", you can just hit the import button. I had no idea that the tab existed and ended up wiping out my RAID array and had to rebuild it >.<

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 02:32 PM   #168
SuperMiguel
Super User

 
SuperMiguel's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, US

 
nice work!

__________________
<(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>
SuperMiguel is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-09, 03:44 PM   #169
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Sure, send me the link, I'll need it eventually. That is pretty cheap.
get it to ya tonight if i can find it. I have seen him twice and neither time have I added him to favs.

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 04:30 PM   #170
Ben333
Folding for Team 32!

 
Ben333's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Hampshire

 
Thideras, that case is sick! Good luck sorting out the issues. Are you sure it's ok to run every drive on just two cables? A power supply cable usually only has two or three molex connectors on it but you have 6 connectors on each cable. Are you sure thats safe? I'd imagine it is but I'd be worried if you had all the bays filled.
Ben333 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 04:41 PM Thread Starter   #171
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Yes, the cables are lower gauge for the power draw. Assuming 1 amp per drive (which I believe is WAY over what they actually are) at startup, that is only 10 amps power draw per cable. I have a little room left

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 07:03 PM   #172
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
What are your hard drive temps? I see the 5 (80mm?) fans, but I don't see how the air flows over the actual hard drives.

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-09, 07:04 PM Thread Starter   #173
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonblingbling View Post
What are your hard drive temps? I see the 5 (80mm?) fans, but I don't see how the air flows over the actual hard drives.
When the case is closed, it pulls it through the front of the case, over the drives. I'm not sure what the temps are, my Perc 5 isn't reporting it.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 08:42 AM Thread Starter   #174
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
After wrestling with the server for days, I finally got it over to CentOS instead of Solaris. Solaris was a PITA to use from a command line, the commands were different from "normal" linux distros and they were bass akwards.

SO! After some stupid moments, I finally got the folders shared and everything is functioning correctly.

I also learned that fdisk can NOT work with disks larger than 2tb and you need to use parted to make the partition then format with a 4kb block size (EXT3) to use the entire array. To anyone that has an array this large and wishes to use EXT3, DO NOT forget the '-j' flag (journal), it takes over 1.5 hours to format the disk just to find out you formatted as EXT2 >.<

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 08:42 AM   #175
SuperMiguel
Super User

 
SuperMiguel's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, US

 
no freebsd??

__________________
<(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>
SuperMiguel is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 08:45 AM   #176
gangaskan

 
gangaskan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lorain, ohio

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
After wrestling with the server for days, I finally got it over to CentOS instead of Solaris. Solaris was a PITA to use from a command line, the commands were different from "normal" linux distros and they were bass akwards.

SO! After some stupid moments, I finally got the folders shared and everything is functioning correctly.

I also learned that fdisk can NOT work with disks larger than 2tb and you need to use parted to make the partition then format with a 4kb block size (EXT3) to use the entire array. To anyone that has an array this large and wishes to use EXT3, DO NOT forget the '-j' flag (journal), it takes over 1.5 hours to format the disk just to find out you formatted as EXT2 >.<
a rather long mistake

CentOS is pretty fun to play with its been good to me atleast.

__________________
Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
Heatware
gangaskan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 08:47 AM Thread Starter   #177
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
no freebsd??
I'd rather start with something I'm familiar with first

Quote:
Originally Posted by gangaskan View Post
a rather long mistake

CentOS is pretty fun to play with its been good to me atleast.
That it is. I finally got the server setup with no GUI and I just SSH into the box. I can work on it from work and it just makes it a ton easier than dedicating an entire 24" monitor to the server.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 08:55 AM   #178
SuperMiguel
Super User

 
SuperMiguel's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, US

 
no more zfs?

__________________
<(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>
SuperMiguel is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 09:00 AM Thread Starter   #179
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
no more zfs?
I wasn't using it to its full potential. Combine that with the command line being a PITA made me want to switch.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-09, 09:09 AM   #180
SuperMiguel
Super User

 
SuperMiguel's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, US

 
:
u were my only zfs buddy

:

__________________
<(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>
SuperMiguel is online now   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding > Project Logs
Project Logs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?