Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

[O/C]3 Step Guide to Overclock Your Core i3, i5, or i7

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-10, 10:05 AM   #21
Nebulous
Señor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Extremely informative read! I vote icky sticky!

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-10, 02:30 PM   #22
Brutal-Force
Member

 
Brutal-Force's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009

 
I have used this guide, and I agree... it works!

__________________
HTPC/Main Rig: 42" LG 1080p - Windows 7 Professional
EVGA P55 FTW - i7 860 4914.3 MHz Max and 4412 MHz 24/7
Venomous X - SANYO DENKI - 9SG1212P1G01 - 260 CFM @ 6000 RPMs
Corsair TX850 - Super Talent 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 (1320MHz 6-6-6-19)
BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC MaXcore 55(SLI)
Coolermaster HAF 932
Heat

My Homemade PWM Controller for "The Beast"
Brutal-Force is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-10, 04:14 PM   #23
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
WOW! It's great to hear all the positive responses, thanks again guys...spread the word

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 12:46 AM   #24
aoch88
Member

 
aoch88's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007

 
One question: Some people say that by increasing your VTT, it reduces your Vcore. In my case, it never happens. How true is this?
aoch88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 01:50 AM   #25
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
No true at all taken by itself...but I'd be interested in seeing this comment in the context in which it was originally stated

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 07:51 AM   #26
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Me too. I've never heard anything like that. Link?

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 10:12 AM   #27
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoch88 View Post
One question: Some people say that by increasing your VTT, it reduces your Vcore. In my case, it never happens. How true is this?

What you propably have heard that you could lower your v-core if you increase your Vtt slightly to stabilize your OC, but is does not happen automatically.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 12:24 PM   #28
Dataman2
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Wink BIOS Defaults


start by going into your system’s BIOS, and load defaults,

Whoa there. If somone is running ACHI and set's BIOS defaults won't it default to IDE?

Then they get Error Code

"STOP 0x0000007B INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE"


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976

I know it's easy to go back into the BIOS and change it back to ACHI, but telling novice not to write down the setting BEFORE they change the BIOS is asking for trouble.

Of course if they never changed it to ACHI it's one of the 1st things they should do before the OS install.

Otherwise loved the writeup.

DM
Dataman2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 12:34 PM   #29
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
IMHO, if someone is using ACHI and doesn't know to set it back prior to booting, they may want to consider learning more about their setup prior to overclocking.

I guarantee, at some point and some overclock, they're going to need to reset CMOS. Doing so will remove any ACHI setting. They'll need to know how to recover from that just as much as they would from setting defaults.

You are correct though, it will default to IDE.

Oh, and welcome to OCF!

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 01:40 PM   #30
Dataman2
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
I would hope, but that is assuming


But a warning to write down your settings and make sure of the mode would be safe way to do it. Trust me someone will do this and blame the OC.

Telling them to start off with changing to "default" is just asking for trouble. Most of us don't need the guide. But this is for the person who is not experienced. That person will do this.

When I build a system the 1st thing I do is reset to Default, then Kill the Stupid Splash Screen on the BIOS, then the ACHI Mode if Sata.

I have seen too many people change the BIOS settings and not have a CLUE. A+ Classes, MCSE Classes, Network Classes etc.
Dataman2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 02:35 PM   #31
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Point taken DM...My thinking was inline with Hokie...that when I said "reset to default", hopefully the use would realise they may need to consider the context of their situation.

Anyhow, thanks for the feedback, I'll be working on a follow up shortly to address some of the suggestions I've recieved, and I'll definitely consider adding a note on this

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 07:25 PM   #32
Dataman2
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Thanks


It will help that Sys Admin who thought of removing the MB screws with POWER ON and said

Oops

Snap, Crackle Pop. It don't work anymore. Give me another one please.
(Novell Class where they took everything apart for Practice, they just could not put them back together and functional).


One other thing to consider. When I build I go into BIOS and check the temps. Good way to make sure you have those STUPID Push Pins on right! Before I load OS or try to OC it. So many don't bother to check until they ask "Why is it running so HOT or keeps shutting down".

Also put in there something about "Never Flashing BIOS on OC System" unless you play Russian Roulette with S&W Model 410. Good way to make a brick out of running system.




Dm

Last edited by Dataman2; 01-28-10 at 07:31 PM.
Dataman2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-10, 07:35 PM   #33
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
But...uhhh I thought I included that step???.....<goes to check>.....yup, it's here:

Quote:
After you’ve restarted your system with your manually configured voltages and returned to the BIOS, I always recommend going to the temp/voltage monitoring section and checking the CPU temp. If the temperature seems too high for your cooling, then shut the system down and double check that your cooling system is properly mounted, and making good contact.

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-10, 08:45 AM   #34
Dataman2
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Missed it!


Must have scanned past it.

Thanks
Dataman2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-10, 12:19 AM   #35
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
nice article man

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-10, 08:08 PM   #36
ivwshane
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
Awesome!!!

This is exactly what I needed. I've been out of the seen for so long that all these new terms in the bios totally threw me off!

Thanks!
ivwshane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-03-10, 12:56 AM   #37
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Glad this has been helpful for you guys

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-10, 01:36 PM   #38
HunterZ
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
This is an interesting guide, but a lot of what you're talking about seems to be X58-specific and doesn't make any sense for a P55 user like me. It would be helpful if you could revise it to make more sense from and/or be more applicable to a P55 perspective, or else split it into two separate guides.


Just a few examples - please don't get hung up on just these:

- What the heck is IOH? There's no such thing in my EVGA E657 BIOS.

- Vcore is much more critical than VTT on P55. It really is! I run VTT at Auto but had to bump Vcore up significantly (but reasonably) to reach 4.2GHz on a Core i7 860.

- What about the 1.65V hard-limit for safe RAM voltage on P55? Your guide only says VTT for i5 can get as high as 1.55V but that RAM voltage can go up to 0.5V higher; if people take that to mean 2.05V for RAM on P55 (NO!) then they'll fry their hardware.
HunterZ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-10, 09:43 PM   #39
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
@HunterZ

Most of what is in this guide is applicable to the P55 platform, remember that the micro-architecture of the CPU's that go into the X58 boards are the same as those that go into the P55 boards, they all belong to the Nehalem (45nm) or Westmere (32nm die shrink of Nehalem) family. Bloomfield is X58 based and Lynnfield is P55 based and both is 45nm micro-architecture, they all have the memory controllers on the CPU die. The P55 CPU's also have base clocks and multis which determine the CPU speeds. Both have uncore and QPI speeds that are key to CPU performance.

Vtt, or also known as QPI voltage, is just as important on the P55 CPU's as it feeds the IMC (Internal memory controller) and aids in memory OC as well as higher base clock stability. Vtt should also be used with more care on the Westmere 32nm chips whereas the 45nm Nehalem CPU's can tolerate much more.

The 1.65 VDIMM limit is a myth really and has been disproved thousands of time over, as long as you keep your RAM voltage and VTT within 0.5v you will be good.

Please read the guide, use what works for you and adjust, that is how you learn, that is how we all learned, from the masters, then a few like Miahallen became a master himself

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-10, 06:36 PM   #40
ihrsetrdr
Senior Member

 
ihrsetrdr's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: just on the edge of civilization, in the Mojave Desert

 
A good read, Miahallen- thanks for giving us[former] skt 775 guys a guide for this next breed of Intel processors.

__________________
Folding User Stats

ihrsetrdr aka Tim

Be strong when you are weak, brave when you are scared, and humble when you are victorious.
- Unknown
ihrsetrdr is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?