Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

XFX RADEON HD 5870 not getting along with ASUS P5N-E SLI

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-10, 10:19 AM   #21
Mikef1r3
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto

 
Does your PSU have enough juice for the card is it dying? and i dont think ive seen your specs posted here yet

__________________
Case: Haf 932
MB : Asus P6T
CPU I7 920 D0 2.66 @ 3.5Ghz (21x167) at 1.2v
Cooling: Noctua Nh d14
RAM: Corsair Dominator 1600 6GB
GPU: 2x XFX 5770's
PSU: Corsair Hx1000w
SSD: 1 64 Gb G.Skill Falcon (OS/Programs)
HDD: 2x 500gb WD Black Raid0 (Games/Storage). 2 TB WD Green (Storage)
OS: Win 7 ultimate
Mikef1r3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 11:49 AM Thread Starter   #22
pacalcaco
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
my specs are now up. no the card has plenty of juice. I have a crosair 750w psu! I already tried the uninstall of the drivers. I think it sucks to be the one who discovers that there is a compatibility issue with the board and the card. as I looked for the answer I found this problem in other forums. they also had no solution to their problem. oh and yes I once had my rig overclocked to 3.0ghz but since I updated the bios to my mobo for this card I have not got the overclocking right with this new bios
pacalcaco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 11:53 AM   #23
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Are you certain you have both power plugs plugged into the card? I know its a PCIe 1+ board but there shouldnt be any reason it wont work... But wow is that an old(er) board with an ancient chipset. Have you tried updating the chipset drivers?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 12:01 PM   #24
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
Get yourself a nice P45 MB for about $80 or so. I'll bet your issues will go away.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 01:51 PM Thread Starter   #25
pacalcaco
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Smile


Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Are you certain you have both power plugs plugged into the card? I know its a PCIe 1+ board but there shouldnt be any reason it wont work... But wow is that an old(er) board with an ancient chipset. Have you tried updating the chipset drivers?
yes, and yes. I found that almost every one in the Asus forums with this mobo and the HD5870 are having similar problems. I think its time to update my mobo. any suggestions, thanks for the first (p45). I want to keep my Q6600, but I am willing to get a new i7 if i like the setup. I am tired of the hassle. time for a change. oh and I am keeping the HD 5870 as well.
pacalcaco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 02:45 PM   #26
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
You can get away with $100 mobo and your current setup (well maybe sell current ram and get 2x2gb sticks) for another year. To get into i7 you are looking at $425+ for mobo/cpu/ram...

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 09:45 PM Thread Starter   #27
pacalcaco
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
I could aford the i7 setup but I think I will just go with a solid 100 dollar board to make the wife happy. I feel much more relaxed now that I got a direction for this problem. I apreciate all the help guys/gals. I can't wait to get my new mobo. I will research all I can before I decide on a mobo that will work with my HD5870. My p5n-e sli did give me lots of problems early on as well when I first got it. It was tough to overclock on this board. Well thanks again everyone. Keep making hints on what I should get as a mobo.
pacalcaco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-10, 03:28 PM   #28
Younglin

 
Younglin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!

 
Younglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-10, 04:18 PM Thread Starter   #29
pacalcaco
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
I got my new mobo!! I decided to go with this one http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...pf_rd_i=507846
its the GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45. I installed it and it runs great with the original XFX RADEON HD 5870!!!!!. my old p5n-e sli is now retired(siting in a box till I build a spare pc). I cant wait to over clock my Q6600 past 3.0ghz! I could not get past it with the old mobo. thanks to all of you for your help. when I bought the new p45 i was givin free ram its Extreme Performance Gaming Series DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC2-8500 Enhanced Latency DIMM Kit!! it came with a free street fighter IV download!!! here is a link http://www.amazon.com/Extreme-Perfor...7308705&sr=1-5
I did not get them from amazon, the link is just for info. I buy my stuff in a local mom and pop computer store. I want to update to windows 7 before I oc my cpu and gpu. I cant wait to test some games out!! excited!!
pacalcaco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-10, 04:57 PM   #30
jakeface1
Member

 
jakeface1's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: WI

 
Nice! I have the same you will be very happy with that mobo. Now I just need my 5870

__________________
Mobo: Asus X79 Deluxe
CPU: i7-4930k @ 4.6 Ghz
Cooling: XSPC Rasa/RS360 Rad/MCR320-QP-K
GPU: PowerColor AX7990
PSU: EVGA Supernova 1300w
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw Z 16 gigs DDR3 1866
HDD: 2 x OCZ Agility 4 256gig
Case: MountianMods Custom
Monitor: 2 - Dell sp2309w, Crossover 1440p
Keyboard, Mouse: Rosewill blacks, Logitech G500
Headset: Audio Technica a700
jakeface1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?