Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

5870 questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-10, 09:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
Albion72
Registered



Join Date: May 2008

 
5870 questions


My Catalyst Control Center for my ATI 5870 displays my 5870's current values as

157mhz for gpu and 300mhz for memory.

This is really low... I can play a lot of games fine and on max, why is CCC displaying these as the current clocks?
Albion72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-10, 09:59 PM   #2
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
Those are idle clocks to reduce power consumption and heat. Clocks will increase when the card is stressed.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (97-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-10, 08:17 AM   #3
mxthunder

 
mxthunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio

 
Right on.

__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7
2x4GB Ripjaws @ 1600 7-8-7-24-24 - 1T
XSPC res + D5, RS360 + EK 120mm rad
GeForce GTX780Ti w/custom bios @1300mhz
Corsair TX950
WD Black 750GB/Hitachi 7k1000/Intel 330 SSD cache drive
LG 27" 1080p
Corsair Obsidian 700D

My GPU collection
mxthunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-10, 09:26 PM Thread Starter   #4
Albion72
Registered



Join Date: May 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattNo5ss View Post
Those are idle clocks to reduce power consumption and heat. Clocks will increase when the card is stressed.
Ah I see.

What does manually setting the sliders do? Limit how high the clocks can go under stress?

Also, I tabbed out while running a game (Arma 2) and checked. The current values did not change. Are they supposed to change?

Last edited by Albion72; 03-20-10 at 11:26 PM.
Albion72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-10, 11:29 PM   #5
jaymz9350
Member

 
jaymz9350's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Marytucky, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albion72 View Post
Ah I see.

What does manually setting the sliders do? Limit how high the clocks can go under stress?

Also, I tabbed out while running a game (Arma 2) and checked. The current values did not change. Are they supposed to change?
That's because when you alt tab out you left 3D mode and went back into 2D. If you use MSI afterburner you can have it show in a graph what your clocks are so you can see them change in 3D mode.

__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
Corsair TX750
128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
Folding User Stats
jaymz9350 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-10, 10:01 AM Thread Starter   #6
Albion72
Registered



Join Date: May 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaymz9350 View Post
That's because when you alt tab out you left 3D mode and went back into 2D. If you use MSI afterburner you can have it show in a graph what your clocks are so you can see them change in 3D mode.
Ahh ok.

I'm using a Cooler Master HAF 932 for a case, using all the fans available.

What are the highest stable clocks I can set my 5870 to before things begin to get hairy?
Albion72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-10, 11:19 AM   #7
Parad0x420
Member

 
Parad0x420's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Moon

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albion72 View Post
Ahh ok.

I'm using a Cooler Master HAF 932 for a case, using all the fans available.

What are the highest stable clocks I can set my 5870 to before things begin to get hairy?
That is just something you will have to find out on your own. Each card behaves differently, and while most will clock similarly.. most people will have different results. Try bumping your clocks about 5-10mhz at a time and run some games or benchmarks to test for stability. 3DMark06 or Vantage make for decent stress tests, but nothing will run a graphics card harder than Furmark.

__________________
Phenom II X6 1075T Thuban @ 4125 15 x 275 1.439v LLC enabled
TRUE Black Rev. C - Shin-Etsu X23-7783D - CM R4 Reds push/pull
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 890FX NB@2750Mhz HT@2200Mhz
G.Skill Flare 4GB DDR3 @ 1833Mhz 7-8-7-24-1T 1.65v
ASUS 7970 3GB @ 1000/1450
OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SATAIII - Win 7 Ultimate x64
2x WD 640GB Caviar Blue / 2x WD 750GB Caviar Black
PCP&C 750W Silencer Black
Samsung Syncmaster 2493HM 24" @ 1920x1200
Corsair Obsidian 700D
DÍck Legend Toxic

3DMark06 - 23491 - Vantage - P18580
- Vantage X8757
Parad0x420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?