Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

[O/C]3 Step Guide to Overclock Your Core i3, i5, or i7

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-10, 08:27 PM   #61
LittleJay
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
thanks for the guide it was a great help
If anyones interested ive worked out an equation to find out what your graphics clock should be set to to keep it from overclocking with your base clock.

a=Overclocked Base Clock
b=Default Base Clock
c=Default Graphics Clock
x=New Graphics Clock

x=c/(a/b)

for example say you have an i3 with its gfx clock at 733, your default bClock is 133 and its overclocked to 210

a/b = 210/133 = 1.5789...
c/1.5789... = 733/1.5789 = 464

So you would set you gfxClock to 464

Hope thats useful for someone
LittleJay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-10, 08:50 PM   #62
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreadCthulhu View Post
The guide mentions that sometimes the machine might not post at all and then you'll pretty much have to reset the bios. A couple of related question:

- What is usually the cause for the inability of the computer to post? Low VCore or VTT? It'd be good to know in case you made a tweak and all of a sudden the box won't boot and you have no idea what can be improved about the previous set of settings.

Because of the number of variables it is recommended to start OCing slowly as the guide decribes, increments rather than large changes which normally results in no post and failute to boot. I always save my last successfull OC so I can restore it even if I have to reset the CMOS, it acts as your baseline or fallback in case something goes wrong.

If you set your QPI, uncore or RAM speeds too high it almost always result in a no-post an your system will not start up, so be carefull when you OC those, again, small incremental OC steps work.

If you are end up in Windows and get BSOD under stress testing it is either one of two most of the times, low Vtt or low V-core. Once again I have found that Vtt is 3 out of 5 times the culprit. If you make it pass booting but get BSOD as you enter Windows then it is most probably lack of v-core

- What do you do in case there's no CMOS reset button? Pull the battery out? All boards have CMOS reset options, either in the form of a push button or a jumper, consult your board manual to see what applies to your particular motherboard, If all else fals pulling the battery will certainly reset the CMOS and set bios to default settings.

- Sometimes a certain set of settings works fine and resets fine, and is perfectly stable throughout tests, but then it might not post the next time you turn on the machine. Why? Albeit not very often I have come across what you are describing, what I have found is more often the board is not fully compatible with the RAM you using or the bios is unstable, in such a case try updating the bios or as a last resort RMA the board, as I said it does not happen much but it has a change to stock out its head now and then.
Very good questions See above

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-10, 09:10 PM   #63
DreadCthulhu
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
Very good questions See above
Thanks for the responses. About the last point, I'm getting this strange "won't post despite good stability" issue right now on my box. It was working fine before I started OCing, but once I started then it would occasionally either:

- start to boot, but then audibly restart before the post screen. Sometimes 1-3 times, then eventually it would post and work fine afterwards.

- not post at all, which is what I ran into.

The reason why I don't think the RAM is the issue is because this no-post issue was never there when the system was at stock values, so I'm trying to determine what exactly was fubarred.
DreadCthulhu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-10, 09:22 PM   #64
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
What CPU , RAM and board are you using? When I say RAM is not compatible it is really at OC state, at stock pretty much everything should run fine 99% of the time.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-10, 09:42 PM   #65
DreadCthulhu
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
What CPU , RAM and board are you using? When I say RAM is not compatible it is really at OC state, at stock pretty much everything should run fine 99% of the time.
I'm using:

2 x G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz

GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2 LGA 1156 Intel P55 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

What's ironic is that I picked those sticks specifically because they were supposedly compatible with that board.
DreadCthulhu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-10, 10:06 PM   #66
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
What was your OC when you started getting issues and what voltages were you applying?
Not that the UD2 is a bad board but it has limitations to OC.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-10, 11:55 PM   #67
DreadCthulhu
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
What was your OC when you started getting issues and what voltages were you applying?
Not that the UD2 is a bad board but it has limitations to OC.
Actually I lied. I just reset the settings through the jumper and it still takes 2-3 attempts to boot.. That's weird. Shouldn't be the lack of power either, it's a 750W PSU.
DreadCthulhu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-10, 12:56 AM   #68
wickedout
Member

 
wickedout's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California

 
Very nicely written. Great read and good understanding for many of us. Thanks again.

__________________
CPU: Core i7 3770K @ 4.7 GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte z77x-UDH5
GPU: HIS IceQ X 7970
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III Series 750W
Cooling: NZXT Havik 140
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 W/Window Arctic White
SDD: Crucial M4 128 GB
HDD:WD Caviar Black 1TB (Storage)
OS: Windows 7 Professional
wickedout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-10, 08:12 AM   #69
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreadCthulhu View Post
Actually I lied. I just reset the settings through the jumper and it still takes 2-3 attempts to boot.. That's weird. Shouldn't be the lack of power either, it's a 750W PSU.
I would venture to say your board is FUBAR, RMA it or return for exchange.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-10, 08:19 AM   #70
psionic98
Member


 
psionic98's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 4th Floor office, East Coast

 
1 - on initial post---bad factory setting.. resetting cmos helps usually or its a dead board
2 - yes pull battery for 30seconds and replace
3 - not sure, can post this in another thread on its own

__________________
EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
/ Enermax 720 Modular
HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
HEAT
i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
/ AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
Recommended Power Supply Listing
psionic98 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-10, 08:07 PM   #71
jamsde
Registered

 
jamsde's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bella Vista, AR

 
Thumbs up Amazing guide, thanks!


Wow what a very well written and informative guide, thank you so much for posting it! I just finished building an i920 system for gaming and will be using your guide to tune the overclocking. Thanks again! I'll post my results


Jon
jamsde is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-10, 08:40 PM   #72
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedout View Post
Very nicely written. Great read and good understanding for many of us. Thanks again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamsde View Post
Wow what a very well written and informative guide, thank you so much for posting it! I just finished building an i920 system for gaming and will be using your guide to tune the overclocking. Thanks again! I'll post my results


Jon
Thanks for the positive comments guys....I'm glad we could help

Please post your specific system related questions in a new thread. This thread should be for comments or questions about the guide only, thanks

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-10, 09:34 PM   #73
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
MIAH, just took a gander at this on the homepage. Excellent review bro!

Dom

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-10, 09:37 PM   #74
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Thanks Dom

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-10, 04:20 AM   #75
urasofty
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
Hello ive been following this guide and i just have a question regarding vcore.
Im using p55m-ud2 mobo + i3 btw. When im trying to tweak my vcore how do i increase it in increments of 0.025V? in the bios the only available options are 0.5V+, 0.550V+, etc. am i missing something here?
urasofty is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-10, 01:28 PM   #76
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by urasofty View Post
Hello ive been following this guide and i just have a question regarding vcore.
Im using p55m-ud2 mobo + i3 btw. When im trying to tweak my vcore how do i increase it in increments of 0.025V? in the bios the only available options are 0.5V+, 0.550V+, etc. am i missing something here?
Dont worry my friend. This is just a general guideline more along the lines of "raise vcore how you feel comfortable doing it". If your motherboard only allows certain intervals than use the smallest interval offered.

However, I think you may be wrong with your numbers. A bump of .50 is not possibly the smallest option on a mobo seeing that normal VID is between .98 and 1.3625 on Intel processors, so bumping up vcore .5 would essentially burn out your chip with too much heat and volts in one simple bump. lol So, I am assuming you mean .055v? Please make this correction before we proceed.

Dom

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-10, 10:58 PM   #77
urasofty
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominick32 View Post
Dont worry my friend. This is just a general guideline more along the lines of "raise vcore how you feel comfortable doing it". If your motherboard only allows certain intervals than use the smallest interval offered.

However, I think you may be wrong with your numbers. A bump of .50 is not possibly the smallest option on a mobo seeing that normal VID is between .98 and 1.3625 on Intel processors, so bumping up vcore .5 would essentially burn out your chip with too much heat and volts in one simple bump. lol So, I am assuming you mean .055v? Please make this correction before we proceed.

Dom
Sorry, I'm an idiot >_<. While looking at vcore in bios i assumed that every bump is added to the listedl cpu voltage (i.e. 1.103V + 0.50). The minimum number given was 0.50 which obviously means changing the voltage to 0.50 not actually bumping it by 0.50. Stupid mistake ! =[
urasofty is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-10, 12:08 AM   #78
baditude_df
Northern Senior

 
baditude_df's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB. CAN.

 
What a fantastic Guide! It's really well laid out and an easy read.
Thank you MIAH and all who contributed!

But what's missing from this picture?
Quote:
Core i7 (Bloomfield i7 920, 940, 960, 965/975)
:looks down at poor lonely 950:

__________________
| GA- H55N-USB3 | i5-760 @ 3.60GHz |AXP-140 RT| ICD7 |Corsair 80G SSD
| Saphire HD6870 1GB | Silversone SG07B-W with 600w|
| Win7Ux64 | 8G HyperX DDR3-1600 @ 9-9-9-27 & 1.65v
baditude_df is online now Author Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-10, 01:21 AM   #79
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Thanks Pat...

I left out the i5 950 just for you

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-24-10, 03:54 AM   #80
urasofty
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
After a couple weeks of using stock cpu speed i decided to try my hand at ocing but have run into some problems. Here is the build - core i3, p55m-ud2, arctic cooler f7 rev 2, 4gb kingston 1333 ddr3- 1.50V stock
Right now my oc is sitting at
3.65 ghz
multiplier x22
bclock 166
vcore on cpu-z @ max load 1.072V
@ bios 1.09v
vtt - 1.20V or 1.10v (stock
ram volts - 1.50V (should this ever be increased)

I've pretty much followed your guide (ram timings, lowest multiplier,etc). I've found leaving the vtt stock while increasing vcore slightly to be just as successful as increasing the vtt and vcore.

Anyways in an attempt to oc a little higher I've experimented by slowly increasing vcore, and bclock to 169,170,175 and it would boot then continue to restart eventually loading default settings if i do not go into the bios. The highest vcore i had was 1.25v @ 172. I'm not sure what the problem is, what are some numbers i should be testing out?
i have not yet increased the ram voltage because i am not even sure if this should even be increased in the first place.

Last edited by urasofty; 03-24-10 at 02:35 PM.
urasofty is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?