Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Hot swap SATA hard drive on Asus P6T Deluxe

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-10, 12:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Hot swap SATA hard drive on Asus P6T Deluxe using AHCI



I have one of those "Turn any drive into a hot swappable USB drive" adapters, only I now want to hot swap my hard drive using the SATA connector on my motherboard and not through USB. In other words I want the internal hard drive to be permanently connected with a SATA cable and then just flick the adapter power switch on and have it appear in Windows like an external hard drive would.


EDIT: Resolved!


EDIT #2: As discussed here http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s....php?p=6623151
it appears we may have to use a SATA to eSATA cable because SATA to SATA requires extra steps. Another Edit: I now hear that Asus P6T Deluxe may not have a hot swappable eSATA port, only the SATA connections are hot-swappable, not eSATA...

EDIT # 3: Make sure you know which controllers your motherboard has and update them with latest drivers or else you'll have problems! Mine had two or three and it all worked only after I updated to latest drivers:

Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Intel Chipset Software Installation Utility 9.1.2.1007 was installed on Windows 7 but not on Windows XP originally. I believe this was the cause of original problems.

This entire topic is probably only about simply running Intel Chipset Software Installation Utility 9.1.2.1007 and Marvell 6121 SATA Driver v1.2.0.69 update so that all controllers are updated with latest drivers because original ones could not handle hot swapping correctly.





Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
My tests showed that when I installed a PCI SATA card, AHCI would only work for drives connected to the PCI card itself. Windows XP did not make any modifications to allow AHCI for use later if you went back to motherboard SATA connections. Here are the tested details to make things easier:




To be able to power on / plug in your internal hard drive without shutting down your Windows XP computer:


1. Check to see if file iaStor.sys is in your \Windows\System32\Drivers\ folder. If not, go here and download the Intel Matrix Storage Manager: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...&DwnldID=17882

File names change for updated versions but for the example of IATA89ENU.exe file downloaded to C: drive: Start Menu > Run... > C:\IATA89ENU.exe -a -a

Now go to \Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\Driver to find and copy iaStor.sys to your \Windows\System32\Drivers\ folder.


[Note that you can't just double click on IATA89ENU.exe]



2. Figure out which ICH your motherboard uses by looking it up here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_chipsets

If it's ICH8R, ICH9R, or ICH10R, then copy and paste the corresponding lines below into Notepad and Save As a file with a .reg extension. Double click on it > Yes.


3. Reboot into BIOS and switch to AHCI mode.


4. When prompted, select Install from a list or specific location (Advanced) > Next > Don't search. I will choose the driver to install. > Next > Next > Have Disk… button > Browse… to
\Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\winall\Driver

Done and here are the reg files:


For ICH10R:

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

;
; Important: The File iastor.sys has to be present in the System32\Drivers folder.
;


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_3A22&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"=hex(2):73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,44,00,\
  52,00,49,00,56,00,45,00,52,00,53,00,5c,00,69,00,61,00,53,00,74,00,6f,00,72,\
  00,2e,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,00,00
"Tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000
"BusType"=dword:00000003

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_3A22&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_01\\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001
For ICH9R:


Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2922&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_02 \\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001

For ICH8R:


Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2821&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2821&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_02 \\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001





Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Of course, for Windows 7/Vista:

Before switching to AHCI, simply change the value of the following registry keys to 0

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Msahci
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\IastorV





_____________________
Intel i7 920 [200] BCLK x 19 = 3.80 GHz @ [1.4000] CPU Voltage & [1.35000] QPI/DRAM Uncore Voltage, Batch 3836A394
3 x 1GB G.SKIL DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) [DDR3-1691MHz] 10-10-10-24 @ 1.64 DRAM Bus Voltage
ASUS P6T Deluxe v.1 [LGA 1366 Intel X58]BIOS 1606
Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme 1366 RT with 120mm Scythe S-Flex F fan
ASUS EAH4850 Radeon HD 4850 1GB DDR3 @ 625 MHz GPU & 1986 MHz Memory
OCZ Agility 60GB SSD
Asus Xonar DX sound card
Antec nine hundred case, two front 120mm fans, one back 120mm Fan, one top 200mm fan
Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W

Last edited by c627627; 04-08-12 at 06:30 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-10, 12:36 PM   #2
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
You do need AHCI or RAID enabled for hot-swapping. I haven't used an adapter power switch, but I can just plug the SATA data and power connectors to a HDD/SSD and then it shows up in Windows.

Have you tried that? Just to make sure the adapter switch isn't causing a problem somehow.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-10, 12:37 PM   #3
Mr Alpha
Senior Member

 
Mr Alpha's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Do I have to enable AHCI in BIOS to do this because I blue screen when I do that or can I leave it in IDE mode?
Yes. The reason you bluscreen is that you can't boot into windows in AHCI mode if you have windows loading the IDE drivers. Before switching to AHCI in bios you need to tell windows to load the AHCI drives. Instructions. Then, I believe, you will have to install you chipsets AHCI drivers, because the Microsoft ones do not support hot swap.
Mr Alpha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-10, 12:49 PM   #4
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
Informative post

Is the reason I didn't have to tell Windows to load the drives or install drivers because I installed Windows with RAID enabled? Just wondering since I didn't have to do anything to get it to work.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-10, 12:57 PM   #5
Mr Alpha
Senior Member

 
Mr Alpha's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattNo5ss View Post
Informative post

Is the reason I didn't have to tell Windows to load the drives or install drivers because I installed Windows with RAID enabled? Just wondering since I didn't have to do anything to get it to work.
If you have AHCI/RAID enabled when you install Vista/7 it is will set things up correctly on its own.
Mr Alpha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-10, 07:38 PM Thread Starter   #6
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
I think we went over this before and that you can set things up on your current Windows Vista/7 installation... but for Windows XP, I think the conclusion was that there is nothing that could be done and you had to install Windows XP from scratch to get AHCI or Raid enabled...


Is there anything that can be done to enable AHCI on a current Windows XP installation?

Last edited by c627627; 07-08-10 at 04:06 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 03:51 AM Thread Starter   #7
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Do I connect the SATA drive to regular SATA connector or to SAS connector in order to hot swap it? Do I use regular or SAS cables? Can SAS cables be used instead of SATA cables on any system if you don't have SATA cables?


Attached Images
 

Last edited by c627627; 07-06-10 at 01:02 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 05:46 AM   #8
Mr Alpha
Senior Member

 
Mr Alpha's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Is there anything that can be done to enable AHCI on a current Windows XP installation?
IDE to AHCI on Windows XP.
Mr Alpha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 11:47 AM Thread Starter   #9
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks for the link, I was going to try the simpler raid card then back to motherboard method but since I won't get my old raid card before next week, I may as well try that link.


The guide starts by saying "copy and paste the following lines into that reg-file and save it (use the right content for your controller (ICH8R, ICH9R and ICH7DH)."


So, only of of the three listed? Which one for Asus P6T Deluxe? The next step says to copy the iaStor.sys file and tries to explain where to get it but the method described does not get me iaStor.sys...
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 02:14 PM   #10
Mr Alpha
Senior Member

 
Mr Alpha's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
So, only of of the three listed? Which one for Asus P6T Deluxe?
Asus P6T Deluxe is ICH10R.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
The next step says to copy the iaStor.sys file and tries to explain where to get it but the method described does not get me iaStor.sys...
Works for me.
Mr Alpha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 03:55 PM Thread Starter   #11
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
OK, will use that one. Where in the mobo manual does it specify which ICH it is, in case people need to do this on different mobos?

Where is the Intel Matrix Storage Manager-Packet (IATA621_CD.EXE)?



I want to find out how to do this anyway but the real reason why I wanted to do it is to protect a 2TB SATA drive. They are notorious for their unreliability so I thought I would extend its life by *only* turning it on with a power switch whenever I actually needed the data from it which is not very often.


Does hot plugging have any affect on its longevity? Perhaps I should just use superfast shutdown to switch the PC off, switch on the hard drive (I have it connected to external power with a switch), then start the computer again and do that instead of turning it on while the computer is running using AHCI related methods...

Last edited by c627627; 07-06-10 at 04:23 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 04:37 PM   #12
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
You can figure out which ICH is used by looking at the chipset.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_chipsets

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 05:42 PM   #13
Mr Alpha
Senior Member

 
Mr Alpha's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Where is the Intel Matrix Storage Manager-Packet (IATA621_CD.EXE)?
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...&DwnldID=17882
Mr Alpha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-10, 06:07 PM Thread Starter   #14
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
I suppose we got all the parts now. Thank you!


My remaining questions are:
• Technically, I could install an empty PCI SATA card first in Windows XP, then switch Windows XP hard drive to it, then enable AHCI.

After this is all done, then I could remove the card and switch back to the motherboard because the drivers would already be there?

EDIT: Tested not to work for me. I could only install a PCI SATA card and AHCI would only work for drives connected to the PCI card itself.


• Do I connect the SATA drive to regular SATA connector or to SAS RAID connector on motherboard in order to hot swap it? Do I use regular or SAS cables? Can SAS cables be used instead of SATA cables on any system if you don't have SATA cables? (see picture in post#7 of this thread.)

Last edited by c627627; 07-08-10 at 04:08 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-10, 06:41 AM   #15
Mr Alpha
Senior Member

 
Mr Alpha's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Technically, I could install an empty PCI SATA card first in Windows XP, then switch Windows XP hard drive to it, then enable AHCI.

After this is all done, then I could remove the card and switch back to the motherboard because the drivers would already be there?
I have no idea. I suppose it might work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Do I connect the SATA drive to regular SATA connector or to SAS RAID connector on motherboard in order to hot swap it? Do I use regular or SAS cables? Can SAS cables be used instead of SATA cables on any system if you don't have SATA cables? (see picture in post#7 of this thread.)
Yes, as long as the SAS driver supports hot swap, you can hood the SATA drive up to it.
Mr Alpha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-10, 04:34 PM Thread Starter   #16
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
My tests showed that when I installed a PCI SATA card, AHCI would only work for drives connected to the PCI card itself. Windows XP did not make any modifications to allow AHCI for use later if you went back to motherboard SATA connections. So now, since the original guide is confusing, here are the tested details to make things easier:




To be able to power on / plug in your internal hard drive without shutting down your Windows XP computer:


1. Check to see if file iaStor.sys is in your \Windows\System32\Drivers\ folder. If not, go here and download the Intel Matrix Storage Manager: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...&DwnldID=17882

File names change for updated versions but for the example of IATA89ENU.exe file downloaded to C: drive: Start Menu > Run... > C:\IATA89ENU.exe -a -a

Now go to \Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\Driver to find and copy iaStor.sys to your \Windows\System32\Drivers\ folder.


[Note that you can't just double click on IATA89ENU.exe]



2. Figure out which ICH your motherboard uses by looking it up here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_chipsets

If it's ICH8R, ICH9R, or ICH10R, then copy and paste the corresponding lines below into Notepad and Save As a file with a .reg extension. Double click on it > Yes.


3. Reboot into BIOS and switch to AHCI mode.


4. When prompted, select Install from a list or specific location (Advanced) > Next > Don't search. I will choose the driver to install. > Next > Next > Have Disk… button > Browse… to
\Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\winall\Driver

Done and here are the reg files:



For ICH10R:

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

;
; Important: The File iastor.sys has to be present in the System32\Drivers folder.
;


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_3A22&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"=hex(2):73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,44,00,\
  52,00,49,00,56,00,45,00,52,00,53,00,5c,00,69,00,61,00,53,00,74,00,6f,00,72,\
  00,2e,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,00,00
"Tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000
"BusType"=dword:00000003

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_3A22&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_01\\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001
For ICH9R:


Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2922&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_02 \\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001

For ICH8R:


Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2821&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2821&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_02 \\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001

Last edited by c627627; 04-08-12 at 06:31 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-10, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #17
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Of course, for Windows 7/Vista:

Before switching to AHCI, simply change the value of the following registry keys to 0

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Msahci
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\IastorV
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-10, 04:24 PM Thread Starter   #18
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Does anyone know if you can hot swap SATA DVD drives this way, just like you can hard drives?
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?