Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding > Project Logs
Project Logs
Forum Jump

Project: Rackmount Overkill

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-10, 09:20 AM Thread Starter   #641
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Was bored, so I stitched together last night's report into a single image. This is what my Astaro emails me every night.


http://thideras.com/images/projects/...aro_report.png

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-10, 10:48 AM   #642
j0rd
Member

 
j0rd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia

 
im so usin this w/ i build my next gateway box.
j0rd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-10, 07:11 PM Thread Starter   #643
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Well, my test server is broken, badly. I can't keep the RAID array working.

Code:
[thideras@thid-test ~]$ su -
-bash: /bin/su: Input/output error
Not sure if the drive is bad or the backplane is bad. I've tried two drives and they both fail shortly after the rebuild.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-10, 11:14 AM   #644
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Well, my test server is broken, badly. I can't keep the RAID array working.

Code:
[thideras@thid-test ~]$ su -
-bash: /bin/su: Input/output error
Not sure if the drive is bad or the backplane is bad. I've tried two drives and they both fail shortly after the rebuild.
Which rig si the test server?

Re: the key I was trying to get you, I am SOL. No one has em or has spares. Is it possible to get the locks rekeyed via a locksmith if you pulled them?

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-10, 11:17 AM Thread Starter   #645
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
No worries, I was able to get them back on with a little bit of trouble. Don't really need to take them off now anyway.

The test server is the DL360 below the firewall. I need to do some tests to figure out if the backplane is bad or if I have two bad drives. Either one isn't going to be fun.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-10, 11:27 AM   #646
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
No worries, I was able to get them back on with a little bit of trouble. Don't really need to take them off now anyway.

The test server is the DL360 below the firewall. I need to do some tests to figure out if the backplane is bad or if I have two bad drives. Either one isn't going to be fun.

Depending on which gen the DL is, you can probably find new/used parts on fleabay by the truckload. One advantage of using COTS and mass produced rigs is that parts arent hard to find when you need them.

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-10, 11:14 AM   #647
Max0r
Member

 
Max0r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005

 
I assume you will be hosting some lan parties

Max0r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-10, 11:19 AM Thread Starter   #648
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Nah, I haven't done that for quite some time. Don't really know anyone in the area that would be interested.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-10, 07:07 PM Thread Starter   #649
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Adragontattoo wanted some better pictures of my Sencore case (the huge blue one). The case design in this is pretty ingenious. The power supplies plug into a backplane with what looks like some power regulation/smoothing. Remember that this server was created with the intention of video/audio processing/recording. I've still not decided what I'd like to do with this case. The system, as far as I know, is working. So, I see no need to place anything different in it until something fails and I can't repair it.

If it fails, it would be interesting to put a decently new computer in it. There is a ton of space up front, so high airflow or watercooling (with mods) is a possibility. They just use 3 tiny 60mm fans (YS Tech FD1260257B-2A; 2.15w each) with nothing in the back. The processors are two P3 (unknown speed) in a SMP motherboard (NEX 6420A; SCSI; PCI/PCIx) with 512mb of RAM. I'm not sure how large the hard drive is, but it is IDE. It has a CD reader along with a floppy drive. It seems there was two cards in the back (video/sound?), but they have been removed; there are indentations in the card holders. In addition to that, it seems that there may have been something in the 5.25 bays since it isn't designed to hold "fillers"; probably input/output or some other control mechanism. The power supplies have never been removed as there is no oil/fingerprints on the metal at all, it was impeccable. It also seems to take standard rails on the side, but I'd have to compare it with a set that isn't installed.

I've only seen one place that actually listed the correct product:
http://www.bcs.tv/store/model_detail.cfm?id=795647

Everything else seems to have vanished on this server. I'm not sure if it ever went into production, but with the label "TESTSERVER2", I'm assuming either this was a prototype or one of the first made to demonstrate what it is capable of doing. I just fired up the server to see if there was any operating system on the server. It is using the Mandriva operating system (2008.0), which I think was installed by the last person that had this server; I doubt it is the original install since it is from the P3 era.

---------------------------------------












---------------------------------------

Very large images:

http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_1.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_2.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_3.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_4.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_5.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_6.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_7.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_8.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/.../sencore_9.JPG
http://thideras.com/images/projects/...sencore_10.JPG

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-10, 11:17 PM Thread Starter   #650
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
The time has come and the operating systems are installing.

I have three dual socket P3 systems that are going to be formatted and installed to shortly. The Compaq DL360, Dell PowerEdge 2550 and the Sencore are all going through the paces. "The paces for what?", you might ask. It is time that I finally got down to the "fun" stuff in servers. If you have a keen mind, you may have noticed that they all share the same processor and could figure out what I want to do with them. Otherwise, I will give a hint: Cluster.

The operating system of choice, is, of course, CentOS 5.5. The Compaq is in the progress of installing the operating system as I type this. The other two systems have been hooked up (data/power) for the first time in many months. I've already fired them both up to make sure they are functional and all systems are go. My goal is to have the operating systems installed by tomorrow night, and the configuration time is unknown; since I have no experience in this field.

After this is working, I may tear it down and use it for other nefarious purposes. But for now, they will be my testing grounds and have the magic smoke beaten out of them.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

Last edited by thideras; 09-27-10 at 12:52 AM.
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 11:41 AM   #651
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
The time has come and the operating systems are installing.

I have three dual socket P3 systems that are going to be formatted and installed to shortly. The Compaq DL360, Dell PowerEdge 2550 and the Sencore are all going through the paces. "The paces for what?", you might ask. It is time that I finally got down to the "fun" stuff in servers. If you have a keen mind, you may have noticed that they all share the same processor and could figure out what I want to do with them. Otherwise, I will give a hint: Cluster.

The operating system of choice, is, of course, CentOS 5.5. The Compaq is in the progress of installing the operating system as I type this. The other two systems have been hooked up (data/power) for the first time in many months. I've already fired them both up to make sure they are functional and all systems are go. My goal is to have the operating systems installed by tomorrow night, and the configuration time is unknown; since I have no experience in this field.

After this is working, I may tear it down and use it for other nefarious purposes. But for now, they will be my testing grounds and have the magic smoke beaten out of them.
Woot! Ive always wanted to see a cluster build from the ground up, cant wait!

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 11:43 AM Thread Starter   #652
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I just need to figure out what can run on it as a test. I'll look later tonight or if work dies down a bit.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 07:27 PM Thread Starter   #653
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Starting to get excited. I got three servers that I will simply explain as "Compaq", "Dell" and "Sencore". Compaq is currently online, updated and configured for a cluster. Dell is currently installing the operating system and needs to go through the full configuration before I can get started. Sencore is still off.

I actually got to the part where I run the cluster, so it seems it is configured properly. I can't actually test it since the cluster has to have "quorum" before it actually starts. With only one node, that isn't possible. This all seems a tad too easy, so I'm sure there is something I'm missing or bound to really screw up.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 07:28 PM   #654
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
I love me some Centos, my server runs it. Getting samba without disabling the security features (selinux as an example) was a bit painful but I finally managed. That plus webmin is just slicker than snot on a hot handrail.

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 07:32 PM Thread Starter   #655
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
That plus webmin is just slicker than snot on a hot handrail.
That is just cheating.

*thumps chest*
Proud to be command line only server.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 09:46 PM Thread Starter   #656
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Compaq and Dell both are configured and are running in an active cluster. Sencore has just finished installing the operating system. I hit an issue with installing the operating systems and it was a PITA to work around. I somehow misplaced my PS/2 extension cable, so I couldn't move my keyboard at all. You can see my monitor on the left and the edge of the keyboard sitting in the rack. They are a good 12ft apart.


__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 11:09 PM   #657
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
So what exactly can you do with a cluster?



Heck, I can barely figure out what to do with my quadcore.

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-10, 11:34 PM Thread Starter   #658
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
All three are up and running in a cluster. This was substantially easier than I thought it was going to be. The hard part seems to be finding programs that run on a cluster rather than getting a cluster up and running. I've been trying to get Linpack MP (for clusters) to compile, but I'm hitting some snags.




Quote:
Originally Posted by neonblingbling View Post
So what exactly can you do with a cluster?



Heck, I can barely figure out what to do with my quadcore.
Good question, I'm trying to find something to test out the cluster; but I'm having a very difficult time. So, if anyone knows how to use one, I'd be interested.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-10, 02:48 AM   #659
j0rd
Member

 
j0rd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia

 
can you fold against a cluster.?

__________________
J0rd_

‾pɹ0ɾ
j0rd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-10, 03:04 AM Thread Starter   #660
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0rd View Post
can you fold against a cluster.?
No, the programs have to be specially written for clusters. It isn't like a dual/quad core system where you simply add more cores and load them up. The information has to be sent a special way so the other nodes can work on them. I know that they said they were not doing a cluster version until the SMP is working good. So that will be a long way out or "never". I think Linpack will be a good place to start and show that it is working as intended. I just need to get it to compile...

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding > Project Logs
Project Logs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?