Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

[O/C]Swiftech MCW80 - Riding the Lightning

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-10, 03:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
Overclockers.com

 
Overclockers.com's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 1998

 
[O/C]Swiftech MCW80 - Riding the Lightning


Swiftech MCW80 – Riding the Lightning
by Maxi


Quote:
When you have two cards as formidable as these two, it’s only natural to want to squeeze every last bit of performance out of them. Enter Swiftech’s high-efficiency MCW80…
Return to article to continue reading.

Discuss this article below. If you are interested in contributing to the front page (www.overclockers.com), please feel free to contact splat, mdcomp, or hokiealumnus. For the latest updates, follow Overclockers.com on Twitter (@Overclockerscom).
Overclockers.com is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-10, 04:31 PM   #2
Peeved Kitten
Member

 
Peeved Kitten's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
So, please forgive my ignorance, but is this a block for non ref cards? I'd love to WC my Matrix 5870, even if I have to go universal.

__________________
System: Darkside
CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.
Peeved Kitten is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-10, 11:36 PM   #3
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Yes it is. You need to go to Swiftech site and make sure the plates fit for the GPU block. Then you buy aftermarket heatsinks for each ram chip and Vreg block. make sure you got some minor fannage on the heatsinks, your golden.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 09:28 AM   #4
Peeved Kitten
Member

 
Peeved Kitten's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conumdrum View Post
Yes it is. You need to go to Swiftech site and make sure the plates fit for the GPU block. Then you buy aftermarket heatsinks for each ram chip and Vreg block. make sure you got some minor fannage on the heatsinks, your golden.
Once my wedding is over (this Sat the 23rd) and we get back from the honeymoon, I think I may put a Matrix platinum under water. If it fits.

__________________
System: Darkside
CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.
Peeved Kitten is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 10:53 AM   #5
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeved Kitten View Post
Once my wedding is over (this Sat the 23rd) and we get back from the honeymoon, I think I may put a Matrix platinum under water. If it fits.
Hit me up later for the Ttape you should get etc. And how to clean the chips for the Ttape.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 11:25 AM   #6
Peeved Kitten
Member

 
Peeved Kitten's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conumdrum View Post
Hit me up later for the Ttape you should get etc. And how to clean the chips for the Ttape.
Will do! thanks!

__________________
System: Darkside
CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.
Peeved Kitten is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 11:58 AM   #7
Nebulous
Señor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Hot diggity!! I was hoping they had a block out for the Matrix 5870 as I have one o deez badboys enroute to me thanx to Gwiggles

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 12:57 PM   #8
Peeved Kitten
Member

 
Peeved Kitten's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
Hot diggity!! I was hoping they had a block out for the Matrix 5870 as I have one o deez badboys enroute to me thanx to Gwiggles
Any chance you could document your block install? I'd love to see it done before I attempt it.

__________________
System: Darkside
CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.
Peeved Kitten is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 01:13 PM   #9
Nebulous
Señor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeved Kitten View Post
Any chance you could document your block install? I'd love to see it done before I attempt it.
Sure I can do that with pics and all

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 01:27 PM   #10
Peeved Kitten
Member

 
Peeved Kitten's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
Sure I can do that with pics and all
Your awesome I'm on the fence right now because I want another matrix, but I want to wait and see how the 6990 is or maybe get a 5970 when the 6xxx comes out. I just really like the Matrix.

I had a thought and please tell me if I'm just nuts, but on these cards by moving to WCing you actually remove a some heat generation and power consumption from the board, IE the fan generating heat and consuming power while spinning. Am I right on the assumption that the board voltage might be a bit more stable without having to power a fan etc.?

__________________
System: Darkside
CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.
Peeved Kitten is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 05:40 PM   #11
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeved Kitten View Post
So, please forgive my ignorance, but is this a block for non ref cards? I'd love to WC my Matrix 5870, even if I have to go universal.
Yep, the MSI Lightnings I used this block on are both custom PCB cards. You might even be able to do what I did and leave the stock VRM cooling in place and not have to buy anything else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeved Kitten View Post
I had a thought and please tell me if I'm just nuts, but on these cards by moving to WCing you actually remove a some heat generation and power consumption from the board, IE the fan generating heat and consuming power while spinning. Am I right on the assumption that the board voltage might be a bit more stable without having to power a fan etc.?
I doubt removing that small draw would mean anything, the design of the power circuit itself is what matters, but for sure it wont hurt.

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-10, 09:51 PM   #12
sunrunner20
Masta Tweeka!

 
sunrunner20's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conumdrum View Post
Hit me up later for the Ttape you should get etc. And how to clean the chips for the Ttape.
Mmm pencil erasers.

__________________
Desktop:
Q6600 G0@3Ghz,eVGA 8800gts,P5k Premium,2x2gb Kingston,120gig Agility 3,Seasonic S12-600HT
Laptop:
Toshiba M7(Tablet): T2300, 4gb ram, 160gb seagate
My Heatware
sunrunner20 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-10, 09:33 AM   #13
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Mark....when did you start writing?
Nice article, and great overclock on that 480!

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-10, 12:48 PM   #14
soldierguy
Member

 
soldierguy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California

 
Great review. Thanks

__________________
System: Win 7/64 home prem,Cosmos Cooler 1000 case,Corsair AX1200 power supply,i7-4771 Haswell 3.5GHz , Zalman cnps20lq liquid cpu cooler, MSI Z87 Mpower mobo, MEM 8Gx2/GSkill F3-1600,Radeon 7970 x 2 Crossfire, Samsun 840 EVO SSD 250GB + WD Raptor 300gb x 2 HD ,steelseries Akari mouse, Leopold keyboard,Dell G2410H 24" 1920x1080 x 3 Eyefinity
soldierguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-10, 06:52 AM   #15
e6600

 
e6600's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles

 
hows the mcw80 vs the 60?
i heard that mcw80 cools bigger gpus like 5870/480 etc much better than the 60 but with higher restriction

same with gtz and xt?

__________________
Heat
e6600 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-10, 10:22 AM   #16
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
I think so. The GTZ and XT cpu block use the same as the 60 and the 80. GTZ/60 pins vs XT/80 microchannels.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?