Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

[O/C]Intel i7 2600K (Sandy Bridge) Review

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-11, 01:49 PM   #121
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Intel have a short supply of CPU's? That would be a first.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-11, 04:53 PM   #122
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
Better stock up on CPU's Intel for all the RMA's you'll be getting from the enthusiasts out there
I think most people in this form will buy a new Intel CPU if they kill it. I have not in the past, however i think maybe i will this time when i push for 5+GHZ and if it does not make it i will kill it LOL Jk.

They way i look at it with multi overcloking it won't be the boards fault it's all intels fault if it won't make it to 5 Ghz stable.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-11, 06:14 PM   #123
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Well if Intel does not want me to OC their chips then they should not have brought out the unlocked ones...and restrict the mobo people to the voltages they warn us about...it is like telling me not to race a Porsche pass the speed limit

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-11, 06:53 PM   #124
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
One thing intel could do now that you have to buy k unlocked cpu's is have no warranty, that would suck, like they do with my motocross bike it has no warranty and cost $8199+

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 01:59 AM   #125
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
One thing intel could do now that you have to buy k unlocked cpu's is have no warranty, that would suck, like they do with my motocross bike it has no warranty and cost $8199+
They might get away with that in the states, but not the UK. All goods here, by law, are sold with an implied warranty.

http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-righ...t/your-rights/

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 12:19 PM   #126
Dooms101
Member


 
Dooms101's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: under a heatsink

 
Wow so if you can't change the BCLK what's the fun in OC'ing these? I don't see sitting comfortably in Windows just moving some sliders around to be fun at all... Maybe Intel got sick of RMA's over the years from OC'd chips and decided that they would implement it in a 'safe' way. Although it probably has more to do with the architecture of the chips. Also... how will RAM and other BCLK based devices be fine-tuned? I am not very excited about SB anymore, maybe I am just looking at it wrong.

__________________
[Dell Latitude E6530]............................[i7-3540M 3Ghz, 16GB, 750GB, 1080p LED]
[Hackintosh].......................[i3-3225 3.3Ghz, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SSD, GTX650 1GB]
Area51 Case Mod- - - - - - - - ODD Window Mod - - - - - - - -NZXT Phantom Triple Rad
Dooms101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 12:43 PM   #127
DaveHCYJ
Senior Member

 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Diego

 
You can adjust the RAM independently. While my parts are still in the mail, I'm rather looking forward to this new method of OCing. I always had bad luck in the past with either the RAM holding back the CPU or the other way around. It always seemed like I could choose some ratio for the RAM but I would either be stuck with it not quite stable or the next lower ratio would leave too much performance on the table. In some of the reviews I've read the boards had options to adjust the CPU in 100mhz incraments via the multiplier and adjust the RAM independently in 50mhz incraments.

True its "easier" and that takes the fun out of it for some people, but you can still have fun seeing how far you can push things.
DaveHCYJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 12:51 PM   #128
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
The boards I've tried had to implement changes in BIOS, so you'd be changing numbers in BIOS, not sliders in Windows. Well, you could change in Windows, but it restarts the system, so you may as well in BIOS.

Tweaking for RAM comes via multipliers and timings. It's not as finely-tuned as prior generations, but the difference a few MHz makes is negligible unless you're benchmarking....and if you're benchmarking for short periods, bclk adjustment is just fine. It's for 24/7 use you should steer clear. At least that's how I'm approaching it.

It has little to do with RMAs and much more to do with architecture. Most functions a northbridge used to serve are on the CPU die. Adjusting that just isn't something that is doable because it changes too many things. If anything, Intel is semi-endorsing overclocking by continuing the K-series.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 01:33 PM   #129
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
The boards I've tried had to implement changes in BIOS, so you'd be changing numbers in BIOS, not sliders in Windows. Well, you could change in Windows, but it restarts the system, so you may as well in BIOS.

Tweaking for RAM comes via multipliers and timings. It's not as finely-tuned as prior generations, but the difference a few MHz makes is negligible unless you're benchmarking....and if you're benchmarking for short periods, bclk adjustment is just fine. It's for 24/7 use you should steer clear. At least that's how I'm approaching it.

It has little to do with RMAs and much more to do with architecture. Most functions a northbridge used to serve are on the CPU die. Adjusting that just isn't something that is doable because it changes too many things. If anything, Intel is semi-endorsing overclocking by continuing the K-series.
What voltage were you running ? I am a few Mhz short of where you were at 50XXMhz. I just cant seem to get it. Seen you on Hw bot.

__________________
ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 01:37 PM   #130
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
It took just over 1.5Vcore to reach 5GHz benchable. It would not pass WP1024 there either. Seems like some of these are all over the map. Miah's sample did 5.1GHz at 1.45V stable, but I have a feeling that's one of the more golden chips out there. Mine is probably average. There are worse samples floating around too.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 02:53 PM   #131
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
Ok thanks, just wanted to get a rough idea of where I was standing.

__________________
ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 02:58 PM   #132
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
Man anything over 4 ghz on stock air is awesome! I can't wait to see what 2011 has to offer though!

__________________
I have old stuff!
Tokae is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 03:02 PM   #133
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Just for clarification, that is not the stock air cooler. Anyone buying one of these with the expectation that cooler is going to come with it should not be. That is an upgraded Intel cooler that's looks similar to the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro as far as size/weight/performance goes.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 03:02 PM   #134
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
If I hit 4.5 on air I will be a very happy camper.

/ ordered a cooler master 212+ to cool mine.

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 03:32 PM   #135
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordkosc View Post
If I hit 4.5 on air I will be a very happy camper.

/ ordered a cooler master 212+ to cool mine.
Excellent choice, thats what i am running and it has served me well, from 775, 1156 stright through to 1155

__________________
ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 06:06 PM   #136
PolRoger
Member

 
PolRoger's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordkosc View Post
If I hit 4.5 on air I will be a very happy camper.

/ ordered a cooler master 212+ to cool mine.
I think even average SB chips will be able to do 4.5GHz (daily with decent air) and load vcore in the 1.325v to 1.35v range. I suspect better SB chips will do it with even less vcore or run even higher clocks within that same voltage range.

__________________
4770K/3770K/2600K on a Dimastech Bench table.
PolRoger is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 06:43 PM   #137
DaveHCYJ
Senior Member

 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Diego

 
I would hope these will be able to do 4.5GHz for daily use, otherwise what is the point of getting a K series chip? The non K 2600 is unlocked up to 4.2GHz...
DaveHCYJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 07:54 PM   #138
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post
I would hope these will be able to do 4.5GHz for daily use, otherwise what is the point of getting a K series chip? The non K 2600 is unlocked up to 4.2GHz...
Do you have a link that i can read about this, also is it the base multiplier not turbo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhysX View Post
Excellent choice, thats what i am running and it has served me well, from 775, 1156 stright through to 1155
What temps do you incur when running prime95 with 1155 cooler master 212+.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

Last edited by wingman99; 01-11-11 at 08:04 PM.
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 09:28 PM   #139
DaveHCYJ
Senior Member

 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Diego

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Do you have a link that i can read about this, also is it the base multiplier not turbo.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/t...-2100-tested/2

Chart in the middle of the page has the max multiplier. Its the turbo multiplier, not the base multiplier. All OCing in sandybridge is done via turbo rather than the base clocks.

The i3's turbo multiplier is completely locked.
i5 and i7 you can bump the turbo multiplier up to 4 notches higher than its stock speed.
The K series chips can all go up to a multiplier of 57.
DaveHCYJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-11, 09:44 PM   #140
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
so pretty much non-K chips are maxed out at a 400mhz overclock?

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?