Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Eyefinity setup

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-11, 12:35 PM Thread Starter   #1
Susteren
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Eyefinity setup


With graphics card is the best for an eyefinity setup (prize/preformance)?

Asus 6850 crossfire
Asus 6870 crossfire
Asus 6950 crossfire
Asus 5870

Thanks!
Susteren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-11, 12:40 PM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
3 monitors at what res? If its 1920(x3)x1080 I would go 6970.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-11, 01:40 PM Thread Starter   #3
Susteren
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
3 monitors at what res? If its 1920(x3)x1080 I would go 6970.
Yes i think that res. do you mean one 6970? Becouse of my budget (arround 500 euro).
Susteren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-11, 02:14 PM   #4
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Yes, one.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-11, 01:48 AM Thread Starter   #5
Susteren
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
So one 6970 is better than 6870 crossfire xd ?
Susteren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-11, 02:40 AM Thread Starter   #6
Susteren
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
And how about Asus EAH6850 in tri-fire xd ?
Susteren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-11, 03:37 AM   #7
sandyduff
Great Scot! Member

 
sandyduff's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!

 
One 6970 now... another when you can afford it...

__________________
4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
MSI 7990
850w Akasa Venom
1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

"we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead
sandyduff is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 05:29 PM   #8
phatty2x4
Member

 
phatty2x4's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon

 
Just make sure you have at least one DisplayPort monitor. I love my eyefinity.

__________________
3930k@4.7ghz, ASRock Extreme9, G.SKILL Ripjaws 8x4gb @2133 9-11-10-28,
ASUS 7970 Matrix Platinum 3GB @stock(1.1ghz c, 1.65ghz mem), Samsung EVO 840 250gb, 2x1TB, 1x4TB WD black's,
Corsair AX1200, 3x 27" Asus VN279Q, Corsair h100

Heatware
phatty2x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-11, 06:53 AM Thread Starter   #9
Susteren
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Or an active adapter ;P

And how about one 5870 MATRIX =
Susteren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-11, 06:34 PM   #10
phatty2x4
Member

 
phatty2x4's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Susteren View Post
Or an active adapter ;P

And how about one 5870 MATRIX =
Anytime I read anything about using an active adapter, I hear nothing but problems. Some work, some don't, one works fine for one person, but not for another, etc and so forth. I didn't want to mess around with them, so I just ended up getting a DP monitor and I haven't had any issues. If you want to read about the adapter nightmares, go over to widescreengamingforums.com and you'll find plenty of angry people. Now I'm not saying it won't work, but you might have to go through a couple different kinds before you find one that works. Don't say I didn't warn you.

__________________
3930k@4.7ghz, ASRock Extreme9, G.SKILL Ripjaws 8x4gb @2133 9-11-10-28,
ASUS 7970 Matrix Platinum 3GB @stock(1.1ghz c, 1.65ghz mem), Samsung EVO 840 250gb, 2x1TB, 1x4TB WD black's,
Corsair AX1200, 3x 27" Asus VN279Q, Corsair h100

Heatware
phatty2x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-11, 06:38 PM   #11
hajalie24
Member



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan

 
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815309008

I use this on my 5970 and it works fine. Since I'm too cheap to order a dvi cable I'm using my old adapters, so I'm using mini dp to dvi, then dvi to hdmi, and hdmi to dvi lol.

__________________
NZXT Tempest Case
Intel DP67BG Mobo with Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7ghz
12GB DDR3 1333
128 Crucial M4 SSD
750gb Samsung Spinpoint Sata Hard Drive
750gb Western Digital Sata Hard Drive
2x 2TB Samsung F3 Hard Drives
2x R9 290 In Crossfire
27" 2560x1440 Shimian Monitor plus 2x 21.5" AOC e2243fw 1080p
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
HEAT
hajalie24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-11, 03:48 AM   #12
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajalie24 View Post
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815309008

I use this on my 5970 and it works fine. Since I'm too cheap to order a dvi cable I'm using my old adapters, so I'm using mini dp to dvi, then dvi to hdmi, and hdmi to dvi lol.
Same one I have, works great! Though I only use it as a desktop, not a gaming monitor....

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?