Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

3 Step Guide to Overclock Your AMD Phenom

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-11, 04:44 PM   #21
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
IMOG, I agree. I guess I couldn't figure out why that information was included at all since there's no further reference to it.

Hopefully we won't get too many people asking if their NB chipset voltage is too high ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-11, 05:11 PM   #22
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Write a better version and we can publish it. Other than that, isn't it a good thing to tell people an approximate base and tell them where to get the specific information for their processor? The information is all there, and you need to know the base numbers before you start overclocking.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-11, 06:08 PM   #23
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
Other than that, isn't it a good thing to tell people an approximate base and tell them where to get the specific information for their processor? The information is all there, and you need to know the base numbers before you start overclocking.
The information about chipset voltage is misleading for anyone using an IGP chipset and there are no links to the chipset information.

Last edited by QuietIce; 02-28-11 at 06:26 PM.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-11, 06:37 PM   #24
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
I see what you are saying finally, sorry. Your point is good.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-11, 06:45 PM   #25
Peeved Kitten
Member

 
Peeved Kitten's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
DOLK!!!! You the man!

__________________
System: Darkside
CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.
Peeved Kitten is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-11, 12:14 PM   #26
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
I did take a relook at this the other day Quite. You are right, the voltage for the NB with an IGP based board is 1.3v. We should change it to reflect properly. There should also be a link to the Thermal papers near the specifications, people have been directed to that page for more information.


My ego is on an infinite plane level, but only finite in nature.

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-11, 02:46 PM   #27
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
There should also be a link to the Thermal papers near the specifications, people have been directed to that page for more information.
I think it was a great idea to include links to the processor specs! Just remember that Tech Doc #43375 doesn't have any chipset information in it ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-11, 04:30 PM   #28
Marshmallow64
Member

 
Marshmallow64's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California

 
Good stuff as usual.

__________________
:: Gaming Desktop ::
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz 1.4v | MOBO: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 570 (732/1464/1900) | RAM: 4 GB G-Skill DDR3 1600
SSD: OCZ Vertex 120 GB | HD1: WD Black 640 GB | HD2: WD Black 2 TB
SC: Xfi Titanium Fatal1ty | PSU: Corsair HX 620 W
KB: Saitek Eclipse | MOUSE: Logitech MX 518
CASE: Antec 1200 | OS: Windows 7 x64
:: Laptop ::
MOD: Macbook Pro 13 2011 | CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.3 Ghz
RAM: 4 GB DDR3 1333 | OS: OS X Lion 10.7.2
Marshmallow64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-11, 06:54 PM   #29
turbohans

 
turbohans's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: n43, w86

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Almost?

It goes to google. It doesnt work.
LOL Well it was the first link on google though.

Very very nice article though, I plan on showing this to my cousin that just built himself his first AMD setup.

__________________
This message was printed on 100% recycled electrons
i7-2600k@4.6ghz(1.380v), 16gb Corsair DDR3, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, gtx465, 3x500gb WD's
"It does not take knowledge to be genius, it takes a different way of thinking..."
And if you think about it too hard you will wonder why you did.
Build your computer Overclock it! find a cure.
Don't like looking out dirty windows? Live life without walls; Learn how to build an operating system
F@H - ExtremeOC
turbohans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-05-11, 03:45 PM   #30
TheQuadFather

 
TheQuadFather's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hampshire, England

 
i noticed in the end, you used folding at home as an example for a stress test, if i remember correctly they stress especially not to use it as one as sending back naff calculations from an unstable O.C will/can mess things up.

__________________
This is not the signature you are looking for.

Please Fold For Team32!
TheQuadFather is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-11, 02:16 AM   #31
Douken
Member

 
Douken's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
Finally haha, awesome guide. I read it completely like 3 times.

__________________
Main Rig RIP
BioStar TF7025-M2 AM2 X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHz| 2x1GB Patriot DDR2 800 @750MHz| 8800GT @ 666-980 | X-Fi Xtreme Music| 596GB | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470W

Main Rig
MSI 880GM-E41| AM3 Phenom II 640| 2x2GB G Skill Rip Jaws DDR3 1333 | Radeon HD 5670 | 596GB | Rosewill 500W


Imran Tam from EVE Online said once, "if your sausage looked anything like that, you should have checked the expiration date."
Douken is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-11, 04:14 PM   #32
andrethaiss
Registered

 
andrethaiss's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida

 
Thanks for the guide, just oc'd my phenom ii x4 from 2.8- 3.0 and seems pretty good so far, ive always been terrified by the blue bios screen, so i rarely venture there, thanks for the help!

Last edited by andrethaiss; 03-15-11 at 03:44 PM.
andrethaiss is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-11, 01:27 AM   #33
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
@ andrethaiss

Be a man, make that chip scream

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-11, 03:41 PM   #34
andrethaiss
Registered

 
andrethaiss's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
@ andrethaiss

Be a man, make that chip scream
Trust me, last time i tried to overclock a cpu, it didnt go to well lol

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 925 O.C (3.0 ghz)
GPU: ATI XFX 5770 (930/1300 O.C)
MOBO: ASUS M4A785-M
RAM: 4GB PNY DDR2
HDD: 1TB Caviar Black 64MB/ 7200RPM
COOLER: ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
FANS: 4x120mm, 2x40mm, 1x80mm
PSU: EagleTech VoltasX 500w
MOUSE: Logitech MX518 // KEYBOARD: Saitek Eclispe II
MONITOR: Acer G20
5h
andrethaiss is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-11, 10:40 PM   #35
cold.nut

Member

 
cold.nut's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Utah

 
great guide Dolk ! this helped me out a lot back in my days of Deneb.

__________________


"If you aren't having fun, then you're doing it wrong!"
cold.nut is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-11, 11:03 AM   #36
ToRpEdA667
Registered

 
ToRpEdA667's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011

 
Talking


Thanks for the guide mate ists brilliant even a guy like me who came bck to gaming desktop after 4 yrs of ps3 can learn and understand things easy.
you rock man
ToRpEdA667 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-11, 08:41 PM   #37
Big62John
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Smile Thank You very Much


Have Just Buit a beast (1100T BE on a Gigabyte GA890FXA07U mobo) and wamnt to try overclocking it but didnt know where to start. Good to know the Tj Max as I couldnt find it anywhere and Core-temp set the alarm for 71DegC.
Could have been nasty I think.

Thanks again, will keep you posted on progress.
Big62John is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-11, 08:48 PM   #38
Sinsational
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PA

 
A bit confused


theoretically speaking (based on this info) if I want my 1100t to 4.0ghz. I would need to set fsb to 211, set multipliers of CPU to 19, nb to 12 as well as htt to 12. with NB volt to 1.250. and steadily increase my CPU voltage as needed?
Sinsational is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-11, 08:55 PM   #39
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinsational View Post
theoretically speaking (based on this info) if I want my 1100t to 4.0ghz. I would need to set fsb to 211, set multipliers of CPU to 19, nb to 12 as well as htt to 12. with NB volt to 1.250. and steadily increase my CPU voltage as needed?
That would be one way to go at it. Yes. I would suggest you start with lower volts on the CPU-NB... something like 1.175 and see if you get good results. I've run 1.250V on the CPU-NB in the past, but I was pushing the frequency on it past 2700MHz... I think you could get the 211x12=2532 frequency with a bit less volts which will in turn lower your overall core temperature a bit.


__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-11, 04:18 PM   #40
Sinsational
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXSebaSXx View Post
That would be one way to go at it. Yes. I would suggest you start with lower volts on the CPU-NB... something like 1.175 and see if you get good results. I've run 1.250V on the CPU-NB in the past, but I was pushing the frequency on it past 2700MHz... I think you could get the 211x12=2532 frequency with a bit less volts which will in turn lower your overall core temperature a bit.

Thank you for your reply. yes, think I'll start lower and move up as needed. I'm going to give it a go this weekend! Thanks again.
Sinsational is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?