Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > HTPC
HTPC All your home theater PC needs.
Forum Jump

Silverstone GD05B HTPC Case

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-11, 02:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
Overclockers.com

 
Overclockers.com's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 1998

 
Silverstone GD05B HTPC Case


Quote:
Today I will be reviewing the Silverstone GD05B HTPC case for MicroATX, Mini DTX and Mini ITX based systems.
... Return to article to continue reading.

Last edited by I.M.O.G.; 04-09-11 at 12:09 AM.
Overclockers.com is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-11, 03:27 PM   #2
Francstorm
New Member

 
Francstorm's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brazil

 
Question seems...


the only problem is that this one seems to be a little bad organized for me
then comes the fact that is is too tight for equipment.
But it is a case for "minis" so my complains are baseless complains ?
Francstorm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 12:11 PM   #3
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Once again, yet another HTPC case without an IR receiver.
I don't get how case manufactures can call this a HTPC case without one.
At this point in time, its simple a standard Desktop style case.
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 11:38 PM   #4
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Jay, I'm not a big HTPC follower, but aren't a lot of matx boards coming with bluetooth? It also seems most IR remotes come with their own USB receivers. I suppose it would be a nice HTPC case feature, but honestly I hadn't thought about the need for for IR in the case... It's also the lower budget option for remote controls though, so from that perspective, it would be especially nice to be included on a cheap $90 HTPC case.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-11, 12:18 AM   #5
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
Jay, I'm not a big HTPC follower, but aren't a lot of matx boards coming with bluetooth? It also seems most IR remotes come with their own USB receivers. I suppose it would be a nice HTPC case feature, but honestly I hadn't thought about the need for for IR in the case... It's also the lower budget option for remote controls though, so from that perspective, it would be especially nice to be included on a cheap $90 HTPC case.
I just dont like how they call this a HTPC case.
HTPC is a trendy thing now, and IMHO, manufactures are simply calling desktop cases HTPC cases.

So we essentially now have towers and HTPC cases.

Sure you can run bluetooth (via USB), but what remote control is actually bluetooth?
Remotes are almost always IR, along with your TV. So it might just be me, but i think IR is a must have feature.

I will use my case for example
http://www.antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=NzE4
That is an Antec Fusion Remote (i got the one without the remote as I already have one)

If your running a HTPC the remote is a must.
If your running Windows, and Media Center, the user experience is so much better with a remote.

Same goes with the Linux guys and Myth TV

Or Media Portal, Beyond TV, MediOS, ect.

But like I said, maybe its me.
The way I see it is, its just another desktop case unless it has specific HTPC features, and the IR receiver is a BIG ONE.
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-11, 12:41 AM   #6
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
never liked IR receivers. i hate the whole line of sight thing. and tbh... harmony remotes on the HTPC suck BALLS... their lag in sending ir communications is so nerve racking. my ati remote wonder pluss is instant and RF... so i can be at the other end of the upstairs in my room hit next and it will change a song etc etc etc.

and really... complaining about the fans when you didnt even try undervolting them.... i have the same case. the two right side case fans at 5v cool my ENTIRE system, and are silent, got rid of the left side intake, and flipped the right side to be exhaust.... getting rid of the fan filters gets rid of alot of fan noise too. alright review, but it doesnt do the case justice.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-11, 02:03 AM   #7
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
This is a pretty popular HTPC remote that uses bluetooth:
http://www.overclockers.com/dinovomini

I also have an nmedia remote and a lenovo remote which both use proprietary USB dongles that don't require line of sight. My htpc is in a cabinet in my entertainment center, behind a marbled glass door... Not sure if IR would work through it.

I looked around, but didn't have an easy time finding many other bluetooth HTPC remotes - I thought higher end htpc remotes used them, but maybe the fancy universal remotes do? Or maybe I'm in left field...

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 12:20 PM   #8
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
This is a pretty popular HTPC remote that uses bluetooth:
http://www.overclockers.com/dinovomini

I also have an nmedia remote and a lenovo remote which both use proprietary USB dongles that don't require line of sight. My htpc is in a cabinet in my entertainment center, behind a marbled glass door... Not sure if IR would work through it.

I looked around, but didn't have an easy time finding many other bluetooth HTPC remotes - I thought higher end htpc remotes used them, but maybe the fancy universal remotes do? Or maybe I'm in left field...
even the most expensive harmony remote uses lame IR.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 02:43 PM   #9
IrishAssassin
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
never liked IR receivers. i hate the whole line of sight thing. and tbh... harmony remotes on the HTPC suck BALLS... their lag in sending ir communications is so nerve racking. my ati remote wonder pluss is instant and RF... so i can be at the other end of the upstairs in my room hit next and it will change a song etc etc etc.

and really... complaining about the fans when you didnt even try undervolting them.... i have the same case. the two right side case fans at 5v cool my ENTIRE system, and are silent, got rid of the left side intake, and flipped the right side to be exhaust.... getting rid of the fan filters gets rid of alot of fan noise too. alright review, but it doesnt do the case justice.
I have very little noticeable lag on my Harmony 700 controlling my XBMC setup, so it doesn't suck for everyone.

__________________
Gaming Rig
cpu - Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.5 gHz
mobo - Asus P7P55-E LX
vid card - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB @ 850core/1700shader/2000memory
ram - GSkill GBNQ 3x2gb DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24 1T
hd - WD Black 640gb - OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
psu - Corsair TX750
sound - Asus Xonar Essence STX
case - Lian-Li PC-60FNWB
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
PSN: Aenimosity
IrishAssassin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 11:42 PM   #10
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Already have a Logitech dinovo mini.
And I use a remote.
The mini is a good wireless keyboard, but a remote is the best interface for a TV.
Its Simple, and you dont need to teach a guest that comes over how to use it.

It so much nicer being able to lay down and use a remote with one hand.
Something you cant do with a keyboard.

If you guys dont like IR, fine, you should demand a Bluetooth or RF reviver built into the case so you dont have anything extra pluged into the back of the case in a usb port.
Like i said before, its just another desktop case unless is actually has HTPC specific features.
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 11:54 PM   #11
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY_III View Post
Already have a Logitech dinovo mini.
And I use a remote.
The mini is a good wireless keyboard, but a remote is the best interface for a TV.
Its Simple, and you dont need to teach a guest that comes over how to use it.

It so much nicer being able to lay down and use a remote with one hand.
Something you cant do with a keyboard.

If you guys dont like IR, fine, you should demand a Bluetooth or RF reviver built into the case so you dont have anything extra pluged into the back of the case in a usb port.
Like i said before, its just another desktop case unless is actually has HTPC specific features.
and what are "htpc specific features"

IMO a case that goes along with the look of other home theater equipment like a reciever, that doesnt stand out like a sore thumb, is a perfect canidate for a htpc case... and as such the GD05B is.

if an IR reciever makes or breaks the "HTPC" case designation then call me dumb cus thats a horid way to classify a case.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-11, 12:49 AM   #12
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
and what are "htpc specific features"

IMO a case that goes along with the look of other home theater equipment like a reciever, that doesnt stand out like a sore thumb, is a perfect canidate for a htpc case... and as such the GD05B is.

if an IR reciever makes or breaks the "HTPC" case designation then call me dumb cus thats a horid way to classify a case.
What are HTPC specific features, well anything extra that is fo a HTPC case that a standard desktop case doesnt have.

Other than support for USB 2.0, these current cases are not much different than 10+ year old ATX desktop cases other than the you cant find them in "Almond" colour
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-11, 07:26 AM   #13
superflychris
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cayman Islands

 
All I look for in a HTPC case is something of a size and look that will fit into my audio rack, so for me this is an HTPC case.

Additionally the low intensity power/activity LED, the ample cooling to allow for quiet running (though I hear the silent fans aren't silent - I'm going to replace and undervolt those anyway).

I think we'll have to agree that different people have different requirements from their HTPC case, this fits all my needs but clearly not JaY_III's. That's cool though. Everyone's different

__________________
Gigabyte Socket ATX Motherboard GA-770TA-UD3
Intel 80 GB X25M Mainstream SATA II SSD
Corsair XMS3 DHX 4GB
Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA
Corsair CMPSU-400CX
AMD Phenom II X4 955
XFX ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
NZXT Beta Evo Classic Series ATX
ViewSonic VX2265wm FuHzion 22-Inch LCD Monitor
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
superflychris is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-11, 02:34 PM   #14
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
All i am saying is this is not a HTPC case
But is a standard desktop case.

Yes you can use it for a HTPC, but you could also use a tower for that matter.


I just get annoyed at the manufactures for calling something the latest buzz word of the day in an attempt to get some more PR.
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-11, 03:20 PM   #15
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY_III View Post
All i am saying is this is not a HTPC case
But is a standard desktop case.

Yes you can use it for a HTPC, but you could also use a tower for that matter.


I just get annoyed at the manufactures for calling something the latest buzz word of the day in an attempt to get some more PR.
i totally agree man.

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-11, 08:45 PM   #16
emueyes
Registered

 
emueyes's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia

 
I just bought a GD05, but only now have I heard about the plastic front panel causing static issues. A quick tour with a DMM shows the USB and audio 'shield' shells aren't connected to the chassis ground, nor are the switches.

The impression I had when i bought it was that there was an aluminium skin over plastic, now it seems the whole front panel is plastic? (yes, that's how aluminium is spelled in Australia...)

The USB/audio ports seem easy enough to ground out, the switches not so much.

Anyone like to share experiences or point me in the right direction toward fixing this? I'm just googling around looking for clues atm.

And yes, had I have know all this, I would have bought a GD04 instead... Seems like a nice enough case apart from this issue.

Rob
emueyes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-11, 11:03 PM   #17
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
... like stated... i have had this case for quite some time... and have NEVER had any issues with static and the possible lack of grounding. the front SHOULD have an aluminum skin on it.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-28-11, 06:42 AM   #18
Big Mike
Senior Head of Import Performance



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY_III View Post
Once again, yet another HTPC case without an IR receiver.
I don't get how case manufactures can call this a HTPC case without one.
At this point in time, its simple a standard Desktop style case.
IR built in is dandy until you place the unit in an enclosed audio rack, then you either need a IR repeater or an expensive RF to IR system. I always use a standard MS eHome IR reciever and they always work great and I can put it wherever I need to. This case is designed to match the standard width of audio components, and is styled to match them (the round feet etc). This would be an awful design for a desktop case and I wouldn't even consider using it for one, but to fit in a space limited audio rack and mesh with my other components it was pretty good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
never liked IR receivers. i hate the whole line of sight thing. and tbh... harmony remotes on the HTPC suck BALLS... their lag in sending ir communications is so nerve racking. my ati remote wonder pluss is instant and RF... so i can be at the other end of the upstairs in my room hit next and it will change a song etc etc etc.

and really... complaining about the fans when you didnt even try undervolting them.... i have the same case. the two right side case fans at 5v cool my ENTIRE system, and are silent, got rid of the left side intake, and flipped the right side to be exhaust.... getting rid of the fan filters gets rid of alot of fan noise too. alright review, but it doesnt do the case justice.
This is a review of a case as shipped, certainly you could undervolt the fans and remove the fan grills etc, but I reviewed the case as delivered and based on it's intended use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
... like stated... i have had this case for quite some time... and have NEVER had any issues with static and the possible lack of grounding. the front SHOULD have an aluminum skin on it.
Maybe the design has changed, because there appears to be no aluminum in the face of mine, and even if there is it isn't grounded to the rest of the case, and static is definitely an issue. It's not a deal breaker since the case doesn't get touched that often, but it is a little concerning.

__________________
-Mike
Main: i7 950, EVGA Classified, 3x4gb Ballistix, 4870x2 @ 852/1000, 2 x 128gb Mushkin IOs, Dell S2309W, EK Supreme HF/MCP655/Koolance 487x2/PA120.3, TX850
HTPC: AMD X4 630 @ 3.1GHz, Prolimatech Samuel 17, M4A88T-M, 8GB DDR3 1333, HD3450, 2x1TB, Ceton InifiniTV4, Silverstone GD05B case
Gateway P-7805u FX/Gateway LT3119u w/ X25-M 80gb
My Heat My Website
Big Mike is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-11, 03:44 AM   #19
emueyes
Registered

 
emueyes's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Mike View Post

Maybe the design has changed, because there appears to be no aluminum in the face of mine, and even if there is it isn't grounded to the rest of the case, and static is definitely an issue. It's not a deal breaker since the case doesn't get touched that often, but it is a little concerning.

Yeah, I'm still concerned too; I'll end up using the front USB sockets a lot.

No aluminium here either though, I've tried pushing meter probes into inconspicuous areas.

The GD04 and GD05 seem very similar, including a cutout in the chassis of the GD05 that would line up perfectly with the power/reset switches on a GD04. I've had a conversation with the people at Altech (distributors for Silverstone here in Aus) about getting a GD04 panel and putting it on the 05. They were SUPER helpful, really great, but ended up deciding it wouldn't work.

When does the static 'zap' you? I've already found that the switches' bodies aren't grounded, perhaps they should be? I've grounded the USB sockets - easy, unscrew the panel, solder wire to ground point, replace - even though that shouldn't be needed.

Last edited by emueyes; 07-29-11 at 03:45 AM. Reason: fix spelling mistake
emueyes is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > HTPC
HTPC All your home theater PC needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?