Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

AMD Confirms They Will Support Bulldozer on AM3+

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-11, 10:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
Overclockers.com

 
Overclockers.com's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 1998

 
AMD Confirms They Will Support Bulldozer on AM3+



Quote:
Yep, in an interview with AMD today they confirmed they will officially support Bulldozer architecture CPUs on socket AM3+. Hardly news you say? Perhaps.
... Return to article to continue reading.
Overclockers.com is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-11, 01:41 PM   #2
eflat
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

 
"The pinouts on AM3 and AM3+ are different. However, AM3+ CPUs will physically fit in an AM3 socket." Hmmm....
eflat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-11, 01:44 PM   #3
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Remember, pinout != pin arrangement. You could have a 6-pin PCIe plug with the proper pinout or you could (easily...but not-so-brilliantly) reverse the positive and negative wires. Thus the pinout would be different, but it would physically fit in a 6-pin PCIe plug. He wouldn't go into detail regarding the pins changed and which pin does what.

Holy sleeper account too, welcome back!

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 09:13 AM   #4
saint19
Member

 
saint19's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011

 
AFAIK AM3 works with 938 active pins while AM3+ will be 940 active pins, ASUS, in a smart move built some CH IV mobos with the 940 active pins for use the current AM3 CPUs, that's the reason for the AM3+ support with a BIOS update.

__________________
CPU: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz with NB @ 3000MHz both using 1.325V
Cooling: EK Supreme HF Full Nickel + MCP655-D5 + MCR320-QP
Mobo: Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev. 2.0 with F4 BIOS
GPU: MSI GTX 680 Lightning 2GB
RAM: 2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1600MHz 8-8-8-21-1T 1.65V
SSD: Corsair Force GT 120GB
HDD: 2x500GB Itachi 3Gb/s
Case: Cooler Master HAF X
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Windows 7 Pro x64
Cooler Master CPU Cooler fight : Hyper TX3 Evo vs 212 Evo
saint19 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 09:22 AM   #5
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Vendors use OEMs for sockets, typically Foxconn (see photo here, look in the upper left of the socket). Unless ASUS had Foxconn specifically make an AM3 socket only for them, knowing AM3+ was coming, and what pins they needed where, I doubt that is the case. It's not fiscally smart to have a standardized socket customized for one company's use - it would be prohibitively expensive, especially for such a small order as only the top teir motherboards by one manufacturer.

He also didn't qualify that statement - AM3+ CPUs will physically fit in an AM3 socket. Period, without qualification. I don't think he would have said yes to that if it were actually that 'they'll only fit in non-standard AM3 sockets only on a few ASUS boards that they had custom made.'

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 05:51 PM   #6
ScorpiDragon
Registered

 
ScorpiDragon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
Vendors use OEMs for sockets, typically Foxconn (see photo here, look in the upper left of the socket). Unless ASUS had Foxconn specifically make an AM3 socket only for them, knowing AM3+ was coming, and what pins they needed where, I doubt that is the case. It's not fiscally smart to have a standardized socket customized for one company's use - it would be prohibitively expensive, especially for such a small order as only the top teir motherboards by one manufacturer.

He also didn't qualify that statement - AM3+ CPUs will physically fit in an AM3 socket. Period, without qualification. I don't think he would have said yes to that if it were actually that 'they'll only fit in non-standard AM3 sockets only on a few ASUS boards that they had custom made.'
Maybe, AMD are bringing out CPUs to support the 8x0 series and then other CPUs for the 9x0 series
ScorpiDragon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 06:10 PM   #7
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
I didn't get that indication at all from the conversation. Their only proclamation regarding socket support for Bulldozer architecture CPUs is that they will support them on the AM3+ platform (meaning 9x0 series). If you want to know whether it will operate on an 8x0 series board, you have to ask to the manufacturer.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-11, 10:10 PM   #8
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
...

Last edited by QuietIce; 06-07-11 at 06:04 AM.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-11, 04:37 AM   #9
Bijiont

 
Bijiont's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
It IS always good to hear it from the horse!


After the mess with AM2/AM2+ I don't blame AMD at all for not saying anything about BD fitting an AM3 board. Many people were more than a little aggravated at AMD because AM2+ CPUs wouldn't work in (especially) older AM2 boards when, in fact, it was the board manufacturers that were to blame because they didn't want to update the BIOS on an old board or had side-stepped an AM2 spec or two so it couldn't support AM2+. As happened with AM2 to AM2+ it wouldn't surprise me if some AM3 boards will be able to handle BD but I can certainly see AMD not wanting to say it since it's outside their control.
Makes sense. . . why would AMD put themselves back in the AM2/AM2+ boat again because it didn't win them any points with people. Unless you can promise backwards compatibility best just to

__________________
AMD 1100T BE | MoutainMod Ascension | 4.5Ghz [200x22.5] @ 1.48v | 16GB 1600 DDR3 [7-7-7-24-2T] @ 1.652v
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 3Gb | Antec 1200 PSU | D5 w/ dual GTX420

Folding User Stats
Bijiont is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-11, 05:44 AM   #10
ScorpiDragon
Registered

 
ScorpiDragon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
It IS always good to hear it from the horse!


After the mess with AM2/AM2+ I don't blame AMD at all for not saying anything about BD fitting an AM3 board. Many people were more than a little aggravated at AMD because AM2+ CPUs wouldn't work in (especially) older AM2 boards when, in fact, it was the board manufacturers that were to blame because they didn't want to update the BIOS on an old board or had side-stepped an AM2 spec or two so it couldn't support AM2+. As happened with AM2 to AM2+ it wouldn't surprise me if some AM3 boards will be able to handle BD but I can certainly see AMD not wanting to say it since it's outside their control.
Well, might as well wait for 990 FX/X boards then.
ScorpiDragon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 09:15 PM   #11
bennoculus

 
bennoculus's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoFla/Indiana

 
So I have a random question related to this... This is all based on rumor and I don't have my mind set on this.

Doesn't AM3 use a "939 pin" socket? And the new AM3+ would use a "941 pin" socket, least that's what I've read. I've also read that ASUS will be supporting AM3+ with a simple BIOS update. However my M4N98TD EVO board says "941 Pin" above the socket. I noticed this while breaking down from a DICE session today.

Could I possibly hope for one of the lucky boards that will support AM3+ (BD) with just a simple BIOS update? I know this is all rumor, and no one can give me a DEFINITE answer. What do y'all think?

__________________
JOIN THE BENCHING TEAM!
Core i5 2500K @ 5962MHz (DICE Cooling)
P8P67-DELUXE
4GB GSkill RipJawsX 2133MHz, 7-9-8-24
2xGTX580 Matrix SLI
90GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD
VenomousX
Windows 7 Ultimate - SP1
OptyTrooper: "Be warned though overclocking is a drug."
bennoculus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 10:14 PM   #12
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
...

Last edited by QuietIce; 06-07-11 at 06:05 AM.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-11, 11:19 PM   #13
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
He said, unequivocally that AM3+ CPUs will physically fit in the AM3 socket.

According to wiki, while the AM3 socket has 941 contacts, the AM3 CPUs only have 938 pins. Wouldn't be a stretch for AM3+ CPUs to have 940 or less.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-11, 02:03 AM   #14
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
...

Last edited by QuietIce; 06-07-11 at 06:05 AM.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-11, 10:22 PM   #15
bennoculus

 
bennoculus's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoFla/Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
He said, unequivocally that AM3+ CPUs will physically fit in the AM3 socket.

According to wiki, while the AM3 socket has 941 contacts, the AM3 CPUs only have 938 pins. Wouldn't be a stretch for AM3+ CPUs to have 940 or less.
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
I'm still trying to figure out what they're using any extra pins for at all. I can't imagine HT Link using more than the 40 lanes it already has and unless they move to triple or quad channel memory there shouldn't be any changes there. Guess we'll know in a month or so.
Thanks for the feedback on my random question. I know it's all rumor, just figured I'd get some opinions.

QI, you're right, we'll just have to wait and see.

__________________
JOIN THE BENCHING TEAM!
Core i5 2500K @ 5962MHz (DICE Cooling)
P8P67-DELUXE
4GB GSkill RipJawsX 2133MHz, 7-9-8-24
2xGTX580 Matrix SLI
90GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD
VenomousX
Windows 7 Ultimate - SP1
OptyTrooper: "Be warned though overclocking is a drug."
bennoculus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-11, 10:38 PM   #16
ScorpiDragon
Registered

 
ScorpiDragon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008

 
The AM3+ socket has 942 pins and from what I heard is that BD is supposed to have 942 contacts.

The issues AMD had, when running BD on the 890FX chipset was that 940 pins for BD was not enough. C32 and G34 has plenty of spare capacity, compared to AM3.

Last edited by ScorpiDragon; 04-13-11 at 05:54 AM.
ScorpiDragon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 10:17 AM   #17
mak1290
Registered

 
mak1290's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: India,U.P

 
AMD FX Bulldozer


I have heard flaws on net that AMD will soon launch Bulldozer FX series revised versions as current versions dissatisfied many..
So When Does actually FX Bulldozer series CPU(8120,8150)New Revised versions will launch??
mak1290 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 10:21 AM   #18
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Where did you hear that? They're working on Piledriver but I haven't heard any peeps on new revisions of Bulldozer CPUs.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 10:23 AM   #19
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
Holy threadcromancy Bat-Man this thread has come back to life!

Mak I would suggest starting another thread.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 10:29 AM   #20
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
Where did you hear that? They're working on Piledriver but I haven't heard any peeps on new revisions of Bulldozer CPUs.
I tried about 6 different sets of search terms in g00gle to try and UN-earth any rumor of a later version of BullDozer and nothing was on the horizon but PileDriver (desktop) so far as one can see. I did not even hit on a "rumor" for updated BullDozer cpu release.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?