Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

AMD Radeon HD 7970 Graphics Card Review

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-11, 05:58 PM   #41
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Ivy, he was asking about dry ice or liquid nitrogen cooling on it... He wants to know what sort of numbers it can put up if its super cooled.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-11, 06:16 PM   #42
Ivy
Member

 
Ivy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Yeah i noticed myself short time after i was thinking about, i kinda did mistaken it with that other ability, but then i had in mind.. why is he asking for performance, since it is no matter for that technology.. and then... "ah... it must be dry ice" (and im no extreme OCer so its not very confident to me ). Well i simply explained both stuff, some people might be interested and are not fully sure about.

__________________
Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK
Ivy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-11, 06:48 PM   #43
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
thanks for the review hookie!

not to take away from his great review, HS has a LGA1366 vs SB-E.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...-Review/1458/1

it is also funny that even with the newest video card on SB-E with pcie 3.0, there is no improvement in performance. even with this latest card it doesnt fully saturate PCIE 2.0 x16.

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
hokiealumnus (12-22-11)
Old 12-22-11, 07:56 PM   #44
Ivy
Member

 
Ivy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Hmm, the CPU scaling seems to be close to none in many cases, for games that is. I think even as a super enthusiast i wouldnt switch from Nehalem to SB because its just not worth it, not when you mainly need the performance for games and no other special stuff. For most media center functions, even a baby CPU still runs fine with, and a GPU is aswell helping with decoding, its simply not a matter anymore. Pointing at PCIE 3.0 GEN, its aswell close to no effect by now, no matter what CPU is used, that im pretty sure is true. So, it looks good on the paper but thats it. Finally the most important stuff is still to have a powerful chip architecture and good software, thats truly like 90% of the cookie.

Looking at his great tests, CPU Nehalem flagship vs. SB flagship, in most cases only 20% difference, and for games close to no difference at all. http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...Review/1429/16

Surely, for updating a PC, a single generation is not even worth to look at. Anyway, in usual i only update stuff every 4 years, however, im now in the worse situation that my old PC died and now i have no replacement anymore and no "Test-PC" which is important to me in term there is issues. So i guess i simply wait for Ivy bridge and will put a 7000 series Radeon inside at that time. Having 2 working PCs is critical to me, else as soon as i get a issue i cant test and could be stuck with a unstable system and no way to pin the issue down in a effective way. Thats everyones true horror, and thats why a backup is such a big gain. On the other hand, giving the PC to a PC tech, can cost several houndred dollar in my country, with that cash i can aswell buy a new Radeon GPU, and im good enough to handle the stuff myself, in term i have a second PC. Besides, my friend/family they all got either a Laptop or a Mac Mini, so i cant test on theyr systems. Im the only "strong hardware" user from my whole family. Not that i am "conventional" i dont even know that word... i deal with SFF or i go build a super high end tower someday, but im truly not interested into "standart", its just not interesting for me and i like to study and making impossible stuff possible... thats why we are OCers or "impossible stuff builder"... at least many of us.

To come back to the main topic, yes, the 7000 series surely is aswell... something every OCer should truly feel very eager to get theyr hands on and im not different and see it as a new opportunity for a new system.

__________________
Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK

Last edited by Ivy; 12-23-11 at 06:11 PM.
Ivy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-11, 08:50 PM   #45
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Looks like a monster card... cheers to AMD for making it interesting in the GPU segement.

ANd as usual, a top notch review and in record time. GJ Hokie!

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
hokiealumnus (12-22-11)
Old 12-22-11, 10:40 PM   #46
SupaMonkey
Member

 
SupaMonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: China

 
Are there any tests on its performance in 3D? Playing in 3D kills my card.

__________________
E8400 @ 4GHz w/ Noctua NH-D14 + Coolermaster R4 fans
Kingston HyperX DDR2 1066
HD6950 @ 1000/1475 1.3V w/arctic extreme plus (modded bios)
X-25M
All on a cross flashed P5K-SE/EPU @ 445FSB
HSPC Large Tech Station
3Dmark11
E6231P4909X1496
***Rosetta Multi-Millionaire***
SupaMonkey is offline Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 05:33 AM   #47
Angry

 
Angry's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bluefield, WV

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedDragon1260 View Post
I like it although i am not a reference card style fan so i think i will stick with the MSI 6970 i want until i can see a better priced non-reference card available which i know will not be till some time late next year.
Actually, from what I heard, AMD sent the chips to Asus, MSI, and etc early and told them they didnt have to launch with the reference design, that they could pretty much do what they wanted.

Now wether or not they decide to do this, is up to them, but I dont think you will that many reference designs this release.

__________________

Main Rig.....................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle
Core i3 2100 ....... ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Athlon II X4 620....... Athlon X2 2350-BE 2.1ghz
MSI P67A-GD65 ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................Biostar A780L3G...........MSI 785GTM-45
G.Skill 1333 4x2gb............16gb Partriot S5 1333................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
EVGA GTX 670 ....................EVGA GTX275
60gb OCZ Summit.................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED
Angry is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 07:07 AM   #48
Salmon91
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Will the cards be available on the 9th or will I be able to pre-order on the 9th?

Or could we have the possibility of pre-ordering the cards before the 9th? Maybe even this year?

__________________
3770K / 7970 Matrix / OCZ Vertex 4 256GB / Corsair AX850 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance / ASRock Fatal1ty Z77 Pro
Salmon91 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 07:11 AM   #49
dejo
Senior Moment Senior Member

 
dejo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tyler, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
I am wondering if anyone has a pair of them to test scaling in xfire. would be very interesting to see what 2 of these brutes would do in some competition benchmarks

__________________
if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

Asrock z77 ex6
2600k @4.8ghz
Samsung 2x4gb rams
OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
EVGA GTX480
Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
Arc Midi case
dejo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 07:49 AM   #50
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angry View Post
Actually, from what I heard, AMD sent the chips to Asus, MSI, and etc early and told them they didnt have to launch with the reference design, that they could pretty much do what they wanted.

Now wether or not they decide to do this, is up to them, but I dont think you will that many reference designs this release.
I think you will see the opposite of this actually...

Normally reference designs hit the store shelves first anyway. Second I think, at least for this launch, quite the opposite happened. Im not sure board partners got much more if any (I also heard one company didnt receive the reference cards until AFTER the select group of reviewers got them) lead time this go around.

AS far as LATE next year, I would imagine we will see these come out shortly after release. "Late next year" means 3Q to me and thats a but silly to think that is when the first non reference boards will come out. I would expect them in February to March personally.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 12:15 PM   #51
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
I am wondering if anyone has a pair of them to test scaling in xfire. would be very interesting to see what 2 of these brutes would do in some competition benchmarks
That will yield some pretty hefty benchmarks I'm sure, AMD has really invested a lot of effort in maximizing CF performance from the 6800 series onward, much more than their green competitors with SLI

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 12:22 PM   #52
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Hardwareheaven did crossfire tests, and it crushed stuff. Good read, and they also have pretty artwork, though it looks like their ad sales department is owned by AMD lol:
http://www.hardwareheaven.com/review...roduction.html

We also have more than one at this point if I'm not mistaken, so we may be doing our own results if we can get them in the same location.

As for PCIe2.0 vs PCIe3.0 - stay tuned for further results in those departments. Some reviews are reporting no benefits, others are reporting benefits - it depends on how its tested, and possibly also on configuration of the test system. Some are saying benefit is only seen in GPU compute situations which are bandwidth heavy, others are saying there was no difference in their tests.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Janus67 (12-23-11)
Old 12-23-11, 03:51 PM   #53
mxthunder

 
mxthunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio

 
I think they are a little AMD bias'd. They pride themselves on "bench marking practice" yet they turned on phyx for the Batman testing. What better way to kill framerates on the nvidia side.

__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7
2x4GB Ripjaws @ 1600 7-8-7-24-24 - 1T
XSPC res + D5, RS360 + EK 120mm rad
GeForce GTX780Ti w/custom bios @1300mhz
Corsair TX950
WD Black 750GB/Hitachi 7k1000/Intel 330 SSD cache drive
LG 27" 1080p
Corsair Obsidian 700D

My GPU collection
mxthunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 03:58 PM   #54
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxthunder View Post
I think they are a little AMD bias'd. They pride themselves on "bench marking practice" yet they turned on phyx for the Batman testing. What better way to kill framerates on the nvidia side.
Wow, I didn't look at that part. That is pretty bad testing methodology - if they wanted to show those results, they should have also presented the results without physx.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 08:20 PM   #55
Ivy
Member

 
Ivy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxthunder View Post
I think they are a little AMD bias'd. They pride themselves on "bench marking practice" yet they turned on phyx for the Batman testing. What better way to kill framerates on the nvidia side.
, anyway, the point they make.. do you need PhysX nowadays when Intel is delivering us CPUs with Alienpower? Finally the result counts and if Nvidia want to crush themself by overusing theyr GPU... well yeah, i guess they just wanted to make a point. My view is, the GPU on next gen graphics got so much rendering to handle, it truly would be happy to hand over the physics job to a CPU, and they truly can do that. Its just not true when Nvidia is telling us that only a GPU can be doing it, i dont believe it. For games a CPU usualy is handling AI and physics, thats what they are here for, in theory. Many years ago (C2D and older) CPUs surely had much higher impact on gaming performance because they had more work to do, nowadays thats pretty much GPU limited (especially on high res).

__________________
Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK

Last edited by Ivy; 12-23-11 at 08:32 PM.
Ivy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 09:24 PM   #56
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivy View Post
, anyway, the point they make.. do you need PhysX nowadays when Intel is delivering us CPUs with Alienpower? Finally the result counts and if Nvidia want to crush themself by overusing theyr GPU... well yeah, i guess they just wanted to make a point. My view is, the GPU on next gen graphics got so much rendering to handle, it truly would be happy to hand over the physics job to a CPU, and they truly can do that. Its just not true when Nvidia is telling us that only a GPU can be doing it, i dont believe it. For games a CPU usualy is handling AI and physics, thats what they are here for, in theory. Many years ago (C2D and older) CPUs surely had much higher impact on gaming performance because they had more work to do, nowadays thats pretty much GPU limited (especially on high res).
an nvidia GPU with physX is way better than a cpu at physics type work. have you played a game that supports PhysX on an nVidia card? it totally blows away anything the cpu can bring. yes it is a load on the gpu but it is also something that AMD does not even offer so having it on while comparing it to and AMD gpu is not fair and IMO takes away credibility for doing so. because if they did that there, where else did they give the card an unfair advantage over sli gtx 580's


(this is in regards to hardware secrets and is in no way implying anything at all towards the overclockers.com review of the 7970)

__________________
SSD > PCMark 05
freeagent - Torture is watching all these 2600k's kicking my rig in the mosfets
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 09:33 PM   #57
Ivy
Member

 
Ivy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
Havoc should be able to do the same thing, if the CPU goes down the roof it can aswell be used on Havoc, although im truly no expert at those stuff.

They truly should make something non proprietary and it took a long time till Nvidia only partially gave away theyr proprietary rights to own any single piece of it and therefore make devs unable to implement anything like that on Radeon, as far as i know. However, the statement of AMD/ATI was always pretty clear, that they dont feel the urge need of something like that. So they usualy gave pretty low support to devs tryring to implement something. I remember, Nvidia had aswell other software which is licensed and when MS was moving from a Nvidia to a ATI GPU on Xbox, they had to pay license fee for even being able to run that kind of software on a Radeon. I mean, Nvidia truly was mean with stuff like this, im glad they finally tried to open the matters a bit, giving devs more access to implement stuff on Radeon.

I aswell dunno what you mean by "blow away" in particullar, you might tell me, im interested. At a game like Shogun Wars with a pretty high physics need (insane amount of units), a CPU still can successfully run it. Now what kind of phyics do you have in mind which is unable to be run on any CPU?

Finally i do want the better hardware to win, not the one being a wonder of software implementations. Besides, devs are always free to create open source for Radeon, but apparently rarely anyone ever going to do it and dunno why. Maybe because the devs nowadays just want to have everything shoven inside theyr mouth, already warmed up and served on a silver plate, seriously, where is the true dev skill? Are we nowadays totaly ruled and bound by the harsh rules of money and economics? So we aswell start to move away more and more from PCs because consoles simply are more bucks? And so we lose a lot of quality because many of those dont even try to tune a game for good PC hardware anymore..? Well yeah.. who knows.

Its surely good that Nvidia is trying to drag devs toward theyr side but they truly have to work together with devs and aswell with AMDs Radeon somehow, not only trying to boost themself. Even as a competitor working together in many aspects brings more power regarding software tuning.

__________________
Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK

Last edited by Ivy; 12-23-11 at 09:54 PM.
Ivy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 09:50 PM   #58
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivy View Post
Havoc should be able to do the same thing, if the CPU goes down the roof it can aswell be used on Havoc, although im truly no expert at those stuff.

They truly should make something non proprietary and it took a long time till Nvidia only partially gave away theyr proprietary rights to own any single piece of it and therefore make devs unable to implement anything like that on Radeon, as far as i know. However, the statement of AMD/ATI was always pretty clear, that they dont feel the urge need of something like that. So they usualy gave pretty low support to devs tryring to implement something. I remember, Nvidia had aswell other software which is licensed and when MS was moving from a Nvidia to a ATI GPU on Xbox, they had to pay license fee for even being able to run that kind of software on a Radeon. I mean, Nvidia truly was mean with stuff like this, im glad they finally tried to open the matters a bit, giving devs more access to implement stuff on Radeon.

I aswell dunno what you mean by "blow away" in particullar, you might tell me, im interested. At a game like Shogun Wars with a pretty high physics need (insane amount of units), a CPU still can successfully run it. Now what kind of phyics do you have in mind which is unable to be run on any CPU?
This will be my last post that has anything to do with this subject so as not to derail the thread to much

Mafia II the physics (glass breaking, car blowing up, clothes blowing, pretty much everything) in that game with PhysX enabled was IMO so much more realistic than with just the cpu handling physics. I have 2 GTX 580's and only run 1 1920x1080 monitor so fps was not an issue with PhysX enabled so I tried it with PhysX enabled and with just cpu. GPU's blow away any cpu in these type of situations.

__________________
SSD > PCMark 05
freeagent - Torture is watching all these 2600k's kicking my rig in the mosfets
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 10:07 PM   #59
Ivy
Member

 
Ivy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
It surely is a interesting topic but maybe we can continue somewhere else, since we basically are focussed on 7000 series stuff now . I surely wouldnt generally say that a CPU cant handle, but there are exceptions, there is no rule without exception.

__________________
Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK
Ivy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-11, 10:26 PM   #60
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivy View Post
Havoc should be able to do the same thing, if the CPU goes down the roof it can aswell be used on Havoc, although im truly no expert at those stuff.

They truly should make something non proprietary and it took a long time till Nvidia only partially gave away theyr proprietary rights to own any single piece of it and therefore make devs unable to implement anything like that on Radeon, as far as i know. However, the statement of AMD/ATI was always pretty clear, that they dont feel the urge need of something like that. So they usualy gave pretty low support to devs tryring to implement something. I remember, Nvidia had aswell other software which is licensed and when MS was moving from a Nvidia to a ATI GPU on Xbox, they had to pay license fee for even being able to run that kind of software on a Radeon. I mean, Nvidia truly was mean with stuff like this, im glad they finally tried to open the matters a bit, giving devs more access to implement stuff on Radeon.

I aswell dunno what you mean by "blow away" in particullar, you might tell me, im interested. At a game like Shogun Wars with a pretty high physics need (insane amount of units), a CPU still can successfully run it. Now what kind of phyics do you have in mind which is unable to be run on any CPU?

Finally i do want the better hardware to win, not the one being a wonder of software implementations. Besides, devs are always free to create open source for Radeon, but apparently rarely anyone ever going to do it and dunno why. Maybe because the devs nowadays just want to have everything shoven inside theyr mouth, already warmed up and served on a silver plate, seriously, where is the true dev skill? Are we nowadays totaly ruled and bound by the harsh rules of money and economics? So we aswell start to move away more and more from PCs because consoles simply are more bucks? And so we lose a lot of quality because many of those dont even try to tune a game for good PC hardware anymore..? Well yeah.. who knows.

Its surely good that Nvidia is trying to drag devs toward theyr side but they truly have to work together with devs and aswell with AMDs Radeon somehow, not only trying to boost themself. Even as a competitor working together in many aspects brings more power regarding software tuning.

That was un-called-for, don't you think? -hokie



I can't wait to see some tri/quad-fire benchmarks.

Last edited by hokiealumnus; 12-23-11 at 10:35 PM.
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?