Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Forum Feedback
Forum Feedback Likes and Gripes about the Forums. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Attachment resizing

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-12, 09:37 AM Thread Starter   #1
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
Attachment resizing


Attached images used to have a bar at the top with something like "click to view original size" if the image has been resized to fit the page. I'm not seeing it anymore on my computer. If it's a bug, any idea how to fix it? If it was actually removed, can it be added back?

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 09:46 AM   #2
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
It should still be working...

Name:  debian_wallpaper.png
Views: 126
Size:  204.0 KB

It is working for me here.

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 09:51 AM   #3
4GHZ_or_bust
Now 6GHz or Bust!

 
4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan

 
Usually I see them as resized but once in a while the page loads without resizing the image and ends up stretching the browser wider than my monitor. A quick reload usually resets the image to smaller size.

__________________
space for rent
4GHZ_or_bust is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Amnesiac (02-01-12)
Old 02-01-12, 10:00 AM   #4
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
That is how it is actually designed to work. The images all load and it is done via some js if I remember correctly so the images will resize once the page fully loads.

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 10:01 AM   #5
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
The only time large pics stretch the site for me is when I've never loaded them before or my cache has been cleared since loading them last. Once they have been loaded once, I can come back to the page and the image starts as resized since it doesn't have to DL the full image.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 10:05 AM   #6
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattNo5ss View Post
The only time large pics stretch the site for me is when I've never loaded them before or my cache has been cleared since loading them last. Once they have been loaded once, I can come back to the page and the image starts as resized since it doesn't have to DL the full image.
Yup, the script can only check the image size once it has been fully downloaded so that is why it behaves that way.

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 11:45 AM Thread Starter   #7
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
It is working in this thread, but in every attached image in thread 698852, there is no resize bar. Does the code that adds the resize stuff check against account age or something? I can't recall any other recent threads I've seen with images, so I don't have much comparison range.

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats

Last edited by petteyg359; 02-01-12 at 01:54 PM.
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 11:49 AM   #8
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Those images are inline (I think that is the proper term). They have been uploaded, but the [attach*]IMAGE[/attach] tags are not used so its not resized? Just guessing here...

They do not resize for me either, but I think its in the way that user attaches the image.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 11:55 AM   #9
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
It is working in this thread, but in every attached image in thread 698852, there is no resize bar. Does the code that adds the resize stuff check against account age or something? I can't recall any other recent threads I've seen with images, so I don't have much comparison range.
EarthDog hit it on the head. If you don't follow-up attaching images to your post by putting them inline, they will be shrunk but you can't resize them there (without opening them in a new window).

If you attach but not insert the photos and they are large, the forum will not be able to resize them like they can if they're inline. Thus they'll be huge. So, the forum displays the shrunken image by default if you don't put them inline.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 01:56 PM Thread Starter   #10
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
Alright. As a possible future addition, then, it'd be nice to have a button next to each attachment to automatically add the attach bbcode to the post, or even have it automatically add all attachments bbcode when making a new post (but not when editing, in case you want to remove them and keep them removed).

Unless there's a simpler way than hovering over the link in the advanced editor or opening the image in a new tab while quick editing to figure out the ID and manually typing in the attach bbcode...

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 01:58 PM   #11
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
The dropdown arrow, next to the paperclip, has that option already, no? So when you are finished uploading, you can choose or not choose to 'attach'(resize) the photo via the same button...Or are you talking in the upload attachment window?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 02:05 PM   #12
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
To use mortifer's image:


__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Neuromancer (02-12-12)
Old 02-01-12, 02:35 PM   #13
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
Alright. As a possible future addition, then, it'd be nice to have a button next to each attachment to automatically add the attach bbcode to the post, or even have it automatically add all attachments bbcode when making a new post (but not when editing, in case you want to remove them and keep them removed).

Unless there's a simpler way than hovering over the link in the advanced editor or opening the image in a new tab while quick editing to figure out the ID and manually typing in the attach bbcode...
For people that don't do it properly, right click the image and middle click "View Image". This will open it up in a new tab and let the browser resize it.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 02:49 PM Thread Starter   #14
petteyg359
Likes Popcorn

 
petteyg359's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
To use mortifer's image:

It appears that my problem is that I don't ever use the buttons above the textarea.

__________________
ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
Folding User Stats
petteyg359 is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-12, 01:11 PM   #15
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
A lot of people don't use that button, and unfortunately the javascript resizer for inline images doesn't work on non-inline images.

The best thing people can do is use the instructions Hokie posted in post #12.

If you look at other forums, most don't have good image resizing methods either - they either show a thumbnail you have to open in a separate page, or they resize everything to some set dimensions. I'd like to get ours fixed up better, and I'm working on it, but what we have currently is the best I have been able to do so far.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-12, 06:53 PM   #16
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
A lot of people don't use that button, and unfortunately the javascript resizer for inline images doesn't work on non-inline images.

The best thing people can do is use the instructions Hokie posted in post #12.

If you look at other forums, most don't have good image resizing methods either - they either show a thumbnail you have to open in a separate page, or they resize everything to some set dimensions. I'd like to get ours fixed up better, and I'm working on it, but what we have currently is the best I have been able to do so far.
I just ran across a guy saying that he uses a "hack" to force attachments to be added inline. I'm not sure if the hack is posted here or just the request ticket, but it requires login to view.
http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-14219

I know hacks aren't good but it might help you in looking to improve our current system.

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-12, 07:03 PM   #17
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Just a request ticket there, I just checked. It's also for VB4, as thats where all development is taking place these days.

Looking for the plugin that auto-inserts attachments inline, if it exists for VB3.X:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=235

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-12, 07:24 PM   #18
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
I don't see any mods that automatically insert attachments inline.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-12, 07:44 PM   #19
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
A lot of people don't use that button, and unfortunately the javascript resizer for inline images doesn't work on non-inline images.

The best thing people can do is use the instructions Hokie posted in post #12.

If you look at other forums, most don't have good image resizing methods either - they either show a thumbnail you have to open in a separate page, or they resize everything to some set dimensions. I'd like to get ours fixed up better, and I'm working on it, but what we have currently is the best I have been able to do so far.

thanks Hokie





IMOG you got it exactly right it is why I generally dont even Attach images and just use a photohost.

I always used the "manage attachments" button down below where you enter a new post Did not know you can actually manage them after uploading

testing and success!!!

Thanks again Hokie Going to see how many others sites work like this

Name:  guitar-wallpaper-1024x768-951605.jpeg
Views: 124
Size:  88.6 KB

Name:  Tamino___wallpapers_by_19_10.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  764.1 KB

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

Last edited by Neuromancer; 02-11-12 at 07:53 PM.
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-12, 08:32 PM   #20
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
I would imagine that most people don't realize that you can do that here, especially since attachments used to be quite restricted in their file size when the site was being run from a server in skip's basement.

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Forum Feedback
Forum Feedback Likes and Gripes about the Forums. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?