Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Cryptocurrency
Cryptocurrency Magic internet money (Bitcoin, Litecoin, Dogecoin, etc.)
Forum Jump

Bitcoin

Thread Closed
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-12, 11:17 AM   #281
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Gah, price drops just as I decide to get back into it and find a miner that actually works . With a bit of trickery and luck though I should be adding a 7950 at the least to my desktop and moving the 5850 to a dedicated miner in the coming weeks. Hopefully price goes back up by then.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline  
Old 02-26-12, 07:08 PM   #282
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakdiablo View Post
Gah, price drops just as I decide to get back into it and find a miner that actually works . With a bit of trickery and luck though I should be adding a 7950 at the least to my desktop and moving the 5850 to a dedicated miner in the coming weeks. Hopefully price goes back up by then.
The price has been steadily increasing since the $1 or so drop roughly a week ago. It's in an upward trend right now.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 02-26-12, 08:47 PM   #283
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
The price has been steadily increasing since the $1 or so drop roughly a week ago. It's in an upward trend right now.
Ah, good to know. Would have been just my luck to finally take this seriously just as it was dying out

On a side note, dunno if this has been asked already, but anyone have any idea how to get CGMiner running in CPU mode? I have it running in GPU mode only, and I know GPUs are more efficient for this type of thing, just wanted to see how my i7 handles it. Tried the --enable-cpu flag that's listed in both the readme and the thread on their site, comes back "unrecognized option". Also doesn't seem to be listed when bringing up the --help menu. When using --disable-gpu, it says there's nothing that can be used for mining. Did they drop support for cpu mining or is there something I'm missing?

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline  
Old 02-26-12, 10:37 PM   #284
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Oddd. You might want to try a second miner (possibly poclbm) for cpumining. I'm pretty sure it supports the cpu a bit better. I've never tried though.

A positive note for my mining, today I got my mining rig to recognize the cards I have in my 1x PCI-e slots! Now I just need more powa!!! I wish I had the money to buy a kilowatt or higher PSU. It would be so much easier than jumping one.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 02-27-12, 10:36 AM   #285
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
Oddd. You might want to try a second miner (possibly poclbm) for cpumining. I'm pretty sure it supports the cpu a bit better. I've never tried though.

A positive note for my mining, today I got my mining rig to recognize the cards I have in my 1x PCI-e slots! Now I just need more powa!!! I wish I had the money to buy a kilowatt or higher PSU. It would be so much easier than jumping one.
Well settled on the Ufasoft bitcoin miner since I didn't have any luck with poclbm. Seems to do even gpu mining a touch better than cgminer. Still use cgminer when I'm at my desktop though since I haven't found a way to tone down the priority of ufasofts gpu mining and I don't like lag when I'm simply browsing the web

Congrats on getting the other cards to work. One of these days I got to see if I have enough parts to throw together a second computer for this. Already have my old Q9550, motherboard, and some DDR2 memory. Planning on upgrading the PSU and getting a couple 7950s/7970s for my desktop, so I may end up throwing my current psu and 5850 onto that with an old hdd and a copy of linux. This gets addicting.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline  
Old 02-27-12, 07:02 PM   #286
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
The most beautiful thing I've seen all day (other than my girlfriend).





Don't judge the cardboard and shenanigans going on. I need to get a kilowatt psu so I can stop having to short these. >___> And I'm space limited so...

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 02-27-12, 07:53 PM   #287
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
The most beautiful thing I've seen all day
NSFW warning before posting pics of naked hardware please

But really, are those top two cards mounted on PCIe risers or something?

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline  
Old 02-27-12, 08:14 PM   #288
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
They are. I'm using a Gigabyte 790FXT-UD5P motherboard which only has 2 16x pcie slots. I grabbed pair of 1x to 1x adapters with the backs were cut open so a 16x card can fit and then shorted a couple of pins so Windows would see them. After 3 days of work I finally got it all working. They are currently mining away.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 02-27-12, 09:11 PM   #289
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Not bad. You're a bit more serious about than I plan to be, lol.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline  
Thanks!
ChanceCoats123 (02-27-12)
Old 02-27-12, 09:59 PM   #290
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
1300mhash/sec isn't too shabby. Really, I just like big numbers.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 02-27-12, 10:00 PM   #291
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
1300mhash/sec isn't too shabby. Really, I just like big numbers.
Lol, well you're putting about 4 times as much as my 5850 and 2600k combined. Makes sense.

Update: Just ordered a new PSU in an "for the love of all that is holy, what have I done?" moment thanks to the newegg leap year sale. Now that I got 3/4s of a mining computer together, just need a decent GPU. Have an 8800GT somewhere, but looking at the bitcoin.it wiki hardware comparison the 8800s don't do much better than my i7 alone. May have to wait on bringing my q9550 system online until something that's worth it comes along.

Update 2: Good: Finally finished my first bitcoin last night. Bad: Something in my desktop died Hoping it's the PSU (had it both GPU and CPU mining straight through the weekend, most strain I put on it in a while) since I haven't put the new one in yet.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

Last edited by freakdiablo; 03-05-12 at 11:34 AM.
freakdiablo is offline  
Old 03-10-12, 06:35 PM   #292
TheHoosh
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Puyallup, WA

 
This bitcoin thing is pretty interesting just started and using the GUIMINER. I hear the diablominer is faster but can't figure out how to get it or use it
TheHoosh is offline  
Old 03-10-12, 08:15 PM   #293
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
There are a lot of variables that the speed depends on. The card series, clocks, driver, SDK, operating system, miner and flags. It all takes a little fine tuning to get just right.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 03-14-12, 06:04 PM   #294
TheHoosh
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Puyallup, WA

 
Anyone able to help me set up diablominer for windows 7 I can't figure out how to launch the program and am feeling pretty dumb right now. GUIminer using -polcbm is giving me lag issues so would like to try diablominer
TheHoosh is offline  
Old 03-14-12, 07:49 PM   #295
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
No idea on how to get diablo running. If you change your mind and want to give CGminer a try, let me know.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 04-12-12, 11:15 PM   #296
trekky
Member

 
trekky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MI

 
i have a question about my 6950
its only is getting about 192MH/s on cgminer
but when i look online it says a 6950 should get around 250-350MH/s
why am i getting 50-150 less MH/s?
is it because im running windows 7?

__________________
current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

"Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
trekky is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 04-12-12, 11:23 PM   #297
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Driver version and SDK version make a big difference.
If you can find the 2.1 SDK that will help a lot.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile  
Old 04-12-12, 11:25 PM   #298
trekky
Member

 
trekky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MI

 
so 2.1 is the best for mining?
+ will this affect any of my games?
i know my drivers for my card is 12.1
SDK i think is 2.6 but im downloading 2.5 i will look for 2.1

__________________
current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

"Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
trekky is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 04-12-12, 11:34 PM   #299
Scout
Member

 
Scout's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tampa, FL

 
SDK 2.1 if the best for mining and I don't think it will effect your games its gonna take some experimenting to maximize you Mhash's.
This is my 6950 mining hope it helps some.
Driver 12.3
SDK 2.1


__________________

3770k@4.8 Koolance cpu-360 wb
7970 DC2 Top Ek block
Asus p8z77v -Deluxe
Corsair Dominator GT 2000mhz 8-8-8-24
Kingston 128GB SSD
Custom H20 cooling
Scout is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  
Old 04-13-12, 11:55 AM   #300
trekky
Member

 
trekky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MI

 
when installing 12.3 drivers should i install AMD APP SDK runtime?
EDIT without installing it makes CGminer say "All devices disabled, Cannot mine!"


+ i have tryed 2.1 alot and it is not working
i have uninstalled both drivers and SDK then did a reinstall
still mining at 192 ( if i put my In to 9 i get 204)



double EDIT i most be missing some1 2.5 is doing the same 192-204mh/s

__________________
current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

"Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras

Last edited by trekky; 04-13-12 at 12:11 PM.
trekky is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile  

Thread Closed


Overclockers Forums > Software > Cryptocurrency
Cryptocurrency Magic internet money (Bitcoin, Litecoin, Dogecoin, etc.)
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?