Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Change of mobo, worth it?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-12, 08:26 AM Thread Starter   #1
Chesterchuennn
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Change of mobo, worth it?


Hi there. Been running my MSI 970A-G45 for 3 weeks with no issues with it whatsoever. I paired it with a FX 4100. And the cpu has been OCed. However i read elsewhere there are quite alot of problems with this board and msi too. And what worries me is that the failure of the mobo lead to the destruction of the cpu too.

Im kinda looking at the Asus Crosshair Formula V or M5A99X as the board i wanna replace. However i wonder, is it worth replacing my mobo? Is it worth pairring the 4100 with a high end board like the Crosshair? Or shld i just get the M5A99X to save money? I plan to do heavy OC once i get the hang of OCing. I do not plan to replace my 4100 with cpu such as 6100, 8120 or 8150 as im using it mainly for gaming and i understands tat gaming do not need so much cores to run. And no im not planning to go towards the path of Intel chips so dont need to advice me on getting intel chips.

Edit: forgot to include that im not using crossfire at the moment. Im using Sapphire HD7770 1Gb. No plans to crossfire in future as the game im playing is heavily on starcraft 2, not heavily dependant on GPU, but especially on CPU instead.

Last edited by Chesterchuennn; 03-27-12 at 09:39 AM.
Chesterchuennn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-27-12, 10:37 AM   #2
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
No in todays mobo market, I doubt I would ever buy an MSI mobo. Things would have to show a real turn for me to do so. YMMV.

As cheap as the FX-4100 is, I likely would just run the MSI you have since it is overclocking where you want to be it seems.

I would go with the Asus Sabertooth board since it and the CHV are very similar and the Sabertooth is cheaper. You have to have serious cooling to get all the CHV has to offer and a very good cpu.

I would not go with the M5A99X series of mobo since we have some with FX processor now thinking about a better board to get the last bit out of their FX cpu.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-12, 05:48 PM Thread Starter   #3
Chesterchuennn
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Thanks for the tip. Cause my main concern is if i push my 4100 further i dont know when my board may fail. It would be good if it doesnt fail ofcause, but if it does chances is my cpu will get toasted as well. Prob is idk when it might fail given so many failure rates on other people's board. So i feel its a ticking time bomb. I might be paranoid but i wanna push the best out of my cpu and with that i guess i need a good mobo? I dont wish to spoil my processor or replace it.

One or two features that isnt there is the lack of LLC in my mobo. And im not sure if theres any Profile1(similar to xmp to calibrate dram timing) in it as well, i just cant find it and has no way of tuning my dram timing unless someone can guide me how to change it?

Last edited by Chesterchuennn; 03-27-12 at 06:11 PM.
Chesterchuennn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-12, 11:53 PM   #4
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
M5A99X series of mobo does not have multiple percentage Vcore LLC, I don't believe. The Sabertooth does as well as the CHV.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-12, 11:58 PM   #5
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
Well, I'm very happy with my Asus M5A97-EVO. Great price, great features. Very configurable.... I don't care about SLI, or Crossfire for that matter so there's no need for me to go 990 chipset.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-12, 09:09 AM Thread Starter   #6
Chesterchuennn
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Keep the comments coming! I need more i can decide whether or not to change my mobo
Chesterchuennn is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?