Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Help with overclocking FX-6100 please

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-12, 07:30 PM Thread Starter   #1
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
Help with overclocking FX-6100 please


I have a M5A 78L-M LX Series Asus mobo with a AMD FX-6100 6core cpu i need some help on how to over clock from the bios.... i have 8gigs of ram
thanks

Last edited by thideras; 04-04-12 at 09:24 PM. Reason: Added descriptive title
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:32 PM Thread Starter   #2
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
I have AMD overdrive...but it seems to do nothing more then say overclock faild on reboot ^___^
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:33 PM   #3
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Please tell us lot more about your hardware. Refer to my "Sig" at the bottom if you want an example. We need more info to help you.

And don't use anything but the bios to overclock.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:38 PM Thread Starter   #4
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
M5A 78L-M LX Series Asus mobo
AMD FX-6100 6core cpu
Corsair XMs3 4gb pc10666 x 2 = 8gb
Diablotek DA series 600w atx
Msi mid tower atx raptor case
Custom Built
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:40 PM Thread Starter   #5
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
cpu is 3.30 and 1tb green western digital hard drive
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:41 PM Thread Starter   #6
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
Video card is Galaxy geforce GT 440
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:42 PM   #7
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
You left out one of the key pieces of info. What are you cooling the CPU with?

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:45 PM Thread Starter   #8
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
Oh sorry just the fan that came with the cpu
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 07:47 PM Thread Starter   #9
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
But i have a big fan on left side panle blowing heat out and i have another fan in blowing out in the back then the next fan is blowing in from the inside in the middle of the two cd drive racks then at the bottom of case in front is LED blue fan blowing air out..
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:09 PM   #10
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Sir, I regret to inform you that you are not in a very good position to overclock.

Your CPU pulls 95 watts TDP at stock voltages and frequencies. Your motherboard is only rated for 95 watts. When you start to overclock the CPU it will pull more than 95 watts. On top of that you are very limited from a cooling standpoint with the stock CPU cooler. You risk frustration and damage to your components.

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...specifications

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...name=FX-Series

On the bright side it sounds like you have good case ventilation. But in the balance I do not advise you to try to overclock this system.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:12 PM Thread Starter   #11
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
i'm not worried about heat at all i have another cooling system ready
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:13 PM Thread Starter   #12
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
i also have another psu if need be.
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:14 PM   #13
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Its the motherboard I'm most worried about.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:16 PM Thread Starter   #14
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
Why does it say it allows overclocking tho?
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:18 PM Thread Starter   #15
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-12, 08:27 PM   #16
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
It does. It has overclock controls in the bios I imagine but its not necessarily a good idea with just any CPU and it will probably give a very limited overclock on a lot of more potent CPUs. The CPU you have chosen has six cores. It would probably overclock a 65 watt dual core Athlon II Regor CPU like nobody's business.

The place to start would be to check CPU socket and core temps at stock frequencies and voltages to see if you have any headroom to overclock from a temp standpoint. Download and install two free programs: HWMonitor and Prime95.

Open HWMonitor on the desktop and leave it open while you run the Prime95 stress test "blend" option for 20 minutes. Take note of the max core temps and CPU temps at the end of that time. The CPU temp may be disguised in a group of "TMPINx" temp readouts. The core temp is them most critical one, however, if its sensor is calibrated accurately, that is. Then report back with results.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-12, 05:04 PM Thread Starter   #17
n0xturnaL
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York

 
Not sure how to use that stuff but i added a new psu corsair gs600, im only trying to overclock a little bit over 3.30ghz so if you can please assist me id appreciate it a lot
n0xturnaL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-12, 08:35 PM   #18
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
The safest way to overclock with limited cooling is for you to just start increasing your CPU multiplier .5x until it becomes unstable. That will minimize the extra heat causeg by also increasing your CPU voltage and something that is usually done in conjunction with raising the multiplier when cooling is adequate. Without raising your CPU voltage your overclock will be more limited but it may meet your stated expectations without creating a lot of extra heat. After each increase of .5x you should run 20 minutes of the Prime95 blend test to check for stability. When it won't pass the Prime95 20 minute test, dial the multiplier back to the last one that passed. Really, you should eventually test your overclock with at least 2 hours of Prime95 but 20 minutes is long enough to establish tentative stability.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-12, 09:08 AM   #19
skpwn
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0xturnaL View Post
Not sure how to use that stuff but i added a new psu corsair gs600, im only trying to overclock a little bit over 3.30ghz so if you can please assist me id appreciate it a lot
Noxturnal, your CPU automatically turbo boosts to 3.9ghz, so overclocking it and turning off turbo isn't going to do much. If you're looking for an overclock it's going to have to be 4.0hz+. Also, you're not going to see a huge performance difference with only a 100 mhz overclock, so letting your CPU turbo up to 3.9ghz might be your best bet. Of course, I'd love to see you play and see if the stock cooler let's you get to 4.0ghz, but you'll have to play with the multiplier to do that safely.

Follow trents information above my post to achieve that. Don't forget to download HWMonitor and watch that as you run Prime 95, you'll want to make sure the CORES do not go over 55C.

__________________
CPU: AMD FX-6200 - OCd to 4.2ghz
Fan cooler: Hyper 212+
Mobo: ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970
Ram: G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Vid Card: XFX Radeon HD 6790 1GB
Power Supply: Antec 500w
Case: Lian Li PC-K57


"Friends don't let friends buy budget motherboards. Hehehe. " - RGone

Last edited by skpwn; 04-05-12 at 09:32 AM.
skpwn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-12, 09:36 AM   #20
gnusounduave
Member



Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Monroe, LA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post
Its the motherboard I'm most worried about.
^^^^^^^^ That right there.

I will echo what Trents said and suggest you to run the CPU at stock and advise against any type of OC.

__________________
CPU AMD FX-6100 @ 4.5Ghz 1.51v
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212+
MOBO ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970
Video XFX Radeon HD 6790 1GB
RAM G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PSU Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W
gnusounduave is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?