Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Ram stick death

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-12, 06:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
Ram stick death


Well, this is odd...I just got a brand new NZXT phantom, and nothing but problems has come out of it. Randomly stops seeing my 1tb storage device(have to reconnect it), and now one stick of ram suddenly craps out. Is there something wrong?

I'm starting to HIGHLY regret buying it..

wire management is causing me nothing but headaches...

*update* It read the ram, but stopped reading my 1 tb drive. I uplugged and replugged in both hard drives, rebooted, it saw the drives, but lost a ram. I reseated the ram, same slots to se if it just came loose, no luck. Have yet to try the other slots. Honestly just considering giving it to a "computer repair guy" at best buy or something to test it for me. Honestly, I can't seem to get everything running right on this pc with this new case.

Also noticed just now that my cpu clockspeed just reset itself...stressing out.

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb

Last edited by Suppressor1137; 04-09-12 at 07:18 PM.
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 07:25 PM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I'm a bit confused as to what a case has to do with these symptoms? If you werent grounded properly/intermittently, I believe your PC would be powering off/on. If you have the mobo mounted on the risers and tightened down you would be fine, so not sure what the case has to do with any of your issues.

You can confirm its not the case by taking out the mobo, setting it on top of its box, and powering the system on that way. But again, I highly doubt its the case.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 07:35 PM   #3
Scout
Member

 
Scout's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tampa, FL

 
Sounds like a flakey motherboard if it was shorting on the case it wouldn't boot or it would turn on and off.

Scout is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 08:19 PM Thread Starter   #4
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
I'm not saying its the cause of the issues.

I'm saying I may have done something wrong when installing it.

Basically, What I think happened, is the power connector for my HDD came a little bit loose, causing it to be "unrecgonized" from tight wire management.

When I unplugged it, and re-plugged it back in, and started it back up, It said something along the lines of "CPU and Memory may have changed, check bios for verification." I went in, and saw it only had 4096 RAM and that my cpu had been reset to stock settings.

My worst fear is :Static shock rebound. It either fried the ram slot, or the ram itself...No smell of burning electronics tho. Any other possibilities?

When I originally wrote that post, I was stressed to hell and back.

and yes, It is on stand-offs.

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 10:19 PM   #5
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
Your new case is cursed.

Thats the problem trust me.

After you read this post, gut the system, and maybe hit it with something a few times, once to feel better, and the other times are to leave a mark. Its too pretty. Believe these words I speak to you.

After you finish, put everything back together, and fire it up, I guarentee it will work problem free, outside of unstable overclocks.

This has worked for me more then once

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ 4209MHz 1.325v/Corsair H100
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3609/3609
3x2GB STT Chrome @ 802MHz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.65v
Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1000 1.1v
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 10:23 PM Thread Starter   #6
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
Well. Figured it out. Killed my mobo slot with a static discharge. Tempted to RMA, but at the same time, glad the core components are mostly unscathed.

Investing in a grounding wire.

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 10:25 PM   #7
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
That sucks. How did you come to this conclusion?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 10:43 PM Thread Starter   #8
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
swapped the two sticks places. Same slot detected(3) Also cmos was wiped out(defaulted)

Might contact MSI on RMA'ing it for a G3 model. I'll use my old mobo/cpu temporarily while i wait for it.

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 11:25 PM   #9
Scout
Member

 
Scout's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tampa, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suppressor1137 View Post
Well. Figured it out. Killed my mobo slot with a static discharge. Tempted to RMA, but at the same time, glad the core components are mostly unscathed.

Investing in a grounding wire.
Always wear a static wristband they are cheap insurance !

Scout is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-12, 11:34 PM   #10
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Remove the CPU, check for bent pins in the socket, then reseat it along w/making sure the HSF isn't over-tightened and is perfectly square w/ the socket when re-installing it. Reinsert the DRAM modules in slots 1 & 3, then reset CMOS.

redduc900 is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-12, 11:22 AM Thread Starter   #11
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
Update: Now its in a startup loop and will not even get to a spash screen or post anything.....

I haven't touched a thing since last night. Shut it off and went to bed only to wake up to that...going to try starting it from the mobo switch, and if that doesn't work...

EDIT: started no problem. Theres a short in the power button on the case....LOVELY.

The HELL??? Now it sees both sticks fine...I dont even know...

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb

Last edited by Suppressor1137; 04-10-12 at 11:27 AM.
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-12, 08:11 PM   #12
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Is there an intermittent short between the motherboard and case, especially at the mounting holes (check top and bottom of each hole) and at the corners (cases and mobos can flex enough to let mobo corners short to the case if there's no support within about 2")?

When the mobo was outside the case, did you keep it on the sheet of anti-static foam sheet until it was time to install it in the case? Most silvery bags aren't safe for this, unless turned inside-out. Also before picking up the mobo, did you touch its ground (metal shell around USB ports) and the case simultaneously? What about the hazardous practice of wearing shoes, socks, or long sleeves?

I'd first test without Windows or Linux, using something like MemTest86 or MemTest86+, and then scan the hard disk with MHDD or another self-booting diagnostic.
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-12, 03:00 AM Thread Starter   #13
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrymoencurly View Post
Is there an intermittent short between the motherboard and case, especially at the mounting holes (check top and bottom of each hole) and at the corners (cases and mobos can flex enough to let mobo corners short to the case if there's no support within about 2")?

When the mobo was outside the case, did you keep it on the sheet of anti-static foam sheet until it was time to install it in the case? Most silvery bags aren't safe for this, unless turned inside-out. Also before picking up the mobo, did you touch its ground (metal shell around USB ports) and the case simultaneously? What about the hazardous practice of wearing shoes, socks, or long sleeves?

I'd first test without Windows or Linux, using something like MemTest86 or MemTest86+, and then scan the hard disk with MHDD or another self-booting diagnostic.
to the anti-static, no. I had a convientent old case(Raidmax smilodon) I couild remove the motherboard mount from the case entirely.

to the "touching simutaniously" no, I had a stroke when i was younger, so I did everything with one hand.

wore nothing but my feet on a concrete floor.

The pc started up fine on its maiden boot in this case. The problem came after I ripped out anhd replugged in my HDD power cables.

As for screws being tight, I tigentened em as much as I felt comfortable.

going to try a memtest thats built into my bios... Also going to try resetting cmos tomorrow to see if i'm reaching at phantoms.

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-12, 08:49 PM   #14
kerkegr06
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Do not keep tinkering with a bad motherboard or you'll lose a lot more than that. First try another board and then go back if problems persist. After years of mistakes this has been my most valuable lesson.
kerkegr06 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-12, 09:27 PM Thread Starter   #15
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
Solved. Moved the ram to the next dual channel setup, both read fine. Case is closed figuratively and literally. All Kosher now.



Wee bit sad to know I can never have 32 GB of ram , but IDC about having that much :P

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-12, 02:01 PM Thread Starter   #16
Suppressor1137
Member



Join Date: May 2011

 
a bit of old thread revival: The slot works now. No idea what happened to cause it, But I'm not complaining. I may add two more sticks of my ram in the future now...16 gigs*drool* only reason I would use that ram is for extra multitasking, as I'm finding I'm doing enough to eat up 7 gigs of ram...XD

__________________
CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb
Suppressor1137 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?