Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Crossfire question.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-12, 12:29 PM   #21
King107s
Member

 
King107s's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida

 
Return both cards to stock settings and test them out individually. Do a fresh install of the ATI CCC drivers for each test. Run the single cards in both slots on 3DMark11 and see what happens. If both cards work in both slots put both of them back in and enable crossfire again and test again. If that works as well, then I'd say your overclock was the problem.

__________________
CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
PSU Corsair AX1200
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, BIX GTX360 Rad, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, Primochill Myraid Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing 1/2" ID 3/4" UV Blue
King107s is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-12, 03:23 PM Thread Starter   #22
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
I have had them at stock clocks. I'll have to try another fresh install of CCC when I get off work. I'd really like to know why I got a BSOD on my last install.

Edit: Just got done with a whole new fresh install of windows and I kind of still have the same problem. I can actually login now. Although, as soon as I open something I get a black screen, but the monitor stays awake.

Last edited by Cojac92; 04-19-12 at 07:05 PM.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-12, 07:40 AM   #23
King107s
Member

 
King107s's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida

 
You need to test the cards out separately in both slots.

List out your hardware and the settings you are running please. Especially your power supply.

__________________
CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
PSU Corsair AX1200
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, BIX GTX360 Rad, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, Primochill Myraid Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing 1/2" ID 3/4" UV Blue
King107s is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-12, 08:30 PM Thread Starter   #24
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by King107s View Post
You need to test the cards out separately in both slots.


List out your hardware and the settings you are running please. Especially your power supply.
Already tried different cards in different slots. Any time I make a change like that, I get a driver error as soon as I load my desktop. Then I get an alert to restart my computer, after I restart it's fine. It's just when I run both of them together.

All my hardware is in my signature, I'm not sure what happened to it in my last post.

Edit: Also tried a another bridge last night... Nothing.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.

Last edited by Cojac92; 04-21-12 at 12:51 PM.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-12, 02:34 PM Thread Starter   #25
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
Ok, after even more swapping and moving, and testing. I think the problem seeds from my old card. I searched the card over for broken/burnt solder joints, I even took the cooler back off of it to search under there. I have no dang idea why my old card would be the one giving me problems. It has ran fine for a over a year, and it even worked fine for the first hour of crossfire.

Getting some more people in this particular thread would be nice.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-12, 04:07 PM Thread Starter   #26
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
385 views, and only 4-5 people have something to add.


__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 02:45 PM Thread Starter   #27
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
I just tried the card in another system, everything was good until I installed CCC. After I installed the drivers I am able to sit in bios all day, but as soon as windows loads I get a black screen with my screen still awake.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 03:14 PM   #28
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Did you do a 100% clean install using Driver Sweeper?

A lot of times the simplest things can cause instability, I suggest sweeping all video related drivers(safe mode) and reinstalling latest drivers(safe mode).

I had a similar issue and a clean install fixed everything

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:02 PM Thread Starter   #29
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
Alright, I uninstalled my drivers via driver sweeper. That caused my next CCC installation to have an error. Did that twice in a row. Then I uninstalled CCC via control panel & drive sweeper... In that order. Also removed Net framework, and all my Microsoft visual packs, and reinstalled CCC. Installation went without a hitch, rebooted... "Starting Windows" froze. So I did a hard reset, and it loaded into windows fine after that. About 15 sec after being in my desktop I got these errors.





Edit: You asked about a clean driver install... I did a whole fresh win7 install a day or two ago, just trying to resolve this issue.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:03 PM   #30
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Did you do this in safe mode? You need to be in safe mode for it to work properly.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:05 PM Thread Starter   #31
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwnmachine View Post
Did you do this in safe mode? You need to be in safe mode for it to work properly.
Clean the drivers? Install them? Or both?

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:09 PM   #32
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cojac92 View Post
Clean the drivers? Install them? Or both?
Both. It's best to install them in safe mode otherwise windows will try to install the drivers itself which is what gives you the errors you see.

You should repeat the process.

-Boot safe mode
-sweep all video drivers
-restart
-boot into safe mode(make sure you have latest drivers downloaded)
-install new drivers
-boot normally

Hopefully that works

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:12 PM Thread Starter   #33
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
Ok, going to do it right after this post.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:21 PM Thread Starter   #34
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
I am unable to figure out how to get into safe mode with this new motherboard. F8, or F12 didn't work. I didn't see anything in the manual or bios that was relevant either.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:33 PM   #35
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cojac92 View Post
I am unable to figure out how to get into safe mode with this new motherboard. F8, or F12 didn't work. I didn't see anything in the manual or bios that was relevant either.
I'm pretty sure it's F8, right after you see the mobo splash screen tap F8 repeatedly.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:41 PM Thread Starter   #36
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
F8 just gives me my boot menu. There isn't anything on my splash screen telling me my different options either.

Edit: Never mind, I found it in my manual. It was in a freaking footnote with tiny print. It's F5 for my board.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:47 PM   #37
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
lol F5 really? Never heard of that before...

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 08:57 PM Thread Starter   #38
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwnmachine View Post
lol F5 really? Never heard of that before...
Yeah it's really F5... Still didn't work for me though. I had to enter safe mode via changing my settings in msconfig. Although, once I was in safe mode. I was unable to uninstall my drivers. It said "The windows installer service is unavailable in safe mode."

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 09:03 PM   #39
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cojac92 View Post
Yeah it's really F5... Still didn't work for me though. I had to enter safe mode via changing my settings in msconfig. Although, once I was in safe mode. I was unable to uninstall my drivers. It said "The windows installer service is unavailable in safe mode."
Don't uninstall them using the .exe simply wipe them using DriverSweeper.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-12, 09:36 PM Thread Starter   #40
Cojac92

 
Cojac92's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Carolina

 
I get an error after uninstalling my driver with driver sweeper and then trying to reinstall it. (in safe mode) During the CCC installation, I get a "Failed to load detection driver" error that aborts the installation.

__________________
CPU: i7-2700k @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR3 1600 | 6-8-6-24 8GB.
Video Card: Sapphire 7970 OC - Dual X
Case: Corsair 650D
PSU: Corsair TX850w.
Boot: 2 x OCZ Vertex 4 128GB in RAID 0.

3x ASUS 21.5" LED IPS panels in Eyefinity @ 6024x1080

My water cooling loop, Dangerden M6 1155 block, Dangerden 800lph pump, XSPC bay reservoir, and a Black Ice Pro II 240 Radiator.
Cojac92 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?