Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

a8-3850. can't boot into windows above 25x multiplier

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-12, 02:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
ViperThunder
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
a8-3850. can't boot into windows above 25x multiplier


hello! apologies if this is the wrong forum, i am in desperate need of help!

problem description: Blue screen crash 101 (31) "A clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval" occurs while loading Windows if the CPU multiplier is set to anything above 25x. The same blue screen also occurs during gaming if the clock speed is higher than 2200MHz (22x multiplier).

first occurred: after 5 months of regular computer use, one day it randomly occurred while watching a youtube video.

System spec:
Rosewill RD450-2-DB 450W ATX V2.2 Power Supply
AMD A8-3850 APU (currently stable at 2.2 GHz )
Windows 7 x64 (also tried Windows XP on separate HDD)
2x WDC 2500AAKX Sata 6.0gb/s 250GB
Asus F1A75-M Pro motherboard (also tried ECS A75F-M2 with same results)
Corsair CMX4GXM2B1600C9 2x2GB 9-9-9-24 1.5v DDR1600 @ 1333MHz
xfx radeon 6670 1GB

I've tried increasing voltages and increasing load line calibration and various other ASUS bios settings to no avail. The computer will only run perfectly stable at 2.2 GHz (down from default clock of 2.9 GHz)

I believe I have narrowed down the cause to faulty PSU (although voltages are nominal...) or faulty CPU (although temps never get higher than 55ºC).
Thoughts?

another interesting problem: If I leave the multiplier at 22x and try to change the base clock from 100 to anything higher to help achieve higher CPU frequency (while maintaining proper RAM speed), the system will not detect any of my SATA drives and thus will not boot windows

Last edited by ViperThunder; 04-23-12 at 03:47 PM.
ViperThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-12, 07:48 PM   #2
ifed32
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2009

 
I would RMA the CPU.
ifed32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-12, 09:09 PM   #3
BeepBeep2
Member

 
BeepBeep2's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Barberton, OH

 
Yes, the CPU is defective. I'm not sure I would trust the PSU that much either, but it doesn't seem to be the issue here

__________________
Overclocking on LN2 @ -196c...
BeepBeep2 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-12, 11:31 AM   #4
TsunamiJuan
Member

 
TsunamiJuan's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Soviet Mexico

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViperThunder View Post
hello! apologies if this is the wrong forum, i am in desperate need of help!

problem description: Blue screen crash 101 (31) "A clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval" occurs while loading Windows if the CPU multiplier is set to anything above 25x. The same blue screen also occurs during gaming if the clock speed is higher than 2200MHz (22x multiplier).

first occurred: after 5 months of regular computer use, one day it randomly occurred while watching a youtube video.

System spec:
Rosewill RD450-2-DB 450W ATX V2.2 Power Supply
AMD A8-3850 APU (currently stable at 2.2 GHz )
Windows 7 x64 (also tried Windows XP on separate HDD)
2x WDC 2500AAKX Sata 6.0gb/s 250GB
Asus F1A75-M Pro motherboard (also tried ECS A75F-M2 with same results)
Corsair CMX4GXM2B1600C9 2x2GB 9-9-9-24 1.5v DDR1600 @ 1333MHz
xfx radeon 6670 1GB

I've tried increasing voltages and increasing load line calibration and various other ASUS bios settings to no avail. The computer will only run perfectly stable at 2.2 GHz (down from default clock of 2.9 GHz)

I believe I have narrowed down the cause to faulty PSU (although voltages are nominal...) or faulty CPU (although temps never get higher than 55ºC).
Thoughts?

another interesting problem: If I leave the multiplier at 22x and try to change the base clock from 100 to anything higher to help achieve higher CPU frequency (while maintaining proper RAM speed), the system will not detect any of my SATA drives and thus will not boot windows

if you are running ACHI then this is perfectly normal that you wouldn't be able to boot at higher than 100bclk. Its a known problem with the a75 chipset.

are you using hybrid sli? are you running a current version of the bios, as the stock versions on most of these boards are riddled with early release bugs. anything before about october of last year i think for that board still has some serious issues.

__________________
Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)
TsunamiJuan is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?