Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Dead CPU?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-12, 01:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
warlock110
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Dead CPU?


I have an HP G62, it was working this morning, i shut it down and stuffed it in my bag, and now all i get is a black screen. fan boot up and everything, bios is definitely not loading... I'm at work right now so i can't open it up, but it's definitely not the HDD... might test the RAM later.

According to the diagnostic, it's a CPU problem (1 blink on the cap lock).

I can open it and replace the CPU (It costs like 15 bucks on ebay)... however I don't completely trust that diagnostic, I mean how can a CPU just die like that?

could it be the mobo? this unit costs me 400, and I kindda like using it, been sticking with it for almost 2 years, if I can save it for 15 bucks I would do it, but if I have to replace the mobo, i'm better off getting another notebook for 200ish.

what ya think?

__________________
GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate
2 X 250GB Maxtor
1 X 160GB Seagate
1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
Creative Audigy 4 Pro
7600GS @ 550/420
TT Big Typhoon
warlock110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 09:07 AM   #2
Hazzeedayz
Registered

 
Hazzeedayz's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Media, PA

 
I'm betting something just came loose.
just open it up when you get home and re-seat everything
Hazzeedayz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 11:04 AM   #3
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Mobo is a lot more likely than CPU, loose connection is a lot more likely than mobo.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 11:23 AM Thread Starter   #4
warlock110
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
Mobo is a lot more likely than CPU, loose connection is a lot more likely than mobo.
it's definitely not loose connection, i've reseated everything and it's still giving me the same error code. (AKA CPU damage)

so it's down to the mobo or CPU...

I've placed an order for a CPU off ebay for 20 bucks, if it's the mobo then i'll just return it and eat the shipping costs (maybe 5 bucks?).


if it's the mobo i'll just toss it, resell the CPU and ram (maybe get 50 bucks back)... keep the HDD and get a new notebook.

I think it might be the CPU though, I've had about 10X where it shut down because the CPU over heat (so it has thermal protection)... but the problem is that the thermal detection is probably off...

at any rate we'll know by friday... i hope the CPU fried. other wise the mobo is 130 bucks.

__________________
GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate
2 X 250GB Maxtor
1 X 160GB Seagate
1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
Creative Audigy 4 Pro
7600GS @ 550/420
TT Big Typhoon
warlock110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-12, 01:33 AM   #5
myststix

 
myststix's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Alamo city

 
Remove battery, remove hard drive, reset RAM,

unplug A/C adapter and press power button for 30 seconds.

Keep battery out, plug in power supply, and try to turn it on...

Let me know.. I get this problem all the time...

__________________
AMD Phenom 9500x4
ThermalTake Super 120
4GB OCZ Reaper DDR-2 800Mhz
500GBx2
Samsung Blu-Ray Burner
Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 896MB GDR-3 * 2 in SLI
Sony 55in KDL-55EX500 w/ Yamaha Surround

Gateway FX 17in/T9600 2.8Ghz Core 2/8GB/1TB
My HEAT
myststix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 12:36 AM Thread Starter   #6
warlock110
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by myststix View Post
Remove battery, remove hard drive, reset RAM,

unplug A/C adapter and press power button for 30 seconds.

Keep battery out, plug in power supply, and try to turn it on...

Let me know.. I get this problem all the time...

It's a dead mobo, i got the new chip home, sit everything back in, same thing... mobo is dead. cost to replace is 150... i'll just sell the parts and hopefully get some money back...

grabbed a TC4400 off ebay for 90 bucks shipped, it didn't have a HDD, i use my HDD from the old laptop... surprisingly booted into window (that one had an AMD CPU and this one an Intel lol).

I just did a re format just to be safe...

__________________
GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate
2 X 250GB Maxtor
1 X 160GB Seagate
1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
Creative Audigy 4 Pro
7600GS @ 550/420
TT Big Typhoon
warlock110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?