Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

350W PSU Sufficient?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-12, 06:58 AM Thread Starter   #1
palmerrulzah
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
350W PSU Sufficient?


I am currently running:
GIGABYTE-H67MA
Nvidia Geforce 550 TI
12GB DDR3 RAM
Intel Core i3-2100 CPU 3.1GHz
With two monitors, two hdd's and a DVD Drive.

Am i currently pushing the limits with my 350W PSU?
palmerrulzah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:00 AM   #2
manu2b

 
manu2b's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Africa

 
Nope, if it's a "real" 350W unit. What's the brand/model?
550ti TDP:115W
i3-2100 TDP: 65W

__________________
P8Z68-v pro/Gen3
3770k (de-lidded) @4800MHz - NH-D14
2x8GB GSkill Trident X 1866@2133/8-10-10-24/1.68v (Thanks Woomack!)
256GB 840 Evo + 60GB Corsair F60 + 1TB Caviar Black
Corsair CX600
Sapphire R9 290(x) unlocked@1175/1325

Mining: 8*280x and main rig.
manu2b is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:06 AM Thread Starter   #3
palmerrulzah
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
http://www.huntkeydiy.com/ProductsPa...1be9da103c0010
That's the model, I'm thinking of upgrading the cpu to this:
http://ark.intel.com/products/52210
Could I pull it off with my current PSU?
palmerrulzah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:15 AM   #4
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Whoa... well... at stock speeds all around I would say yes..assuming the PSU puts out its rated power. Its 250W RMS, and 350W peak.

If things get wonky, the PSU is the first place I would look however.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:23 AM Thread Starter   #5
palmerrulzah
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
And if i overclocked the fudge out of the i5?
palmerrulzah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:24 AM   #6
manu2b

 
manu2b's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Africa

 
When I said "Nope", I meant: "Nope, you are not pushing the limit".

Sorry for the (possible) misunderstanding.

__________________
P8Z68-v pro/Gen3
3770k (de-lidded) @4800MHz - NH-D14
2x8GB GSkill Trident X 1866@2133/8-10-10-24/1.68v (Thanks Woomack!)
256GB 840 Evo + 60GB Corsair F60 + 1TB Caviar Black
Corsair CX600
Sapphire R9 290(x) unlocked@1175/1325

Mining: 8*280x and main rig.
manu2b is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:27 AM   #7
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerrulzah View Post
And if i overclocked the fudge out of the i5?
You wont be overclocking the fudge out of that chip. You do not have an unlocked multiplier and bclk will be limited to around 105-107. That said, it should still handle it as I would imagine even at 107bclk that CPU will be at stock voltage.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 07:33 AM   #8
wagex
Premium Member #13


 
wagex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: newkirk, oklahoma

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerrulzah View Post
And if i overclocked the fudge out of the i5?
i think what earth dog means is that 2500k you planned on upgrading to will not be able to be overclocked on that motherboard you need a p67 or p68 or z77 mobo to do that.
if i were you id get a corsair 450 or 500 if you plan the 2500k route, they are well priced, yes they are more expensive than the cheapo ones but they also are quality units and you run more of a risk of the cheap ones going out and burning everything up in the process.

i dont know how much power one of them 550's pull but i know my 2500k @ 4ghz and 6950 with a mild oc pull a little over 400 from the wall full load with p95 and furmark (monitor and stuff included) i was surprised when my kill-o-watt told me that lol and to think ive been running an 850w psu all this time ;p (had a 6970 and bought the 850 in preperation for a second 6970 but i toasted the first one so i settled for a 6950 to get me back up and goin)

__________________
rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u---------------htpc-apex htpc case
2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core--------------------e6600 @ 3.0ghz
p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte g41
8gb gskill 2x4 1600 --------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC -----------2x2b ddr3 1600
xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard -----------------------------------HD 5450
corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450----------------------------------275w came with case
custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive ---------------------xigmatek durin
win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter--------------win 7 64 bit
steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
"You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum
wagex is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
EarthDog (04-24-12)
Old 04-24-12, 07:35 AM   #9
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Thanks WageX/manu... off to get my coffee..

Spot on with your advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wagex View Post
i dont know how much power one of them 550's pull but i know my 2500k @ 4ghz and 6950 with a mild oc pull a little over 400 from the wall full load with p95 and furmark (monitor and stuff included) i was surprised when my kill-o-watt told me that lol and to think ive been running an 850w psu all this time ;p (had a 6970 and bought the 850 in preperation for a second 6970 but i toasted the first one so i settled for a 6950 to get me back up and goin)
One thing to note is that is an incredibly unrealistic load unless you F@H or something of the like.

With 7870's in CrossfireX using 3DMark11 combined test, GPUs at 1.299v 1200/1375, and 2600k @ 5.2Ghz 1.5v I pulled a bit over 500W at the wall with 90% efficient PSU. With one card at 1300/1450 and the same CPU clocks I hit 322W.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

Last edited by EarthDog; 04-24-12 at 07:56 AM.
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
manu2b (04-24-12)
Old 04-24-12, 07:54 AM   #10
manu2b

 
manu2b's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Africa

 
My coffee is loooong gone!

__________________
P8Z68-v pro/Gen3
3770k (de-lidded) @4800MHz - NH-D14
2x8GB GSkill Trident X 1866@2133/8-10-10-24/1.68v (Thanks Woomack!)
256GB 840 Evo + 60GB Corsair F60 + 1TB Caviar Black
Corsair CX600
Sapphire R9 290(x) unlocked@1175/1325

Mining: 8*280x and main rig.
manu2b is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 11:44 AM   #11
Cman12
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Nvidia does recommend a minimum of 400w and 24 amps on the 12v rail, while yours is only 350w with 19 amps on the 12v. It doesn't sound like its enough.

__________________
AMD FX-6100 @3.9ghz
Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 AM3+
Gigabyte GTX 570
8GB G. Skill Ripjaws X 1600mhz 8-8-8-24
Corsair Force 3 90GB SSD
WD Black 750GB HDD
CM Hyper 212+
Asus Xonar D1 7.1
CM Storm Sniper
Corsair TX650
Cman12 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-12, 11:47 AM   #12
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cman12 View Post
Nvidia does recommend a minimum of 400w and 24 amps on the 12v rail, while yours is only 350w with 19 amps on the 12v. It doesn't sound like its enough.
Its enough (assuming that PSU can put out its rated wattage).

Estimates like that always go high as not everyone has a quality PSU. We did the math for the major components so you can clearly see its enough.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
manu2b (04-24-12)
Old 04-29-12, 06:24 PM   #13
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
I'd never trust HuntKey units. They're in the same no name/garbage brands as Eagle, Aereon or PowMax.... Good way to kill your system.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?